It’s my birthday – looking for gifts


Here it is my birthday. I never imagined or saw myself reaching this milestone. It is but by the grace of God that I am still here. I don’t have the words to express my feelings of gratitude. I am here with a reasonable quality of life, enjoying life and appreciating every moment of it. Doctors have but written me off so many times I can’t help but feel the Hand of God must be at play here. For which I daily say a prayer of thanks.

it is 10 years ago, I got the words: “two years if I was lucky” and here I am. I am a very strong believer in the power of prayer. Over this blogging time prayers have been for me all over the world. I do thank all for each and every prayer, it has and still does mean a lot to me. I know those prayers were /are heard.

As has become what I suppose you could call my birthday tradition here on the blog I have flat out asked for gifts to help me celebrate. Here I am at it again.

What gifts am I looking for. Random acts of kindness. The size of the act doesn’t matter, for whom it is done doesn’t matter. All that matters is that we take but a few minutes, even a few seconds out of our day to do a random act of kindness for another. The only thing that matters is that it comes from the goodness, the loving kindness contained within our hearts. We are not looking for any sort of recognition or reward.

Should our act be noticed we accept no reward or compensation other than we request it be passed on.

it is my hope many will leave comments for me here, telling me of what you did. It will not be seem as bragging, boastful or any such but instead more as encouragement for others to join in. Share ideas of even the smallest things that can be done. Who is to know what we see as a insignificant act may have a much larger impact on the receiver of our act than we can image. Please

5 Responses to It’s my birthday – looking for gifts

  1. Dorothy says:

    Happy Birthday hun,,,you know i wish every wish you ever have comes true,,but mostly i wish you peace My Friend.

    I thank you so much

  2. rangewriter says:

    Had lunch with a woman who has had more than her share of health problems, many of which have come to a head in the last few months. I surprised her by picking up the tab, and told her she had to accept it because it was in my heart to do so. She believed me. Does this qualify?

    this definitely counts, thank you for sharing with us

  3. rangewriter says:

    BTW….most important…happy 10th bd. :-}

    Thank you so much, I am aiming for at least 11 or 12

  4. Mel says:

    Happy♫Birthday to you♪
    Happy Birthday ♪ to YOU
    Happy Birthday♫, HAPPY Birthdayyyyyy
    Happy♪ Birthday to ♪ YoUUuuuuUUUUuuuuu!!!
    (yes, loud and offkey as always!!!)

    I want you to know that Friday the 13th was a mixed up, difficult, MESSY day for me…(LOL Yes, that was the whine for the moment!) But I also want you to know that I soldiered through with that little niggling voice telling me “be kindly…..you just never know what’s going on in the life of another person”. I’m bettin’ it was a bit of you and a bit of HIM in my head. The end results were what needed to happen–and undoubtedly a ‘gift’, by any means:
    I let someone else go first, even though I’d been waiting longer and they ‘budged’ in line…and I didn’t get snarky….AND I paid their ‘some odd change bit’ that they had in their car and not on their person.
    I picked up 2 angels from the angel tree for the grandchild and I to buy prezzies for when I did the banking on Friday……cuz giving is a good thing. We’ll be giving in your name, if that’s okay with you.
    I bought soda’s for the staff at work who sent me on their ‘soda run’….mighta been a difficult day for EVERYone at the office and not just ME, huh?
    I ordered a gift basket and gift card at the grocery store for one of the staff members who’s having some difficulties, financially. It’s a tough time of year for lots of folks. They’ll deliver it–and I won’t be found out! HA! That’s my favorite bit.

    Now, I haffta admit, bit weak on my part–and not everything (save the giving tree) was entered into with you in mind.
    Which means I’ll have to do something REALLY sneaky and report back. LOL
    I love a good dare……and it’s the ‘not getting found out’ bit that’s a challenge for me that I embrace. Given I’m a highly ‘visible’ person(I’m noticed everywhere I go, even when I try to be invisible), pulling that one off really is a challenge that I enjoy.

    ((((((((( Bill )))))))))))) Happy Birthday sir! (late, thanks to the internet that decided to give me ‘internet free’ days…..bless its heart….LOL)
    Mel, I thank you for the birthday wishes. That big heart of yours is shining through. I know you are “soldiering” on through some very difficult, trying times and look at what you did. It is wonderful and I do thank you for sharing it with us. I can imagine how good it felt to get away with the hamper and not be discovered. I am proud of you.
    You have more planned, wow, I can’t wait to hear more from you.
    Bill

  5. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – I forgot your birthday .. but did not forget the giving – food bank regularly gets topped up, and I sent some vouchers to the church here and to Cornwall – I hope will cheer someone’s day. I’ve done some visiting too – and generally try and keep on the right side of the doing things ..

    Happy Birthday though – wonderful news that 10 years has passed .. that’s brilliant – here’s to a happy festive time .. HIlary

    Hi Hilary, really my birthday is not important. It is your wonderful acts of kindness that matter. Great job.
    Thank you
    Bill

Leave a Reply

