Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Wonders of Technology


Last evening I received a real surprise. The kind of surprise that caused my jaw to drop as I stared in wonder.

Nephew, Jordon is coming into town and will spend at least part of the day with us, will be very Nice. I am going to put him to work explaining technology to me. There is something just beyond my ability to grasp. Looking for our address, he was playing around on his computer. I think he was on google earth but have to find out. In any event he found our house. Some how he was able to zoom in. Zooming in close enough, I can’t believe, but you can actually see me. The picture is amazing, a little blurry but very recognizably me.
I am doing my front step sitting. If I had known I was getting my picture taken, I would have dressed for the occasion. How amazing is that?
Update, Jordon the master is here, it is google map, through which he got the picture. Showed me how to do it and there I am on the front step.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Wonders of Technology

  1. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill .. I’m sure he’ll help you hugely – and some things are wonderful .. I’m not so sure being zoomed in on in own home is something I’d recommend! My goodness you might be in my sitting room now as I type this?!

    Cheers Hilary

    hi Hilary, Jordan, my techno guide explained it all to me. Now I knew they have the satellites that can take the over view pictures of your house. I couldn’t figure out how they got the clear view of the front of the house which shows me sitting on the front step. Turns out it is very simple. They have vehicles driving the street taking 3 D pictures. Using GPS they are able to link the aerial view with the sidewalk views, amazing. In the picture it is clearly me but my face has been blurred, I suppose for privacy issues.

  2. Mel says:

    Amazing thing, technology, though I’m not so certain all of it pleases me. I guess ya get the whole package, not just the bits you think are wonderful. While I’m gladder than glad you were on that step, enjoying a bit of the day..yikes, forgive me if that remark about ‘privacy’ made me laugh. But it was enough to make me go looking at the map for my little corner of the world. And now I can really laugh cuz there’s the house and the patio…and the darn overgrown bushes before I trimmed them!! Gosh…couldn’t they WARN ya so you could spuce up a bit?! LOL

Leave a Reply

