I am A son of God


I am on the mend. Massive bruising but no discomfort from that area at all. Heart/chest no issues at all until yesterday. Heart went back into AFib 3 or 4 times. Heavy pounding in my chest, very irregular beat and racing at 160-170 beats per minute. Very uncomfortable, but doctors had warned me that for the first week or so that this may happen. It just wasn’t expecting the severity or the degree of pain involved. Vi was pushing to head to the hospital. I wasn’t so willing as I had been told this may happen. It was the intensity or severity that caught me by surprise. It was all the symptoms I had prior to the surgery just amped up several degrees. Have a call into the Ablation Clinic to discuss it with them.
I was recently asked a very good question by dear blogging friend rangewritter. How do I pull myself up when moral and spirits are sagging?
Over the years with health issue and ever decreasing physical limitations I have been presented with a number of “challenges” that I have to get my head wrapped around and come to acceptance. To me acceptance is important because with it I can adjust my thinking try to face my new reality on get on with living life. Acceptance does not in anyway mean giving up, it means recognizing my current situation for what it is and accordingly live life the best I can.
I have 2 “techniques” that I use together with prayer and meditation. Have I perfected them? Not even close, but they do help. Practice makes it easier. You may laugh but here it is.
In my writing, in my life I usually refer to God as our Heavenly Father. The Heavenly Father that loves us all as his children. Following that thinking, I there fore consider myself to be a Son of our Heavenly Father, a son of God. Thinking of it that way does it make me feel special? Of course it does. God loves his children and I am but one of them. Every single person on this planet God loves in the same way and I believe sees/loves each of us as a son or daughter.
I go through this in my mind and then ask myself a simple question. You consider yourself to be one of God’s children, a son of God. Are you acting like it? Thinking about that seems to push my head in the right direction.
Now on the chance I didn’t make this clear as did apparently happen the last time I wrote if this. No, I am not claiming to be a Jesus like figure or anything like that. Jesus was THE Son of God. I am merely claiming to be one of those that our Heavenly Father loves as his children.
Have one more “technique” involving my mother I will share later

6 Responses to I am A son of God

  1. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – so pleased you’re out and apparently healing up .. that’s good to hear. It sounds very painful .. but worth that discomfort.

    I can imagine you’ve had to adjust your thinking quite a lot .. and it’s good to read your ideas and thoughts here .. take care – cheers Hilary

  2. Mel says:

    Well, you know me–I’m for whatever works for YOU.

    I’ve always found ‘on my knees’ time to be helpful. Unfortunately, I’m such a cocky person, headstrong and willful–my ‘on the knees’ time seems to be in the public bathroom after rushing about thinking I’m in charge of the world. Surrender, ask for guidance and approach the world as a humble servant instead of the master of the kingdom. :-/

    That being confessed–thank you to Lydia who delivered our love and positive thoughts. And thank you G-d. I’m so relieved. I’m so glad things provide you with an opportunity for different. Doing nothing ensured more of the same. I’m looking forward to increased energy and decreased pressure, emotional and physical.

    I can’t fault for Vi pushing for a trip to the hospital. How many times has she had to sit by and trust your assessment until she got scared/determined enough to say “nope….get in the car”. *ahem* And how many times has she been right….or wrong but okay with that! She loves ya–no doubt about that.
    We need to empower her to listen to her gut. Even if she’s off base, you certainly can’t question her motives now can you. LOL

    I’m glad and relieved and grateful and filled with JOY!
    So much that I’m gonna have chocolate gelato to celebrate!!
    (LOL….ANY excuse, I tell ya!!)

    Hugs to you and Vi!
    And another one for Lydia who ‘gets’ how much this community cares about you! *hugs*

  3. Betty says:

    Hi Bill….Was just thinking about you and hoping the Afib has at least somewhat settled down and that the Ablation Clinic provided you with the best advice. I definitely understand why Vi wanted to pack you off to the hospital to get checked. She loves you, and even though you were told that the Afib was possible in the early weeks…a trip to the hospital would have eased her/your minds. This may sound like a mini lecture….and I guess it is (LOL). I care deeply for the both of you. Wishing you better days ahead.

  4. rangewriter says:

    Thanks for addressing my question, Bill. You are a master at acceptance and adaptation. Without the wisdom to adapt to your circumstances, I don’t think you could have survived all that you have been through.

    I do hope the A-fib business has settled down for you! Keep up the good thoughts!

  5. Mel says:

    Yup….thinking of you and checking up on ya!! 🙂

  6. […] I am A son of God (hudds53.wordpress.com) Over the years with health issue and ever decreasing physical limitations I have been presented with a number of “challenges” that I have to get my head wrapped around and come to acceptance. To me acceptance is important because with it I can adjust my thinking try to face my new reality on get on with living life. Acceptance does not in anyway mean giving up, it means recognizing my current situation for what it is and accordingly live life the best I can. + You consider yourself to be one of God’s children, a son of God. Are you acting like it? Thinking about that seems to push my head in the right direction. Now on the chance I didn’t make this clear as did apparently happen the last time I wrote if this. No, I am not claiming to be a Jesus like figure or anything like that. Jesus was THE Son of God. I am merely claiming to be one of those that our Heavenly Father loves as his children. […]

Leave a Reply

