Dying Man’s Daily Journal – How can I help you say good bye


I happened across a song by Patti Loveless. The lyrics just really hit me. How do I help you to say good bye? I copied the lyrics from google, hope I am not enfringing on any copy right laws if so sorry.
I am really feeling worn out and tired. Maybe a bit of a pity party going on, I am tired of constantly feeling tired. I see the Heart Failure Clinic on Thursday. The new medication doesn’t seem to be doing a lot. Heart rate is still galloping away. Still have the almost constant chest discomfort. To describe it as pain would be over stating it. It is more a quite noticeable uncomfortable feeling. I think if that level O’s discomfort was coming from any other area of the body, you could almost just ignore it. Knowing it is from your heart makes it harder to ignore. Last few days the “discomfort” level has been a little more than other days and just has me thinking.
Came upon this song. The lyrics reflect some of my thoughts.
Suggestions anyone/everyone

PATTY LOVELESS
How Can I Help You Say Goodbye Lyrics

Download “How Can I Help You …” Ringtone
Through the back window of our ’59 wagon
I watched my best friend Jamie slipping further away
I kept on wavin’ till I couldn’t see her
And through my tears I asked again, “Why we couldn’t stay”

Mama whispered softly
“Time will ease your pain
Life’s about changin’
Nothin’ ever stays the same”

And she said, “How can I help you
To say goodbye, it’s okay to hurt and it’s okay to cry
Come let me hold you and I will try
How can I help you to say goodbye”

I sat on our bed he packed his suitcase
I held a picture of our wedding day
His hands were trembling we both were cryin’
He kissed me gently and then he quickly walked away

I called up mama and she said
“Time will ease your pain
Life’s about changin’
Nothin’ ever stays the same”

And she said, “How can I help you
To say goodbye, it’s okay to hurt and it’s okay to cry
Come let me hold you and I will try
How can I help you to say goodbye”

Sittin’ with Mama alone in her bedroom
She opened her eyes and then squeezed my hand
She said, “I have to go now my time here is over”
And with her final words, she tried to help me understand

Mama whispered softly
“Time will ease your pain
Life’s about changin’
Nothin’ ever stays the same”

And she said, “How can I help you
To say goodbye, it’s okay to hurt and it’s okay to cry
Come let me hold you and I will try
How can I help you to say goodbye”

Read more: Patty Loveless – How Can I Help You Say Goodbye Lyrics | MetroLyrics
Songwriters
TAYLOR-GOOD, KAREN/COLLINS, BURTON

Published By
Lyrics © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.
Terms of Use

Read more: Patty Loveless – How Can I Help You Say Goodbye Lyrics | MetroLyrics

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – How can I help you say good bye

  1. Dorothy Jackson says:

    Bill,, I really don’t think a song will do it for me.. hang on to your positive energy hun.. I’m praying for you my friend.

  2. Betty says:

    Although it is a beautiful song, it is a sad song in my opinion. Not something I would listen to if I was trying to avoid a pity party. I know reality has to be faced, but not in this way. As Dorothy wrote “hang on to your positive energy”. I’m shooting over some positive thoughts…so keep a window open.

  3. rangewriter says:

    Bill, I came across this poem/essay in The Sun Magazine and it made me think of you. It’s by Elizabeth Nordeen. I think it’s lovely. I hope you like it too.
    “I’m lying on a couch by the open window, listening to a warm breeze fluttering the leaves of the sycamore, cars sighing and grumbling down Broadway with some destination in mind. A crow drops elegantly toward the pavement, the noon light splintering silver across the tops of his flattened wings. The air stills. An unseen jet rakes the sky with thunder. Small tufts of tree-cotton drift by, their progress hesitant but always angled upward. In less than a month I will have been ill for exactly half my life, a milestone I could never have imagined reaching with my sanity intact. I seldom know what I need to be doing, or if I really need to be here at all. And yet I am here, and my life is connected to other lives in ways I cannot fully comprehend. A ripple of breeze presses one leaf against another and another, and the sound empties and fills my heart with a sensation that is indistinguishable from love. I think of Meister Eckhart: If the only prayer you say in your entire life is thank you, it will be enough.”

Leave a Reply

