Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My head a bowling ball????


Have been getting a lot of rest and am feeling better.

I can officially confirm some of the rumors that were floating around here on the blog a while ago.

Some time ago I wrote something about having taken a fall, banging both my head and shoulder. Of how I had seemed to bang my head harder but that it was fine but my shoulder was bothering me. Now in jest (I think, lol) it was suggested by family, friends and readers here that there was an explanation for that.  My head is a non-essential part of my body as there is nothing going on inside of it. It was compared to all sorts of things. I think I liked the bowling ball comparison the best. My head is hard on the outside and filled with nothing but hot air. It will hit the floor with a bang but isn’t damaged in any way. Hmmm.

It seems this theory may actually correct. About 8 or 9 days ago, Vi wanted to water the flowers in the front of the house. This involves dragging the garden hose from the back yard. I was doing this, walking backwards to keep an eye out to ensure the hose didn’t tangle in any of her other flower beds. Walking backwards, paying attention to where the hose may get to, I seem to forget that at the exterior side door of the house there is one concrete step. Yup, I tripped on it. Now I suppose fortunately for me, I must have used my head to break the fall on to the concrete sidewalk. From the bang I got one wicked headache, but that only lasted a minute or so and was gone. I picked myself up, dusted myself off and was fine. One of those situations when you are embarrassed, hoping none of the neighbors saw me.

It was not until the next morning in the shower, I noticed my right ankle was really swollen. The inside of my ankle and all the way down the inside of my foot was bruised black. I had been wearing sandals so I guess I banged it also on the way down. It didn’t hurt in the slightest, good deal. I am thinking it is the neuropathy, no feeling in my hands or feet. It took a couple of days though and it seemed to just get more and more painful. Still aches a little if I stretch the ankle in the wrong direction.

So it seemed I hit my head the hardest, no damage. Bang the ankle and big boo-boo. Maybe that bowling ball idea isn’t to far fetched after all. LOL

11 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My head a bowling ball????

  1. souldipper says:

    So glad to learn you are feeling a bit better, Bill. My friend used to say, when he was having a good day, `I`m giving God a rest today.`

    Blessings and Energy, Amy

    Thank you Amy.

  2. Mel says:

    Wow–that gives a whole new visual to ‘air head’. LOL Oh Bill–it’s good to laugh at some of this stuff in life, eh? Being able to laugh at myself is pretty essential. I can start to take me, myself and I pretty darn serious… But I must say:

    OUCH!
    Ya poor thing.

    I broke a toe a few weeks back, so I’m commiserating a bit. Oh –but you can look forward to the pretty colours that bruise will turn and the teeny bit of compassion that (if you’re good!) you can manipulate into ice cream and other fun things–like no dishes! LOLOLOL

    k…….only worked a few times for me but it’s worth trying! 😉

    Hi Mel, how is that toe of yours doing? Laughter is the best medicine thay say. I think the very best of it all is being able to laugh at yourslef or your situation at times. Just between you and me, I have managed to get a few extra foot rubs. lol

  3. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Laughter is the sensation of feeling good all over, and only showing it principally in one place. (J. Billings) I kind of wish I would have had your “trip” on video–it would have been interesting to see what actually happened there!!?? Perhaps you can tell everyone that the bruise is a tattoo…especially as it starts to turn from blue to green to yellow. Hope you heal quickly. Take it easy. Thinking about you often and praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

    hi Irene, thank you I am doing fine. I am sure a video of my “trip” would have been kind of funny, especially the part of me trying to get up quickly before anyone noticed. lol

  4. Cat says:

    Oh, yikes! I hope that ankle heals up quickly (and Mel’s toe, too)! Do be careful of those head injuries, though! Even if you think you didn’t do any damage hitting your head, it’s a good idea to get checked out by a doctor immediately just in case.

    I’m glad to hear you’ve been getting some rest and are feeling better!

    hi Cat thank you for the concern. I am doing just fine thank you. Heart failure clinic told me the same thing about getting the head checked because of all the blood thinners I am on. But, it is as I said you can’t do much to hurt and bowling ball. Hard on the outside and empty on the inside.

  5. Mel says:

    Awwwwwww……thanks Cat–toe’s healing nicely, even if it is slowly.

    And sir–I hope all is well and that humidity is less. HAS to be–I think it got sent here. ughhhhh…

    But the plants–are thrilled! 😉

    Hi Mel, glad to hear the toe is on the mend. You are right I got tired of the humidity and sent a lot of it straight to you. lol

  6. sherry howdle says:

    Hello lovely cousin Bill,

    We are back in Alberta! We arrived tired, but safe and sound. What a fabulous few days! I just wanted to thank you again for a wonderful visit. You and Vi are such wonderful hosts and we had a great time visiting,eating and seeing everyone. I bet you had a great sleep after we left! How was the Championship of the World? Did you retain the title, or go down to defeat? I’m sure you had another match before my Mom left for home today. I hope you at least were able to do your victory dance once!

    Well, thanks again for everything. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and I hope you continue to have a great visit with the South African family members and that the weather and humidy cooperate with you when you go out to the lake this weekend!

    Love to you and Vi,
    Sherry

    Thank you again for everything.

    Hi Sherry, was so glad when I heard you and Shirley arrived home safely. A 14 or 15 hour drive is is a major task to accomplish driving straight through as you did.
    Family visits are always wonderful and so welcome. We had a great time and thank both for all you did for us,the yard has never looked so good. What are you doing this weekend the grass needs cutting again? lol.
    It was so nice that we had the pleasure of keeping your mum here for the extra day. Now as for the crib championship of the world tournament. As you know we had several goes at it. I can say I won the “championship of the world title” twice in that time. I should have know better, lol. I pushed my luck and we had a final 3 game tournament her last morning here and well the wheels seemed to have fallen off my wagon. She beat me quite badly and again took the title home with her. It is all such great fun.
    We thank you so very much for making that long drive to get here. We thank you for the wonderful visit and all you did to help us while here.
    I am a lucky man to have the family I do.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      *laughing*

      Go figure the wheels fell off your wagon!
      She probably loosened the lug nuts. LOLOLOL

      (((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))))

      I’m so glad you got the visit(s).
      And I’m sooooooo glad some things remain constant.
      😉

  7. Freda says:

    Hoping your ankle and head are all healed up now. Every Blessing

  8. souldose says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha, I just love your spirit, wish I could bottle it uo and go around the world pouring out a little in every country, actually I wrote a poem inspired by you.

    Hope that ankle heals up, you’re the only person I know who gets hit in the head and be fine, I think this calls for Guinness Book Of Records:-)

  9. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Just thought I’d stop by and say Hello!! I hope all is well with you and that the heat isn’t taking too much of a toll. Summer is slipping away…I can feel the minutes passing by. I’ve got to figure out a way to start liking winter, snow, and cold more. We live so close to a wonderful provincial park that it seems almost sinful to not take full advantage of it. I’ve got to stop thinking that fall is the end of all the good stuff but rather that it’s the start of something new and challenging. It’s all in the attitude isn’t it??? Harvest is just around the bend and that usually sends the farm into panic mode. Battling the weather, fatigue, machinery breakdowns, help that seem to have an alternate agenda, and a host of other unforeseen circumstances causes tempers and tension to be at an all-time high. Every second seems to matter when harvest is in full swing. It’s got to work like a ballet and unfortunately, sometimes/many times it doesn’t. Lord, give me patience and courage but give my husband even more.
    Thinking about you often and praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

  10. starlaschat says:

    Aaww, sorry to hear you had a mishap. Glad to hear your head is as tough as nails sorry to hear your ankle got so banged up. Hope you heal quickly, no fun thats for sure. If your head is like a bowling bowl is it difficult to hold up at times. My head feels like that some days. Just wondering.

Leave a Reply

