Never give up


I was really struck by a comment left by my own daughter Billie. Her comment contained a quote from from a great man, Dr. Martin Luther King.
“If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but what ever you do you have to keep moving forward.”
Keep moving forward is the very key to living life and not just enduring our time here on this earth. I think our time on this earth is like a journey down the highway of life.
This journey begins and ends the same way for all of us. We are born we put in our time here on this earth and we die. Now, I am talking only about this time in our physical bodies and not what lies beyond. Simple put, we are born, we live and we die.
Really, the only difference in this whole thing for any of us is how we live that life. I have heard the saying about so many things, the more you put into it the more you get out of it. That most definitely applies to life.
The only difference there is for any of us is how we live the time we have. Life is simply what we do with our time on this earth. Choosing what it is with that time makes us who we are as individuals. It is the challenges or rather how we deal with them, that define who we really are. When life is moving smoothly we just coast down that highway. Throw a few bumps on that highway and our individuality shows through our inner strength, depth of character…….
We all have our struggles in life that we can allow to seemingly become overwhelming. How do we teach ourselves to step back, look and see our lives in prospective. See what is important, really worth getting worked up about. If we really open our eyes we see in regular life there is not that much really worth fretting about.
I see that so clearly as I am constantly inspired by those I see at the Wellness Centre. Some greatly hampered with physical issues. Yet there they are not giving up, doing what they can with what they have never giving up, always moving forward.
Life lesson for many could be learned there. Appreciate what we have. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Never give up keep moving forward

3 Responses to Never give up

  1. M T McGuire says:

    I absolutely agree with you. Wise words. I always end up saying, basically, this when I comment but it’s true. 🙂

  2. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill .. I thought about not sweating the small stuff earlier on today – so important to just enjoy what we can enjoy …

    Billie sounds a wise lady … cheers Hilary

  3. Mel says:

    453,183
    You have brilliant children who share wonderful things with us. I adore the quote–mostly because I’ve been one of those who’ve hit a ‘bump’ and wallowed. LOL I can do that! Did…still do cuz I’m kinda like that.
    It’s almost like I have to whine and carry on so I CAN move and head forward. I’m sure G-d laughs every time I do it–I’m sorta chuckling now cuz I know it’s true.

    “When life is moving smoothly we just coast down that highway. Throw a few bumps on that highway and our individuality shows through our inner strength, depth of character…….”
    This is the part that made me go ‘ouch’….. Cuz really, it’s my character in action–my values, my beliefs, those qualities that I claim as mine that pop up and show themselves when there’s a bump. Really…am I living what I say?
    Sometimes I do it wonderfully……sometimes a apparently give myself a vacation and don’t.
    Pffffft. Values and beliefs take vacations? LOL
    Guess what I’ll be working on!!!! (same thing I’ve been working on for eons! LOL) Thanks for the nudge…I felt it comin’!! ((( Bill )))

    ***** Hey Mel, I truly am blesses to have the daughters I have.
    Those little bumps in the road can easily put us into a bit of a tail spin for a time. I believe that is only human. It is how we learn from it and bounce back on track. You have just gone through and are still dealing with a big bump, when there is physical pain involved everything changes. I admire your spirit
    Bill

Leave a Reply

