Good Bye to 2014 – appreciate the “small” stuff


We thank all for the loving Christmas wishes.
Christmas Day here was very quiet. We were invited to go and spend the day with Vi’s sister Deb and family. Come the day and I was just not feeling well and pushed Vi out the door to go and have an enjoyable day. The day passed very quickly for me as I slept through most of it. Did say my little prayer wishing Jesus a happy birthday.
Must have been really tired had 3 days in a row where I slept 16-18 hours a day.
Happy to say Vi is recovering very nicely. External cuts from the surgery have healed nicely. Jan. 7th, the staples will be removed. She is one strong lady, she went through so much and handled it like a trooper.
For me heart is still going in and out of A Fib. Episodes only usually last 10 or 15 minutes but are becoming more uncomfortable at times. It is hard to describe because it can vary so much. One day it will be very noticeable 5 or 6 times throughout the day. The next day only once or twice. Been a couple of times when the old heart has been pounding so hard Vi could actually see my chest and upper abdomen area going up and down with each beat. Other times though I will check heart rate and find it is in the 160-170’s and I don’t feel a thing.
A new issue has risen that has the potential to be scary but trying not to dwell on it. In a 3 month period my hemoglobin levels dropped from the high side of the normal range to 1/2 of that normal range. I am told this would normally indicate substantial blood loss. Tests show no blood loss from usual areas. Was hospitalized to receive a blood transfusion. I have to say receiving 3 units of blood was almost magical in the way it mad me feel so much better. Have to wait and see, now as more tests are planned for the New Year.
In ways 2014 was a tough year. Both my brother Robin and dear Aunt Isabel passed. Both Vi and I experienced major medical issues. I am trying to look back at the year and see beyond just the bumps in the road as big as some of them were. Look at the big picture. We do have so much to be grateful for. A big one is I am still here.
Going to make a couple of phone calls today to acknowledge and praise two of the unsung and under appreciated heroes in my life. At a quick glance their contribution to my life may even seem small or even as just what is expected of them and we take it/them for granted. One thing I have learned is to take nothing and no one for granted.
I am thinking about our Canadian winters. The past few days factoring in the wind the temperature has been in the -40 range. I feel for anyone working outside in those conditions.
One of my favorite times of the day is early morning. Sipping my morning coffee while reading the newspaper. Right there one of those “small/little” things I take for granted. Around 6:00am irregardless of weather conditions magically appears at the door, which allows me to enjoy my favorite part of my day.
I am an early riser and a couple of times have gotten but a glimpse of this “mystery” person out there battling the temperatures and the snow in the dark of night. The “mystery” person is a very slight, middle age+ lady out there all by herself. Now I am certainly not trying to say a Lady can’t do this kind of work. I suppose it just surprised me.
OK, just phoned newspaper to commend our delivery person on the reliability of service. Learned her name is Helena. My message to her supervisor will be relayed on to here.
Thank you Helena for contributing to the enjoyment of my day, everyday irregardless of weather or anything else.

5 Responses to Good Bye to 2014 – appreciate the “small” stuff

  1. Twin City Joan says:

    Just read your post about the newspaper delivery. I am like you in that I am an early riser and start my day (after feeding my four legged roommates) with coffee and my newspaper. I have nothing but praise for them as they deliver every day, rain or shine. Or in the winter, through snow and below zero temps. I always send a card with my thanks along with a little of the green stuff. I am lucky that they let me know who they are with a small note in December.
    Hope you are feeling better and things go well for you and yours in the coming year.
    Hello to a fellow early morning riser. Thank you for your comment. Really there are a lot of “unnoticed” folks in our lives that we just never give thought to. They all deserve recognition
    Bill

  2. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – I’m pleased Vi was able to get out and share Christmas Day with her sister and niece .. and you probably felt much better for sleeping all those hours ..

    Helena sounds a great lady – paper rounds are tough at the best of times but in a Canadian Winter .. not so good … but wonderful people do it – to give you your daily boost of the day …

    Here’s to 2015 … and with many thoughts … cheers Hilary

  3. Mel says:

    (((((( Bill )))))))) It was one heck of a busy year for you and Vi–here’s to a bit slower of one in this new year, eh?

    I’m glad to hear the transfusion helped with your energy level–small wonder, if there’s been such a drop. I’ll hope they’ve discovered the cause and are treating it. AND the other issue….. You’re blessed with some very talented physicians, I have hope!

    And wow–bless Helena for her dedication and work ethic. It took one phone call–but that one phone call makes a difference, yaknow? I don’t take the newspaper–but I’m going to take from your example and make a call to the post office Monday. Yes, I know–rain, sleet, hail…it’s their JOB to do deliver. But I have to say, they don’t have to deliver it joyfully, and the little fella that delivers to us makes me smile every time. He’s just a happy soul and it’s contagious. I think some besides me needs to know how appreciated that is.
    So, thank you for the nudge…..sometimes I slack on those Random Acts of Kindness, yaknow?
    Speaking of that–I need to mark my calendar so I make that a ‘more regular’ activity.
    Happy New Year, sir. And regards to she-who-tries-to-keep-you-in-line. πŸ˜‰

    Hey Mel. Good to hear from you as always. What is that saying about great minds. I also phoned the Postal Service to commend our carrier. Her name is Cathy and does also deserved. I hope more will take the time to make such a simple phone call, it could mean so much

  4. Martha says:

    Hi Bill, It’s been a while since I left a note but I still ‘check in ‘ on you regularly. happy New Year to you and Vi.
    Martha

    Hi Martha, so nice to hear from you, it has been a while. Hope to hear from you more often.
    All the best to you and yours.
    Bill

  5. shauna says:

    So awesome dad that you make those calls πŸ™‚ i like to leave Chocolates or something for our garbage men πŸ™‚ not just any one comes to my house and takes away stinky poopy diapers πŸ™‚ God Bless garbage picker uppers.

    Hey Shauna, so nice to hear from you hear and anywhere else. Good for you with the chocolates. There are many that contribute to our lives in a meaningful way. What they do is sort of behind the scene, not in our face and we just take it for granted. We never give it a thought that there are People doing these things for us and often under adverse conditions. They deserve a token of appreciation. I am proud of you as always. Love you all.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

