Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Medical Update


Saw my doctor yesterday afternoon. He added a new diabetic medication to my “cocktail” of pills I take every day. He didn’t like the way my chest sounded with my breathing still sort of raspy. I assured him it is just a chest cold that is on the mend and is much better than it was even a few days ago. Dr. C. is a good guy and knows how I hate xrays and such. He made me agree to call him on Monday if it isn’t cleared up. I will do that but am sure by then all will be well. I haven’t been feeling totally spry this past while and am hoping the addition of the new diabetic medication will have me back to dancing on top of the world. Hey, attitude is everything. Change the word in the last sentence from hope to know. I know it will have be back to being up and running. OK, I also know the word “running” is a bit of a stretch.

Keeping this post short, just a bit of an update. I am going to devote some time to responding to the treasured comments I have received. I so appreciate the comments left for me and I do like to respond to each one individually. I am not quite the energizer bunny that I once was and the batteries so seem to run down quicker. If you left me a comment in the past while and I didn’t respond sorry, but check later today and I am sure I will have by then.

Back to add a PS. to my comment. I may not get to as many comments as I had hope today.  Have 3 big apple trees in the back yard, just learned today is apple peeling and slicing day. Not so fussy about this part but love the end result.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Medical Update

  1. Hi Bill,

    I just found your site today by accident, but then, there are no accidents. I got a call last night that my younger brother, Don–who is 52 and has diabetes with many complications because he didn’t take care of himself–is only being given six months or less. I have a diabetes blog at http://doablediabetes.wordpress.com and was just sitting down to write a post urging people to take care of themselves to prevent or delay diabetes-related complications when I found your blog.

    Thank you so much for sharing. You’re doing a very wonderful and brave thing by sharing what you are going through and your words have helped me tremendously, as I’m sure they have helped many others. I only briefly explored your site, but I’ll be back to read more.

    Hope it’s okay that I mentioned my blog url. I’m not trying to spam you, just wanted to let you know that I’ll be linking to your blog later today when I write my post.

  2. Mel says:

    Rest when you’re weary.
    Rest when you’re weary.
    Rest when you’re weary.

    (thinkin’ that’s a reminder for both you and ME!)

    Rest when you’re weary.

    And go easier on yourself, eh?
    I’m thinkin’ you’re dancing as fast as you can, yaknow?

    <– sending warm thoughts and prayers

  3. Lorri says:

    Be careful dancing…the world is flat you know, and we don’t want you falling off! 🙂

    Take care Bill…sending hugs to you.

  4. Jennie says:

    Sorry to hear you aren’t feel so good Bill. Hope the new drug helps and your lungs clear up.

    I know you would like to reply to more comments, but sometimes I fear you have an over abundance of diligence, (like continuing to process mortgage applications while having a heart attack). I would rather know that you are using your limited energy for the things that bring you the most joy than have a single reply.

    Remember that life is to be enjoyed and live each day to the fullest. Today I am going to rent a convertible car and take a scenic drive this last Saturday before equinox. It just sounded like a fun thing to do.

  5. Richmond says:

    I have the feeling that I already have a Diabetes. I am just scared to get the proper medical diagnosis. HAY!

  6. Christine says:

    Hi,
    I saw the comment that you left. Actually the day that my cousin wrote the comment and I responded, your post wasn’t one of the related ones–the ones that were, though..not so great. I’ve read a bit of your blog, and in no way do I think it’s morbid. I think it’s a wonderful thing you do…from what I’ve read (which isn’t much–yet!), you seem to keep a positive outlook.
    Take care,
    Christine (:

  7. Michelle says:

    Bill,
    Sr. Julie from A Nun’s blog told me about your blog & I’m very moved by it – your courage & honesty are inspiring. I’m starting a blog tour where one of my authors, Joan Wester Anderson – the “angel expert”, tours different blogs. Sr Julie thought you might be interested since you have an understanding of the spiritual. If you’d like to email more about it, feel free to contact me.
    All the best to you & thank you for your witness,
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

