Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Lessons from Nature


I have to wonder how many times in our lives we are presented with opportunities, golden opportunities maybe even once in a life time opportunities. We see it, we maybe even realize what it is. But we look at the work that would be required, the commitment, risk or what ever and just decide that beyond our ability, give up or pass on it without even trying. We then near our end and face the “what if’s” and the “if only’s”. I am not sure do we tend to over think things. I know many to one degree or another possible lack in self confidence. See our selves as lesser than we are. As our own worst enemies, we miss out, conceding defeat with out even trying.
What got me thinking on these lines?

Again this morning I was out on the front step and was really inspired by what I saw. I saw courage, determination and strength as I have never seen before. Or maybe better put would be to say I have never taken the time to see and appreciate what was happening right in front of me.
On the sidewalk in front of me I noticed an ant. One of those pesky little insects. Now it was working, I mean almost beyond struggling. It had obviously discovered something needed back at the ant hill/colony. Now this thing was 2 or 3 times bigger than the ant itself and I imagine it must have been 2 or 3 heavier than was the ant itself. That it was bigger and heavier did not seem to even register with Mr. Ant. It saw an opportunity. An opportunity to take something “home” that must have been needed. It was undaunted by the size of the task, it just seized the moment.
I watched its difficult but steady progress for about 15 minutes. I am not sure how far or where Mr. Ant was was going but I hope he made it

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Lessons from Nature

  1. rangewriter says:

    I’ve spent hours watching ants do their thing. They are amazing creatures.

  2. Mel says:

    🙂 Fifteen minutes with the ant would impress me too. I’ll remember to look ‘down’ next time I go outside. Undoubtedly I’ll be humming that ant/rubbertree song. LOL But it’ll be good.
    I hear what you’re saying–really, it wasn’t my defects that I feared as much as my own greatness…those things in ME that I feared doling out and being held to a standard. If you act out your defects, no one really has anywhere for you to go but UP, yes? And even then, a wee bit different is ‘enough’ and keeps people satisfied. But be the GREAT person you are?! *sigh* I truly did (and sometimes still DO) fear that bit in me that shines.

    Which is why I adore the Marianne Williamson quote:

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
    Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
    It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.
    We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous,
    talented and fabulous?
    Actually, who are you not to be?
    You are a child of God.
    Your playing small does not serve the world.
    There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other
    people won’t feel insecure around you.
    We were born to make manifest the glory of
    God that is within us.
    It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.
    And as we let our own light shine,
    we unconsciously give other people
    permission to do the same.
    As we are liberated from our own fear,
    Our presence automatically liberates others.”

    Hi Mel, you do get what I was trying to say. I thank you for sharing that quote, it does say it all.

Leave a Reply

