Canadian’s Hearty or Crazy


Just watching the news. Yesterday, the temp. here in Winnipeg factoring in the wind was a balmy -43. Temperatures like that are a little brisk. No, temperatures like that are damn cold.

the news story I just watched was on how, us Winnipegers don’t let anything get in the way of us enjoying the outdoors. The news article showed clips of families out and about going for walks. Kids playing in the snow………

I am obviously not in the hearty Canadian category. We are hiding in the house.

6 Responses to Canadian’s Hearty or Crazy

  1. M T McGuire says:

    Mwah ha ha hargh! When you get to that point, I reckon ‘hearty’ is a euphemism for ‘nutter’. Maybe they’re all going cabin crazy but it would certainly take a lot to get me out into temperatures like that. Surely they can’t stay out more than 15 minutes or so can they? Like the Alaskan oil workers! McOther grew up in Toronto and assures me that the temperatures in Canada don’t feel as cold, although I’m pretty sure it doesn’t go more than about 12 below, max there.

    Wrap up warm!

    Cheers

    MTM

  2. Betty says:

    Brrrrrr….I’m with you Bill. I am only going out when I really have to during this cold snap. Just glad my Christmas shopping is done so I don’t have to go in and out of stores and into the freezing car. Yet, the grandchildren want to play outside….difficult to explain frostbite warnings to a 6 and 2 year old.

  3. methenandnow says:

    Is that Celsius or Fahrenheit? Either way… you look pretty crazy from Texas… we wear flip flops 10 months out of the year.

    • Billie says:

      Methenandnow -40 C is the same as -40 F. They balance out temporarily at that point.
      Thanks Billie. That is an interesting point I don’t imagine many are aware of. Too bad we were unable to face time the other day. Well you saw the picture Shauna had my hair all done up with extensions just to give you girls a laugh.
      Love you
      Dad

  4. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill .. sounds awfully cold and I too would be happily sheltering inside … interesting about the 40 deg being the same in F and C .. I learnt something .. cheers Hilary
    I am with you and hiding indoors as much as possible

  5. Mel says:

    -40 is freaking cold….period.
    And here I was bemoaning the -21F windchill? Seriously, I think after you hit the minus ten it’s all holycrapit’sfrickingfreezingoutthere COLD.
    But I had a good chuckle….hearty and nutters must be synonomous up there. Hahaha!!

    Stay warm, sir!!
    OK, Mel my friend. When it comes to temperatures I am officially calling you a wimp. -21, Canadians are still wearing shorts and sandals. Lol

Leave a Reply

