Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Faith


A few days ago I had been looking through my saved draft messages and came across the one about faith being nothing but a crutch. I still have really no idea where I got the scientific type message from but it was to the effect:

Faith/Religion is a crutch leaned on by those that are too weak to face their lives on their own. Science is slowly explaining all and with time and further advancement will be able to explain away all. Belief in an afterlife gives those without the strength to accept the finality of their death merely an element of hope”

I published that post basically as I found the draft without any of the further comments that I obviously must have had in my mind back at the time. I have been thinking about that few lines quite since I put it up. I am not a man of the clergy or anything like that, I am just plain old me. I never feel I have to defend my beliefs but will be happy to share them.

To me, what is faith? (According to Bill) A belief in God the Supreme All Knowing and All Powerful, a Higher Power than ourselves. Once accepting of that basic belief, faith becomes personal and individual. Yes, many attend the same church or follow the teachings of a specific religion and may share many of the same beliefs maybe even virtually all of the same beliefs.no two people are going to read the same thing or hear the same thing and necessarily come away with exactly the same message. Each of us based on past experiences etc. put our own slant on things. Faith is one of those things and each must develop their own personal relationship with our Heavenly Father.

To me many confuse Religion with Faith. To me, Religion is the organized teaching of a specific style or type of faith. To me faith is the particular belief system taken on by each individual. These individual beliefs or faiths taken on are evident by the vast number of Christian Churches. How did we get so many different churches? An individual or group of individuals decided they didn’t agree with something about the church they were currently attending and broke away starting their own, simple as that. They formed their own church that suited or matched their individual believes and I say good for you. This breaks right back down to individuals, how to know which church to attend. The one that feels right to you, in helping you establish you own relationship with God. This also carries over to the Great Faiths of the world.Is one better or more right than the next? Personally, I do not belief so. I believe that any Faith, any Religion, any Church that helps us become better, stronger people, the type of people God would like us to be is good. Now I know many will disagree with that and that in itself illustrates my point of personal beliefs. Comments from followers of other faiths are always welcome.

At times I have been asked which church I attend. Well other than for weddings or funerals, I can’t actually remember the last time I was in church h. In that way I am not a religious man That though does not stop me from having my own very strong spiritual beliefs my individual relationship with God, a relationship with which I am comfortable. I know that church is out there, I just haven’t come across it yet. I half jokingly say I attend the Church of Bill, a church of one. Yup, the teaching of that church happen to match my own beliefs. lol.

Personally, I have a problem with the churches I have attended in the past. But, that is “MY” problem and not that of the church. To me some churches are so wrapped up in man made pomp and pageantry that I get lost in it all and struggle at times to hear the message of God. The overall message others seem to have as I take it in, is more a message of fearing the devil than worshipping God. What is right for each individual is right for them and good for you is what I say to that. I ask what do you think of a last minute confession being a ticket to Heaven?

Huh, in typical Bill style I have ramble on so much I have tired myself out. i had a lot to say on how faith has impacted on my life. I will get to that another day or this post will likely end up being another saved draft I will come across sometime in the future.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Faith

  1. souldipper says:

    I really appreciate what you wrote and believe, Bill.

    When I was a little girl in rural Alberta, a Sunday School teacher told us that anyone who does not go to church will not go to heaven. I could not get out of there fast enough! I tearfully ran to tell my my dad he had to start coming to church… Thank goodness it was a time when he was actually at home – Dad was a farmer-cum-construction foreman who built roads into Alberta’s oil patch.

    He saw my distress and wrapped me in his strong, hairy arms. He calmly listened and then listed the ways that God is with him all the time…in the plenitude of the bush, with the miracles of the seasons, around the beauty in every animal and all the love we share with people.

    I was petrified to ask, but I said, “Does this mean you will be in heaven when I get there?”

    “Without a doubt. And that’s a promise.”

    So…how could I not believe we can each see God differently and ‘whatever is next’ is still available to all of us?! Throughout all my subsequent and on-going research, religious studies, and life experiences, I still hear my dad’s comforting words, “Without a doubt.”

    He built great roads through seemingly impossible terrain. None were so glorious as the one he built for this daughter…

    I thank you for sharing this beautiful and so very touching story with you and you dad. Without a doubt a very strong and very wise man indeed.

  2. Cat says:

    Bill, I am a lot like you in this respect. I’m not religious, but I do have faith and consider myself a spiritual person. I have my own relationship with God but I don’t have much use for organized religion. I was raised in the Lutheran church but stopped attending at around the age of 18 when I started to question and disagree with a lot of what the pastors were saying in their sermons.

    To answer your question about a deathbed confession, I guess I believe that if it’s sincere and a result of a true realization that one needs to confess and atone for one’s wrongs, then it would be sufficient. On the other hand, if it were a case of someone who decided he could live his life however he wanted and he’d just confess at the last minute and that would be good enough, then I think that person may end up unpleasantly surprised.

    I believe that good people who lead good lives, do their best to help their fellow citizens of the world and to leave the world a better place than they found it, or at least to do no harm, will go to heaven regardless of what their religious beliefs are or even if they don’t believe at all. I know many or most religious people would disagree with me on that, but it’s what I believe.

    hi Cat, I thank you for sharing your beliefs We are so very much alike in our thinking, though I do believe God loves all of us equally as His children and as hard as it seems in some cases to accept all will eventually end up in heaven. I have a hard time rationalizing that thought in my head sometimes but if God loves all of His children (us) equally how could it be any different.

  3. Freda says:

    Faith, spirituality, God……. all aspects of how we relate to God. Religion, institutions, organisations…….are about how we relate to one another. Hold onto your sense of the infinite, Bill, it shines out of your writing and you share it with us all. Every blessing

    hi Freda, very well put, explains much. I thank you for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

