Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Negativity of the soul


Another draft post published as it was left unfinished. From Jan/11

On and off for the past 4 or 5 months I have had a recurring thought. Negativity is like cancer on the soul.

Cancer is a terrible disease that if unchecked can quite quickly spread to other parts of your body or possibly even thoughout you entire body. It is terrible and my prayers to any that may be suffering from its affects.

As I have thought more about it, I do realize negativity is like a cancer on the soul, the spirit, the inner self or what ever you may wish you call it. Now, by negativity I am refering  to all of the negative emotions, we as humans can and do experience anger, resentment. envy…… That could be a long list and I am sure all can identify as least one or two things on that list as being in our lives at this moment.

I am not sur how to word this and I am not sure if it is a good thing or not but it seems to me we all seem in some way to comparmentalize our lives and feelings. We have areas of our lives that are going well and areas that are not going so well. A couple of what might be common examples. Have you ever heard anyone express something along the lines of: “I have a wonderful life, I just hate my job.” or “my life is great when my mother/father-in-law is not around, another possibly endless list.

Now if we could keep our focus on the big picture, the my life is great part, our lives would be so very much better. I have to wonder how many people if they honestly look onto their hearts can say my life is great in all areas without adding atleast one,  well except for maybe………..

I am not sure if compartmentalize is the right word. But, I think we generally do try to keep certain areas seperate such as job and home. Yet how good are we really at doing that. Who hasn’t just had a terribel day at work and come home to take it out on the family at least a little. A little negativity can go a long way towards tarnishing our entire out look on the world. Ok, what do I mean by all of this.

Let’s take our job as an example. Now there are some lucky people, yes, that just love their jobs and good for them. Sadly, I think they are in the minority. If people are honest I think most like their jobs at least well enough to keep doing them to pay the bills. Now there is another group that just hate their jobs. This is where some big time negativity can be coming to their entire lives. Our jobs are a big part of our lives, so big many spend more time with coworkers than they may with their own children.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Negativity of the soul

  1. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – there’s a say ‘put your best foot forward’ … other people don’t need our negatives, or our grumps … we may not be well and we may, in fact, be dying – but we can keep ‘our peckers up’ … and keep cheery.

    I know with my mother and my uncle – the only thing I ever had was exhaustion … but every time something difficult happened for them – I was there and gave them that stability … it certainly helped – and I’d be cheerful and turn their negatives around … thankfully we worked well together …

    You’re so right remembering the little things that keep us on top of the world … we don’t need to sink to find others’ burdens …

    Great thoughts here .. any job that’s challenging is then a job well done, and next time it will be easier … take care – cheers Hilary

  2. Mel says:

    In my world, negativity spreads darkness in to my spirit. That’s when soul sickness starts to happen for me.
    We’re going to ‘feel our feelings’ and that’s not a “bad”…it’s a really good thing. It’s the symptom to some dis-ease in ME that needs some of my attention. Resentful? Undoubtedly it stems from me believing I was mistreated or cheated out of something. Is that the reality of the situation, or is it some distorted idea that I need to check out. Is it something I can control, is it something I can change? Is staying bitter/angry helpful/a good plan for me?
    Feeling those feelings calls attention to something I probably was doing a bit of ‘denial’ over. Now, if I do nothing but wallow, the we have that soul sickness going on.
    I’m one of those few that loves their job. It’s my passion, so I’m very graced. But I do find myself compartmentalizing….and putting things in their own neat little piles. LOL. The AWESOME. :-D. The mostly “good”. 🙂 And the “You’ve GOT to be freaking kidding me….” :-/ LOL. True! And truth is, it’s ALL good. I just don’t have a broad enough vision to see that in every experience, yet.
    Yup…I need a new pair of glasses, ones that help me see G-d in every circumstance would do the trick! 🙂

Leave a Reply

