Dying Mans Daily Journal – meditation with Nature


This past week has been good. We have had a very bust household. Vi’s daughter Lynelle, son David visited with their families. It was really nice having them all here. Eight extra people all fit in quite nicely and I think a good time was had by all. I know I had a wonderful time. I had to pass on the out door evening socializing around the BBQ. We are experiencing a summer heat wave. Throw in some humidity with that heat and it really affects my breathing. I was the wimp that stayed inside appreciating the air conditioning.
Every morning by 6:30 or 7:00 I am out on the front step. At that time of the morning, it is one of my favourite places. It is before the heat of the day, few if any Mosquitos, very little noise or human activity of any kind.
I suppose it is akin to or even is a form of meditation. I just allow myself to get totally absorbed in all that is happening around me. When look and listen there is a lot going on. I am constantly being surprised at really how much to see.
Now our home is located well into a fairly large city yet an abundance of nature surrounds us. If you don’t look with open eyes there is so much we just don”t see. I have come to realize to a large degree that is really the story of my life. Always too busy wrapped up in the current circumstances of my life, always rushing and really never seeing past the end of my nose. I ams seeing it as I describe what I see in nature but it goes beyond that into every part of our lives.
Every morning I am serenaded by what from the sound has to be hundreds of birds. I am sure they have always been there, I have never just stopped or even just slowed down enough to really listen and appreciate the beauty.
Today I realize I have developed a relationship with Mr. Cat. Mr. Cat is a big grey cat that I often see in that early morning time but that I can remember at no other time through the day. I will be sitting on the step and will see him coming casually strolling down the public sidewalk. Now most days for the past 2 weeks or so, when he reaches the sidewalk to our house he casually turns into our yard, comes up on to the step, rubs himself once against my leg. He then just as casually turns and carries on his way.
This morning surprised me. I am not sure if I was late getting out or if he was early. Mr cat was out sitting on the sidewalk, looking at the house. I actually think he was waiting for me. As soon as I was seated up onto the step he came, brushed against my leg and then just carried on.
Have more to say on this but with my usual rambling have tired myself out, will be back

4 Responses to Dying Mans Daily Journal – meditation with Nature

  1. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill .. lovely ramble and so pleased that life is happy and in the moment … Mr Cat sounds a delight … enjoy, enjoy ..

    Be at peace with all – Hilary

  2. M T McGuire says:

    McMini has a cuddly called Mr Cat 🙂 it is a cat believe it or not.

  3. Betty says:

    Bill, what a wonderful way to start one’s day. Just reading about your mornings on the front step made me feel relaxed. I think I just might try doing the same.

  4. Mel says:

    Awwww…..perfect! I’m glad to hear some porch sitting happened. And I’m even glad for Mr. Cat. Sounds like he’s chosen you for a buddy. LOL Better thee than me–I’m afraid I’m not very friendly with them, they’re not very kind to my birds. :-/
    Oh, but I love the start of my day on the patio with the sunrise and bird song. *happy sigh* It’s something that brings me peace and centeredness for the day I’m about to walk into.
    THAT being said–it does the same at the end of the day. Feel free to give that one a go, too! 😉

Leave a Reply

