Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayers please


I send my deepest and most sincere aplogize to a new blogging friend Nic. I have realized with this wonkie head of mine I am occasionally missing comments.. I don’t know how that is even possible as I read and often reread comments numerous times. I am really going to try harder to pay attention to what it is I am doing and not just come in here and sort of float around. Nic left us this comment way back on June 10th and I am just reading it today, geesh, I am sorry Nic an email is on the way.

I ask all please for both prayers and support for out new friend. Her comment:

Bill, it’s very funny, I totally relate to you and all these comments. While I don’t generally feel sorry for myself sometimes I do have my moments of a private pity party where I allow myself to grieve what I have lost. I guess this is supposed to be healthy, but what generally pulls me out of it is friends and family who are in similar situations or worse. I have a few cousins with MS and somehow in the midst of their struggles I can speak openly with them about my illnesses make me feel some days and it brings me great comfort. Over the past few years I’ve had a lot of young friends die and that has hit me hard and sometimes no matter how settled, which I am most days I have my periods of struggle with my situation I guess that’s just human right? Just last summer I was able to plan out some final wishes and start drafting my will, something I never thought I’d have to do yet. But I have a few friends who are very ill and we comfort each other about being frank about our troubles and our thoughts about quality of life and facing terminal illness. I like to think that in some ways these illnesses are sometimes a blessing in disguise. Making us more compassionate and empathetic people — bringing comfort to others in their own situations because we can speak openly about our feelings about death, afterlife, and how to live with what we have. Until I was no longer able to take a shower on my own without oxygen or not being able to stand up, I took a lot of things for granted, though that was temporarily, it taught me alot about life and what’s important in it. There’s a lot of days that are a struggle, but I’m never sorry to wake up and face another day, even if its tiring to do so.
I do not do well in humidity either or any extremes of temperature so my thoughts are with you. I know how exhausting it is to function in that and I hope it lets up soon. Thank you for being so open.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayers please

  1. Nic says:

    Bill, no apology needed. Sincerely. I left this comment just a few days ago on July 10. Thank you for your prayers. I also ask that you pray for one of my friends. I can’t state the person’s name or details publicly but your blog has been a comfort to me as I try and support my friend with some tough choices and decisions. I will continue to pray for you. Please know I understand – I don’t want you to ever feel guilty for not responding. Health and welfare always come first, I’m just glad you feel open and caring enough to share your experiences – joyous or painful. It gives us all such great comfort and insight into our own thoughts and experiences.

    Hi Nic so glad to see you back. Prayers said and will continue

  2. jel says:

    hey Nic, u and your friend will bee in my prayers!
    sending a flybyhugging to u and friend! 🙂

    Thank you jel

  3. Mel says:

    *sending hugs and prayers*

    Bill’s kinda like that Nic–he’s just a nice guy. But I’m with ya….it’s the ol’ ‘rest when weary’ deal that I keep naggin’ him about. LOL

    <– can be known to be a bit naggy. 😉

    And I do agree with you, Nic. Sadly, at least what you shared, seemed to ring true for me. "Don't it always seem to go that you don't know whatcha got til it's gone." (I'll be singing that all morning now! LOL) And darn that it's still true for me. I get cocky, complacent…and I start to take things for granted. Little HUGE things…. Maybe it's my age (insert groan!) but I seem to be surrounded by people with like struggles–G-d made good use of my experience. We walk through a whole lotta stuff together, and it's amazing what a kindred spirit doesn't have to say, yaknow? Truly, we do manage to walk through some horrendous things together….and still find the ability to laugh and not take what seems like 'trials' so seriously.
    Like you, I have an overwhelming sense of gratitude for entering the day 'upright, breathing and on the right side of the grass'. And anything that happens during the course of my day might get a whine or two (mostly cuz I like whining! LOL) but really…life IS good.

    Here's hoping the humidity we've got going on here is a sign that it's left the two of you alone for an easier go of it.

    You (and your friend) will be prayed for.
    Stick around. A few more friends is always a good thing. 🙂

    hi Mel, thank you for this wonderful comment

  4. Nic says:

    Thank you all for your prayers — it means a lot. Even if I lurk I will be sticking around 🙂 Mel – too funny — nagging and whining has its place sometimes you know.

    happy to have you around and hope to hear from you as you feel like it

  5. Tasneem R says:

    Will pray for you both . Gold bless .
    The Sensitivity Test – http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/sensitivity_test/sensitivity_test_instructions.asp

    thank you

Leave a Reply

