I would rather be the patient than a waiting family member


I don’t know how many times I have said it and obviously I can only speak for myself but it is harder on the families than on the patient, when facing a major medical issue. I have been through this issue with Vi and don’t remember my stress levels being as high as they were. Naturally outwardly I was totally cool, calm and collected. I have faced and gone through open heart surgery.
That sitting in the waiting area, waiting for news is just not nice. I am very happy to say Vi is progressing well. So well she is getting impatient wanting to be able to really do things again. Thank goodness she should be back on her feet by the time gardening season roles around. She is already checking catalogues for flowers and seeds.
We thank all for the good wishes, kind thoughts, flowers and all

7 Responses to I would rather be the patient than a waiting family member

  1. Noel says:

    Yes, I have a friend whose wife has terminal cancer, and I cannot imagine what he is going through at this time. All we can do is be there for him while he waits for his wife to die. Cannot fathom this experience. Accepting death is one of the most challenging things to do in this precious life.

    Noel, my heart goes out to your friend, family and all. I can’t begin to relate. Prayers for all. It is at times such as this that we started to really understand and appreciate how precious is every moment of our time. Please keep us updated on your friend
    Bill

  2. Thankful for loving family! Hope she recovers quickly and that you’re doing as well as can be expected. Thandi in SouthAfrica

    I thank you. Things are going well
    Bill

  3. Betty says:

    Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day Bill & Vi.

    Thank you Betty and wishes, right back to you
    Bill

  4. M T McGuire says:

    Yay! Glad to hear things are going well.

    thank you

  5. lypenner says:

    Sending positive and healing thoughts out to Vi. So glad to hear all went well. She’ll be up and gardening in no time.

    thank you for the good wishes. I am just glad it isn’t gardening season now or I really would need a rope or something to tie her down

  6. Hilary says:

    That’s wonderful that Vi is checking out the gardening catalogues .. sounds very good therapy while you heal.

    Yet – I see your comment below .. and for that I’m glad it’s not the gardening season right now ..

    Take care – cheers Hilary

    Thank you. If it was gardening season, I wouldn’t be able to keep her slowed down. She is getting impatient at “how slow this healing process is.”

  7. Mel says:

    470,042 hits (just sayin….)

    I’m grateful you’re both on the other side of this one. I can hope that the procedures improved things so Vi can be comfortable and enjoy gardening again. I know what a source of frustration it was for me to want to garden and have that be a ‘chore’. I’m hopeful it’ll be a different experience this year. I have that same hope for Vi.
    And thank you!! I’ll now browse the garden supply shops online and start dreaming. LOL.
    You’re right, sir…I’m grateful it was me hobbling around and not himself…it was me getting to do all this and not him. I woulda struggled way more than him if it was reversed. Holy cow….the thought of that alone makes me wanna throw up….

Leave a Reply

