Inspired by those around me


Every time I go to the Wellness Centre I come away awed and inspired. There is my ever increasing athletic progress, hmm, well maybe not so much there. Though I am seeing a noticeable difference.
But more by the other people I see there, every shape and size, ever level of fitness. I go in the morning when yes there are some with the hard well toned bodies but more are the more mature folk like me. Many are dealing with cardiac or some other medical issues. The determination I see from these folks seems to give me the lift I at times need to go that little bit further.
Example, today I was blasting around the track at my usual pace. Ahead of me I could see I was catching up with a very slight, white haired, more mature lady. She was walking on the inside track which has a hand rail for support. Her pace was slow as she sort of dragged one leg a little. Now the track is set up with marked lanes, just like in traffic you shoulder check before changing lanes to avoid possibly colliding with another walker or runner coming up behind you. As it happened as I came up behind the lady, there was a larger group of walkers in the other lane. I slowed to the ladies pace to allow the others past. She must have realized I was back there as she turned slightly and apologized for being so slow. I assured her that was no problem but didn’t think she had heard me. When the others had all passed, I moved up beside her adjusting my pace to her’s. Again I assured her pace was no problem and said I admired her for being out there. We chatted briefly, I learned she had suffered a stroke. Her doctor suggested walking so there she was giving it her all such as that was. I know of people much much younger that didn’t have that drive. She felt self conscious as she felt she was a hindrance in the way of others. I did my best to assure that was not the case.
One other example of the many I could give. I was galloping down the straight of way when suddenly I was passed by a gentleman in a motorized wheel chair. Now that was a surprise, left me temporarily wondering, now what in the world could be the point in this. That is until I got to the far end of the oval and saw him working on one of the machines for upper body strength. Wow, I am not even sure what to say. I am not sure I would have the inner strength to do that.
This just so re-enforces in my mind. We may not always like the hand we are dealt in life. How we deal with it that allows us to live life or just endure our time here

4 Responses to Inspired by those around me

  1. Betty says:

    No need for anyone to apologize for being slow. This is the Wellness Centre a place to keep healthy and a place to improve your health. The determination of many people that participate is amazing. Bill enjoy your continued trips to the centre.

    Also, Wishing you and Vi a very Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. hilarymb says:

    Well said Bill .. “How we deal with it that allows us to live life or just endure our time here” … so well said – cheers Hilary

  3. Billie says:

    Martin Luther King Jr. said “If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do, you have to keep moving forward.” He received the Nobel Peace Prize 49 years ago today.

    Billie, it is so nice to see you here on the blog. That is a wonderful quote and from a great man. Those are words to truly live our lives by. We do what we can with what we have. While it may not be all we want, we should be grateful for what we have. Never give up.
    Thank you for sharing this. It would be nice to FaceTime this evening.
    Love you all
    Dad

  4. Mel says:

    Wow–makes me wanna get out the pom poms and cheer folks on. What an amazing collection of folks you get to ‘race’ with.

Leave a Reply

