Life is a head game we play with ourselves


We always hear the importance of maintaining balance in our lives. I totally agree with that. What is a good balance in our lives? To me that is another one of those personal individual things depending on where you are in your life, what is happening. That balance fits into so many areas of life that must be addressed in each area individually to attain overall balance. Time is so very often the biggest issue in all areas.

I know I have really been on this time issue for a while. I suppose more and more I am appreciating every moment it seems more and more. This old body of mine is finding it harder and harder to do things. Energy levels are really lagging. It is taking more and more effort to do more and more. I have to push myself, it would be so much easier to just take it easy. Give up trying and take it easy.

No one ever said life will always be easy just worth it. It is the best example of the saying: “the more you put in the more you get back.” When it comes to pushing myself I have been known to over do it. How do you come up with that balance? This pushing seems to have served me well in the past, I am still here. I have been told listen to your body, it will tell you when you are overdoing it. Most days if I just listen to my body and let that be the determining factor, I well may not even get out of bed. To me that would seem like the start of giving up. That is just not in me. There we go with finding that balance.
Really where do we live, in our heads, in our minds. Life is mostly a head game we play with ourselves. How we mentally, emotionally deal with the hand life deals with is up to us, our playing one part of that head game.

3 Responses to Life is a head game we play with ourselves

  1. M T McGuire says:

    Mwah ha ha hargh! If it’s any consolation, I never listen to my body either. This post is very apposite for me because I over did it myself on Saturday. Not in the same league but a little. I went roller skating on Friday night and boy have I been suffering. My knees are VERY angry with me but like you say, you have to push things a bit or you’d never do anything! 😉

    Cheers

    MTM

  2. Mel says:

    I think for some folks “listen to your body” actually works. LOL…I ain’t one of ’em. I might be envious of those who can.
    Ya know…I don’t know balance, moderation, or limitations. I’m LEARNING a bit about ’em, but I still don’t really “get it”. I tend to be a black and white gluttonous kinda gal. MORE…..or none.
    My answer is to simply leave my hand out of it. I go and do until it becomes impossible to do more. And I “rest” until stuff gets dropped in my lap….and the I’m off and running again. *laughing* I’m rarely bored! 😉 And since time truly is precious, I’m good with that.

  3. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill – it’s that balance of being sensible too .. if you did nothing you know what you would happen – thankfully you’ve been up and doing things as best you can since life became challenging … the more we challenge our bodies we keep on going .. but stopping when enough is enough for the day is essential, rather than overloading and creating a problem ..

    So pleased for you … lots of little things to keep you sparkly and interested in life .. as Mel says .. being rarely bored.

    Cheers Hilary<strong

    Hi Hilary, finding that balance has always be an issue for me. I am working on it

Leave a Reply

