Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Appreciate Father’s Day


Here in Canada as it is in some other countries, today is recognized as Father’s Day. The one day of the year set aside to recognize and honour our fathers. I wish a happy Father’s Day to all the Dads out there.

I imagine many families will be gathering to mark the occasion. Special meal’s Dad’s favourites will be prepared. Phones will be ring all across the country. I think all of that is wonderful. Here in Winnipeg anyway, there won’t be much for outdoor activities as it is cold and raining.

I would just ask that irregardless of how you may mark the occasion a little thought be put into it. Try to look at it as more than just an obligation. The calendar says it is Father’s Day so “I suppose I have to go and visit/phone the old guy”. You go through the motions and do what is expected simply because it is tradition or what is expected. The words happy Father’s Day roll off your tongue with the same thought or meaning behind them as would be as if you had commented on the weather.

Now in saying this I know it is not an intentional slight or any such thing. It is just we are all so busy with our lives we don’t slow down enough to give it thought. The day turns into a regular day or event other than the obligatory words we said.

Don’t waste the opportunity to express true feelings. I know of families that are facing the first Father’s Day without dad. Given the opportunity I am sure they would have much to say to dad. Yes, it can still be done through prayer but it just doesn’t feel the same.

Now to the fathers. Let today be a day of reflection and appreciation. Becoming/being a father is a gift from God. A gift like no other a true blessing. Be thankful, appreciate it and enjoy it.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Appreciate Father’s Day

  1. Betty says:

    Wonderful post Bill. Hope you had a Happy Father’s Day. A World’s Greatest Dad t-shirt would look good on you.

    Thank you Betty

  2. Mel says:

    Belated Dad’s Day wishes to you, sir.
    Ya know, I wasn’t fortunate to have my father in my life for a very long time. I guess that’s a part of why I like rubbing elbows with some of the “old farts” around the tables….LOL…I’m getting a bit old for that, huh? Needless to say, I missed out on having a dad at my wedding, at having a grandfather for my kiddos, at having a dad to bounce some things off of when life tossed me some curveballs…. I was graced to have found a Wise Person in my life who sorta took that role. And I tried to honour him on special days like Father’s Day. But you’re right…not the same. I’m hopeful folks got a chance to honour their dad. As I’m sure they honoured you well. ((( Bill )))

    Well said as always. Fathers and/or mothers are not always there for us as we would like them to be in our times of need. I am glad you have realized a father figure doesn’t have to have any biological ties. Those we consider family can be those that are there for us in our time of need, they are the people we honour

Leave a Reply

