Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Adaptation


I am noticing how gradually my definition of a good day is changing. As far a health and feeling good, I don’t think I really know what a good day is. I realize that over time my reality has changed. I now consider a good day to be one in which I didn’t throw up, have to much chest pain or one of my wicked head aches. Being so thick headed I can’t concentrate or feeling very nauseated but I am able to hold back the throwing up now falls into the good day catagory. Isn’t it amazing how we adapt to situations. I spend the whole day feeling not well at all on the verge of throwing up, but when I am able control or hold back back the physical act of throwing up, it has somehow made it a good day. Two years ago what I though of as a bad day as now turned into a good day. WOW.

This change in thinking has been a gradual process coming on so slowly I didn’t even realize it was happening. When I think about it. How can I have a day feeling on the verge of throwing up all day, but because I am able to hold it back, it is a good day. Our bodies and minds are amazing in their ablility to adapt.

I have just been sitting here thinking about that and realize that ability to adapt can be a wonderful thing or a terrible thing. I suppose with my health, the adapting likely came easy as, the changes have been slow in developing. Gradually over the past couple of years, so slowly that I really didn’t notice much difference from one week to the next. I didn’t even realize my mind was adjusting or adapting to my changing health status. So yesterday was a good day, felt ill most of the day but didn’t throw up, felt light headed but didn’t fall, had a head ache but not a pounder, had chest pain but not to bad or to much. It was a good day.

This ability to adapt or keep an even or positive mind set is, I believe one of God’s greatest gifts to us. We can adapt our lives to any new situation and move on. This ability if a very powerful, very positive tool available to us,if we use it properly.

With my perfect 20/20 hind site, I look back over my life and realize how many times I have benefited from this ability to adapt. As a banker with my frequent transfers, I adapted to many different towns, peoples and even cultures. With my changing health, I have been force to adapt to a whole new thought process, a whole new style of life. I am still struggling with the acceptance of my physical limitations, but am getting there. There are dozens and dozens of situations, but I think I was able to ulitilize God’s gift in the positive manner he hoped for.

But, I can also look back and see times when I utilized that pesky free will and adapted but not necessarily in the most positive manner. Life events and circumstances were unfolding around me which I allowed to make me bitter, angry and jealous. I adapted all right, I adapted into a person I don’t even like to think about, suspicious, angry, bitter, jealous. Thankfully, I was able to adapt again, move on and it was then that I met Vi (a true blessing in my life).

The ability to adapt wonderful or terrible. I suppose it is up to us. If we use it to accept change and maintain balance in our lives it is wonderful. If we use it to adapt to ever worsening conditions by allowing it to drag us down, physically, emotionally, mentally and sprititually it can be a terrible thing.

It all sounds so simple and straight forward on paper but trying to putting it into proper prospective when dealing with our lives so so much more difficult.

I suppose it is like that for many, our lives are changed sometimes so slowly or subtly we don’t even realize the change is occurring. It is always up to us to make the choice.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Adaptation

  1. hayseed says:

    Hi Bill, I have been reading your blog, but have not made any comments lately. I enjoyed reading this today about “adapting”. You have some very good insight here. Thank you for your emails and encouraging words that you have sent my way. I laughed out loud when you told me I would forget about wearing a tie after a week. That cracked me up big time. 🙂 Holler at ya later. Your friend, Mike Kines (aka “hayseed”)

  2. jen415 says:

    Hi Bill: Just wanted to say thanks for the encouraging words you posted on my weight loss blog. It is remarkable that, in spite of what you are going through, you take the time to respond to me, someone you don’t even know.

    Thank you!

  3. Sarah Jordan says:

    Hi Bill,
    I don’t offer advice unless it’s sure fire, you can take it to the bank advice…about the throwing up: tell your doctor you want ZOFRAN (generic name is ondansetron)…the injections are the best and will stop the worst nausea in its tracks in 5 seconds…not kidding, 5 seconds. Second best are the melt in you mouth kind…if you let one melt (doesn’t taste bad)in your mouth, 30 minutes later you can eat whatever you want with no nausea and no vomiting. You might have to fight the formulary, ’cause a 30 day supply costs $960.00 to someone without insurance, but it’s known in the medical community as the “cadillac of the anti-emetics.” Now I know meds work differently on different people, but it worked on all my chemo buddies…it’s worth a try.
    Good luck,
    Sarah

    Hi Sarah, I thank you very much for the suggestion. I will certainly keep it in mind for the future. I think though that with that price tag it will be out of my reach.
    I am very fortunate, blessed may be a better word. I spent I am not even sure how long, about a year maybe even longer. I was throwing up a lot on a daily basis, NOT FUN. Suddenly it just stopped, all the nausea was just gone. I can’t explain it, my doctor can’t explain it????

Leave a comment