Cute story seen from the front step


Saw something so cute this morning I just have to share.

OK, I have written about my front step sitting. A quiet time when I can reflect, see nature in all it’s wonders before me. Those times are becoming shorter as the temperature drops. Now I have also mentioned also we live very close to an elementary school. Now depending on the time of day we often see the little kids walking to or from school. Most often the smaller ones are accompanied by a parent or older sibling. Now I am not always out there at the same time so I can’t say this is a daily happening, but as I saw it about a week ago and then again this morning, I am imaging it is.To set the scene the other side of our street is lined with huge Elm trees, the trunks of which are big enough for a person to hide behind. Now these beautiful trees are spaced about every 50 feet or so.
OK, now jump back to about a week ago. I happen to look down the street. At the end of the block it appears there is someone behind the tree. Wouldn’t likely have given it a thought but as I am watching a person does come out from behind that tree to dash forward to hide behind the next tree in line, coming in my direction, followed shortly by a dash to again the next tree in line and hide. OK, now this is suspicious.
It is then that I notice a young lad coming down my side of the street. Now based on size and appearance I would guess him to be in grade 1 and he is walking alone. Now I have noticed him before but always in the company of his mother. As they pass the mother and I usually exchange good mornings.
As the young lad get close he proudly proclaims: “I am a big boy and can walk to school by myself”. I congratulated him and wished him a good day in school.
If you haven’t guessed by now. The person coming down the other side of the street doing all the hiding was indeed the mother

6 Responses to Cute story seen from the front step

  1. Gaby Eirew says:

    Dear Bill
    A lovely story – thank you. I am writing a book about blog writing when sick or dying – I would be very grateful if you would be prepared and comfortable to share with me your insight into what the blog has brought you emotionally and how it has helped you. I would like to share good ideas with others facing similar prognosis. I would be happy to quote you by name or anonymously and I thank you very much.

    Gaby

    Hi Gaby, I would be happy to participate in anything that may help others in my or any situation. I will contact you by email.
    Bill

  2. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill – I’ve heard of it being done – but have never seen it .. so amusing to see! Fun read … cheers Hilary

  3. Mel says:

    Hahaha….that was NOT me!! I followed mine in a car. LOLOL. TRUE!
    Priceless….and how proud that little one musta been. Very cool that you got to be there to capture the moment.

  4. Sherry says:

    Very cute!

  5. Betty says:

    I’m so glad you had the chance to witness such a delightful momemnt. I’m sure your congratulations made the “big boys” day. My heart goes out to the Mom…..she is doing what loving Moms do.

  6. M T McGuire says:

    That a cracker. Lovely story.

Leave a Reply

