Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Pacemaker?


Had another appointment at the Heart Failure Clinic. I really have to commend and thank everyone there. All are so professional, so friendly and encouraging. A really nice group of people. I was going to joke that it is almost worth having this heart failure issue just to be able to visit with them. But, naw as nice as they are I would still much rather not be going there.
Medication hasn’t worked and dosage has been again increased. Heart rate still seems to think I am running hard all the time. There is almost constant chest discomfort but a manageable level.
Overall feeling pretty good. Getting my mindset back in line and that feels good. How many times have I stressed the importance of mindset and a positive attitude. I allowed that to falter but am getting it back.
For the first time a pacemaker was mentioned as a possibility. That will do nothing about the overall heart failure issues but help with this additional discomfort and most importantly reduce risk of a stroke.
It is a good day.
Still waiting on word about Vi’s surgery. Her pain is getting worse with physical limitations increasing. Based on pain level she is much worse off than I am. I hope and prayer her surgery will be soon.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Pacemaker?

  1. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill .. I can ‘hear’ that positivity coming through .. and it sounds as though you’re both having a tricky time .. sincerely hope life eases a little for you both – and as you say that Vi’s surgery comes through soon .. with thoughts – Hilary

    Hi Hilary. Working on that attitude of mine, know it needs improving. The addition of the extra, new heart issue is a bit of a downer. I guess it just caught me off guard. Yes, there is almost constant chest discomfort but is not that bad. Other major side affect is feeling more fatigued. So I spend more of my day in bed or laying on the bed. I get to lay around all day. Now isn’t that every guy’s dream come true. Lol. I have had and dealt with these little down hill slides before.
    I think it is harder watching Vi. She is like the energizer bunny non stop and full speed ahead always. Seeing her go from that to a wheel chair is difficult for her to accept and difficult for me to watch her deterioration.
    Now this is major surgery she is facing. The constant delays/postponements make it more difficult to prepare for only to have to deal with the disappointment of the delays.
    I think it was about March this surgery was decided on. She was told she would be notified but it would be the last week in May or the first in June. That time came and went. We hear nothing, time comes and goes. Phone them and are told mid July. Pattern repeats to September and now hopefully October. Geesh. Vi is getting depressed, I am getting angry.
    OK, positive spin. She will be spending about 10 days in the hospital and then be bed ridden for in the area of 6 weeks. Now she loves her flower garden. Keeping her bed ridden through our short gardening season would be so much harder on both of us than it will be through our Canadian winter. Things happen in God’s time not our time.

  2. NSC says:

    I hope that you get the pain more controlled soon. I agree– the positive you is coming through a little louder again! Always sending you the best!

    Thank you, nice to hear from you
    Bill

  3. rangewriter says:

    You and Vi are both pretty incredible people.

    We both thank you

  4. M T McGuire says:

    Hi Bill, I’m glad you are feeling more positive. Best wishes to you and Vi. I hope they sort both of you out soon!

    Cheers

    MTM

    Thank you my friend

  5. Cat says:

    Ha, Bill, it may not be worth having your heart failure issue just to visit with the lovely people at the clinic, but since you do have to go there I am so glad they make it as pleasant an experience as possible for you!

    I’m glad you are feeling more positive. I know from my own experience that it can be difficult to maintain a positive attitude when things aren’t going well, but whenever I can manage to do it, it makes the bad stuff so much easier to bear!

    Sending good thoughts to you and Vi! I can definitely empathize with Vi’s pain and I’ll say a prayer for her tonight.

    Hi Cat, nice to hear from you. Thank yo prayers are always appreciated.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

