Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Me, an answered prayer?


I had a very unusual experience yesterday. We live on a quiet residential street. We have lived here for about 11 years. Over that time period there have been 4 or 5 occasions when a home has sold.
As soon as I see the new neighbours, I always make it a point of stopping over, introduce myself and welcome them to the neighbourhood. Vi always has some baking of some sort in the freezer. She fills up a plate with goodies, I take them as a token welcome gift. OK, yesterday it was a loaf of banana bread.
The house across the street just sold and yesterday the new owners arrived and over I went.
The Lady of the house (memory guy can’t remember her name) answered the door. She seemed, I am not sure, surprised I guess to see me.
I just introduced myself, welcomed them to the neighbourhood, told them how nice the area was………
Now, I was only there for 3 or 4 minutes. I have turned to leave and she said words to the effect: “wait I have to tell you something. I was just in the house saying a prayer. I was praying that our new neighbours be nice. I had literally just said amen and the door bell rang and here you are, welcoming us”.

8 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Me, an answered prayer?

  1. Noel says:

    Well… I guess her prayers were answered. 🙂

    hey Noël, I know that each and every day God utilizes the services of is all in doing His work. It seemed obvious the neighbour that it was a prayer being answered. I felt I suppose just humbled, didn’t even really know what to say other than you will like it here

  2. rangewriter says:

    That is just so sweet!

    Thank you

  3. Cat says:

    Awww, this story makes me so happy! A lot of our neighbors have been selling their houses lately and we’ve got lots of new people in the neighborhood. I still need to go over and meet our new across-the-street neighbors, who I hear have two very cute dogs!

    I know it is a small gesture, the stopping over for just a couple of minutes. I also know neighbour will not make for a a happy home. Nice, friendly neighbours can make life just a little more pleasant

  4. lypenner says:

    What a beautiful story Bill. It teaches me again that even when we think our prayers are bouncing off the ceiling, God is hearing each and every one and looking out for us in ways that we might not even see as obviously as this answered prayer. God bless you for your kindness.

    Thank you Lydia. I don’t know the word maybe humbled. It would make me feel so amazing if I were able to think God might use me in his service in anyway, even something as small as welcoming a neighbour

  5. Mary says:

    Nice things always happen to Nice People!! Hang in there Bill and watch for emails! Take care of Vi and yourself.

    Hi Mary if that is the case, nice things must continually be happening to you. Looking for the emails, always enjoy the jokes. Not getting many any more.
    Please say hi to everyone out there for both of us.
    Bill

  6. Betty says:

    Bill, What a kind gesture. At one time you used to write quite a bit about Earth Angels….well..I didn’t have to think twice to realize you and Vi are obviously your street’s Earth Angels. I’m sure your neighbour was very touched by your kindness. There is nothing like feeling welcome.

    Thank you Betty. I do believe even the smallest of gestures can sometime make a difference. Often very little effort on our part can brighten the day of another. Could that be something we all strive to do.
    Always nice hearing from you.
    Bill

  7. Mel says:

    Awww…..made me smile, BIG time. Isn’t it amazing how G-d uses people, everyday, in moments when we have no clue how we’re being used. I think it’s even more awesome the gal told you. I doubt she knew how she blessed you by telling you, ya know?
    Greeting newcomers in the neighborhood apparently isn’t as common place as it once was. Didn’t happen for the girl when she bought her first home, which made her sad. So I encouraged her to do it herself–take a plate of goodies and go introduce herself. She did. And she also made a point of greeting the next new neighbor, hoping to establish a new norm there. LOL. She is her mother’s child, huh!

    Mel, you are right, I don’t think she had any idea how she made me feel. As We get to know them, I will be sure to tell her.
    I hadn’t thought of it but you are right welcoming new neighbours doesn’t seem that common any more. I do it just to hopefully make them feel welcome in a new neighbourhood.
    Good for the girl. Friendly gesture to new neighbours can work both ways
    Bill

  8. Sister Julie says:

    What a lovely encounter! And … just wanted to say hello and I’m thinking about you!

    Sister Julie, so very nice to hear from you. I think of you often. Your prayers would be appreciated
    Bill

Leave a Reply

