In Life we reap what we sow


I remembered an old fable or moral. I have been going over it in my mind. It went something like this.

“there is an old man walking down a country road. He is leading his donkey, pulling a cart filled with firewood. Along the way he meets a family. Their cart loaded with all of their worldly possessions as they are looking to relocate. They ask him, “what are the people in the next village like?

He responded with his own question. What were the people like in your last village? They responded with a whole list of complaints: they were mean, uncaring, gossipy……. Not nice people to be around to the point we just had to move.

His response was:  Well you are going to find the people in that next village to be about the same.
He carried on down the path and within a very short distance comes across another family also moving. They ask the same question. What are the people in the next village? He responds with the same question back to them. What were the people like in your last village? Their answer was different than the last. Oh, they were kind, loving wonderful people that we hated to leave.
His rely to their question was the unchanged: You will find the people in the next village to be the same.
The same question asked about the same next village. How could the answers be so totally different.
The old man was wise enough to be able to see the different mind set or attitude of those asking the question. It is that attitude or mind set that makes all the difference.
We reap what we sow. Give off warm loving positive vibes and it will be returned many times over.
Give off negative, grumpy less than kind loving vibes and they too will be returned many times over.

Off to see the neurologist this morning. Get an update on this old head of mine brain tumour and all

4 Responses to In Life we reap what we sow

  1. M T McGuire says:

    So true. I hope the appointment about your brains, or Brians, as I keep miss-typing them, goes well.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Thank you

  2. Mel says:

    “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new la dscapes, but in having new eyes.” That’s the quote that was placed in front of me just minutes before landing here this evening. Shared message, different way of delivering it. Makes me wonder just what I’m missing as I look through my lens, distorted and tainted as they might be.
    I like the tale told. I get what I go looking for, most times. I tend to seek out things that validate how ‘right’ I am. Used to be I wanted to validate what a crappy deal “life” was…I wanted to be right MORE than I wanted to be happy.
    I like looking for the good, looking for the joys today. It FEELS right. And for me there’s a wonderful difference in feeling right and being right. Oddly enough, feeling right feels way better….way longer.
    Mel as always great wisdom worthy of being a post by itself

  3. lypenner says:

    Bill, I just had to come back to your blog and tell you I’ve really been thinking about this parable. It’s so true. I hope I’m learning more and more to see the best in life. Thank you for sharing it and I hope you’re all well. How did Vi’s surgery go? Hopefully recovering well.

  4. NSC says:

    We’re waiting for an update, Bill.

    Regards,
    NSC

Leave a Reply

