Working out pays off


It is about 2 months now that I have been exercising at the Wellness Centre and I am seeing real results. I still huff and puff and need my rest stops but I am feeling stronger. Slowly I am being introduced to some of the machines. My goal is to put in an hour. Yes, in that time I do include my huff and puff rest breaks. So actual exercise time is some what less but even that is improving.
I have come to realize there is something wrong with Vi’s eye sight. With all of this heavy training I am doing, I now look in the mirror and see the body of a Mr. Universe. She just doesn’t seem to see the same, what is up with that?
I have a challenge for any that may read this. An exercise that is very simple. Sit in a chair, stand up as you would normally do, then just sit down again. Straight forward and easy enough. Try doing 2 sets of 10 reps. Oh, one other thing as you are standing and then again sitting, do both in slow motion.
Just stand up and then sit down, remember the slow motion part.
I’d be interested in hearing how you make out

6 Responses to Working out pays off

  1. M T McGuire says:

    Mwah ha ha haaargh! Loved the Mr Universe comment. I have to do that exercise for my borrowed knees and yes, I will vouch for you. It’s hard! šŸ™‚

  2. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – well your imagination is working well! Congratulations on any improvement .. bet your lungs are coming along nicely towards matching Mr Universe’s!! Good for you .. cheers Hilary

  3. Dan says:

    I had a complete Knee replacement on the 2nd of Oct. and I am working on getting my knee to work again, it is so sore. The exercise you spoke about sounds like something that will help me. Thanks for the idea. I am using crutches to walk and a exercise I can do here at home may help me get off them.

    Hi Dan I wish you well with, I hope is a speedy recovery. You may want to check with your doctor before beginning a specific exercise. I am not a doctor and would hate to see you possibly injure yourself further because of something I have said.
    Bill

  4. Linda says:

    Great challenge. I’m impressed with your hourly work out. I need to do a lot more of that, myself! I’ll start with the slo mo chair sit.

    Hi Linda, I am getting better at it, but included in that hour are a lot of rest breaks

  5. Mel says:

    Whaddaya mean she doesn’t see Mr. Universe?! Geeze….best get that eye exam scheduled! *laughing*
    Seriously–I’m proud for you sticking with it and making the progress with/without the Mr. Universe results. šŸ˜‰ It’s easy to sit in some of the sadness and indulge in excuses. It’s just as easy to decide not to, even though there are times it doesn’t ‘feel’ easy.

    Right-I’ll give the slo mo chair sit a go! LOL Only it’ll be one legged, which oughta be interesting! No worries, I’ll make sure the helper is around in case I collapse in giggles! šŸ˜‰

    Hey Mel, how is the leg coming? Actually, we both did just get new glasses. Vi’s must be faulty as she still doesn’t see the Mr. universe body. Thank you for the encouragement. With the exercise energy levels are improving but this old heart of mine still plays a large part in how much I can do. I am trying to push as hard as I can. I want to get this as being just a regular part of my routine, so much so that when we hit our -30 weather, I won’t let that deter me from going out or let the lazy bone take over

    • Mel says:

      Much like you, progress comes in wee bits–but it’s progress, eh?
      And lemme tell ya…..that slo mo standing bit give ya a workout and a half. LOL I think I did five and decided I needed a nap.
      :-/

Leave a Reply

