Random thoughts on life – feed back please


Was poking around in the blog here and found I had 141 different saved draft posts. Often I will get an idea for a post. Times I know I don’t have the time or energy to write a full post but I have what to me seems like a great idea at the time. Being memory guy I know if I don’t write it down I will forget. So I come in and start a post writing just a few lines. Hopefully enough that when I come back there will be enough that it will jog the memory enough to bring back what ever “brainwave” I had when I typed those few lines.
I only made it through the first 20 or so drafts. Now I know I could go into one of my almost endless rambles but decided to try something different. I am posting a number of those ideas I had for various posts. I am asking for your feed back you input on these various thoughts. Then I will try get up my own. Feedback please.

Quite a while back I was asked a question, what have I learned from this whole blogging experience?
Where to even begin. I have learned so much, gained so much from this whole experience, I have no words to describe it.
I have made friends, granted I have never met them and most likely never will. But, through our communication I have come to consider many friends part of my cyber family.
I have received in the area of 9,300 comments from people literally all over the world, 167 different countries at last count. Now I don’t know this to be a fact but based on numbers I am assuming I have reached at least most of the faiths and cultures in the world.
I have always known this but it has really been re-enforced in my mind that people are people. Irregardless of anything we are all the same, kind, loving and caring. Just doing their best to get through their days.
Now obviously there are exceptions but those exceptions come from every walk of life, from every faith and from every culture.

People make themselves so busy in life they have no time to enjoy life.

Hate your life, your job……. What are you doing about it? Are you taking even baby steps to improve it or are you just wasting your time complaining about it?

We fear and don’t trust things and especially people we don’t know and precieve as being different from ourselves.

Many people maybe even most people have a very negative view of the world. Is news media to blame. Virtually all of the news we hear, watch or read is negative. Understandable that is how we view the world, that is all the information we are provided with upon which to base our opinion. What we forget is that for everyone negative thing that happens there are hundreds of thousands maybe even millions of good things, it is just we never hear about them.

One of our greatest strengths is our ability to adapt one of our greatest weaknesses is our ability to adapt. Too quickly at times we are able to adapt to circumstances in our lives that are unacceptable. We have adapted to accept this as the norm. We are in a unacceptable rut but lack the courage, determination or are possibly fearful of making changes. We settle in and stay in that rut.

If there was one person you would spend every moment of your life with wouldn’t it be nice if you at least liked that person. There is that one person with whom you will spend every single moment with. That person is you, yourself. Do you like yourself, do you enjoy your own company. If yes, good for you, if not what are you doing about it?

Every morning at some point be it washing, shaving or brushing your teeth you will find yourself looking at yourself in the mirror. As you look in that mirror are you proud, happy or content with the person you see looking back at you. If not what are you doing about it?

You can go to bed content with yourself if you know somewhere through that day you did something to improve or brighten the day of another.

We have become a society that expects instant gratification. Sort of like take one pill to instantly cure all the problems in our lives. If we don’t see a quick easy fix we give up without trying. I don’t have the time, don’t have the energy….. So nothing changes we stay in that unsatisfactory rut.

We put so much time into worrying about or complaining about what we don’t have in our lives. If we put that same amount of energy into appreciating all that we do have, we would realize our lives are pretty good.

Negativity is a total waste of time. It accomplishes nothing but sucks the energy right out of us. Cut negative people out of your life, they will suck the energy/life force right out of you. Sadly, it is much more likely a negative person will drag a positive person down than visa versa.

Life is to be lived not endured. Life is beautiful but it is one of those things that the more you put into it, the more you get back. It is worth the effort

The happiest people are those that have come to a level of acceptance of their current situation, and have an appreciation of all that they do have. That is not to say they are content with that situation and may well be working to change it. They do have an appreciation of what they do have at the present.

2 Responses to Random thoughts on life – feed back please

  1. NicoleMarie says:

    Whoah! 🙂 We’ve got lot’s of different thoughts here, and I certainly can’t comment on all of them. So here’s what came to mind for me as I read your post.

    Isn’t it interesting that when we communicate over a source like the internet, our usual prejudices tend to fade away.
    On the contrary. . .there’s YouTube.

    Negative people aren’t just hurting themselves, it hurts everyone around them (I’m too empathetic to handle it, but I try to help if I can). I used to be morbidly depressed all the time, and now that I’ve changed my life seeing sad & negative people almost brings tears to my eyes…depending upon how bad it is.

    And I absolutely agree that we can often adapt to easily to situations that we should view as unacceptable. What are your thoughts on why this is? I believe it has to do with a fear of risk and change, or possibly a state learned helplessness.

    Anyways enjoyed your very random post, sir 🙂
    Have a wonderful evening!

    Hello Nicole and welcome. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment.
    You are so right about negative people. Their attitude has to bring the quality of their own life down, but it does the same to all those around them. I have realized at this point in my life I just don’t have the time or the energy to spend with negativity.
    I am so happy to hear you have been able to get past the depression. I have gone through short term bouts of depression and know how much fun it is NOT.
    I agree with you I think most of us are fearful or at least nervous about bring about change in our lives. Our minds become clouded with all the what if’s and fear keeps us locked in place. Somehow we have found ourselves in a situation that we would have never imagined we could ever be in. Most likely the situation evolved so slowly we didn’t even fully realize what was happening. That is until something happens that opens our eyes to the point we at least begin to comprehend the reality of our lives. We have been adapting getting used to the way our lives have changed.
    We find ourselves trapped in a rut. It may be a very uncomfortable even unpleasant rut but it is “our” rut. We are living the life we have become used to. Getting out of that rut requires work and a lot of determined effort. Bigger than even that I believe is the underlying fear of the unknown. What will happen to me if I jump out of the rut. What awaits me out there in that big scary world. What if’s”…….. Take over and we become paralyzed in the “comfort” of what we know, our own little rut.
    Learned helplessness is a term I haven’ thought of for years. When I first heard it I had difficulty even understand it. I have come to understand it. It is a deviatingly powerful obstacle to overcome. I think I could do a post on it.
    Thanks again, hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    I haven’t heard from you in a little bit. Hope the end of the summer is progressing as it should for you and your family. I always get a bit anxious at this time of year as I can feel the “long season” approaching at a gallop. And of course, in retrospect, did I use summertime to the fullest (and that doesn’t always mean being busy or working!!!)? Sometimes I just need to stop and appreciate the birds, the flowers, the lawn that always seems to need mowing, and even those blasted weeds!! At our age we begin to enjoy the jobs that years ago would seem monumental and daunting not because they are less intimidating but rather simply because we still CAN. Even cleaning the kitty litter seems less distasteful because I know the day will come when I won’t be able to do ithat job anymore. So I’m going to enjoy everything I can get done today and I’ll thank the Good Lord for giving me another opportunity to use the gifts and grace he has given me.
    Thinking of you often and praying for you always, Wiseman.
    Irene

Leave a Reply

