Colonoscopy results


Went to the hospital yesterday and got scoped from both ends. Not the most pleasant experience but overall not that bad.
Because of my elevated heart rate they were shall we say stingy with the drugs. I was wide awake, totally alert and could feel everything. They did give me something that I am guessing maybe numbed what I felt. I could feel that colonoscopy scope moving around inside there.
To explain my low hemoglobin levels they were looking for big internal bleeding. Well there was none and everything inside looked good. Different tests will have to be scheduled for the hemoglobin thing. Low hemoglobin can cause elevated heart rate.
I have every confidence the doc’s will figure it out
It was brought to my attention my last post had a whiny, poor me tone to it. That was not my intent but even if it had been this is my journal and I can write what I want.
Now just laying it all out like that seems to have had some sort of therapeutic affect as I do feel better. Some how just venting letting it all out has had a calming effect.
My point had been to stress the need to avoid as much negativity as possible. Control your thought process to avoid taking on negativity.
But, who knows, I know I get on a ramble and who knows where it will take me

2 Responses to Colonoscopy results

  1. M T McGuire says:

    Delighted to hear the results were good. I didn’t think your last post was whiny at all. I thought it was pretty straightforward and honest about the way you had been feeling and your hopes for dealing with it. If you can’t be honest about what you feel on here I’m not sure where you can be.

    Part of the point of this is honesty, right? So people going through the same thing realise their feelings are natural. It’s not whether you feel fear, anxiety, knackered with it all or just tired. It’s how you deal with it that counts. You just keep on doing what you do.

    Cheers

    Mary

    Thank you Mary for these encouraging words. I started this whole thing with the goal in mind that by sharing what I am going through May help others.
    I try to be as straight forward and honest as I can as I write. One big thing I have learned through all of this is that most of the time I am calm and accepting. But, I realize that can change from day to day or even hour to hour. It is a difficult thing to deal with. I realize that what I see as being straight forward and honest can actually actually change with my mood or the emotions of the time. Don’t know if that makes any sense.
    How is your Dad.

  2. Mel says:

    Oh goodness…. Bill, first off I’ve had, what I ‘ve coined the ‘up periscope, down periscope’ done before. It was, however, done with some painkillers– thank goodness! I’m glad the testing went okay. And I ‘m glad to hear that the source of hemoglobin loss isn’t due to that….it rules out some things and brings you closer to an answer. The process isn’t the funnest thing, but I’m pretty sure you’ve been through worse!
    Second….A. If you were whining, let me give you lessons in how to REALLY whine. And B. I’d hope you’d feel safe enough with all of those who come here TO whine or dump or carry on or rant or rave, complain, kvetch and YELL if you needed to. We care about your life and we WANT you to feel like you can say what you need to so you can keep “letting go of what you can’t change and keep finding the courage to change the things you can”.

    JUST sayin. :-/

    (((((((((( Bill ))))))))))

Leave a Reply

