Dying Man’s Daily Journal – prayers please


I have a double prayer request, please. Both being for members of my own family.

My brother Robin is off work with you guessed it, heart and breathing problems. Following  in his big brothers foot steps (sadly) he has also suffered previous heart attacks and the open heart  surgery. Breathing has eliminated most physical activity. Further tests are planned. He is struggling, prayers please.

For several years now step son David has known it is but a matter of time and he will require open heart surgery to replace a faulty valve. We have learned that, that time has arrived. He meets with surgeons on Wednesday. Prayers please

13 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – prayers please

  1. hilarymb says:

    Hi Bill … absolutely … words fail me – my thoughts though will be with you all … with big hugs from across the pond – Hilary

    Thanh you
    Bill

  2. Beatrice says:

    Sending lots of Prayers your way. May The Lord keep you all safe in his loving arms.Amen and God Bless

    Thank you
    Bill

  3. Mel says:

    *sigh* It’s a family disease, huh.
    Indeed, prayers for Robin and for David.
    What scary times for them both–for all of you.

    *hugs*

    the things that run in a family. Some times you just want to curse those genes

  4. Dolores Meyer says:

    Will also ssend there names to St. Jude

    I thank you so much

  5. Don says:

    Bill, I have known you for 45 or 46 years and you haven’t changed a bit. Of course my prayers go out to Robin (haven’t seem him in years) and Dave but here you are struggling to stay alive yourself and you are asking for prayers for others. I was going to tell you to hang in there but what else would you do but fight to the end. I don’t think you are afraid of anything and you just don’t know how to quit or give up. I know you are struggling right now. How many times has life knocked you down. What have you always done got up and faced it down. I know that is what you will do again. You have years to go.
    Don

    Hey Don, thank you for you kind thoughts. You are right in that if I have much to say in this while matter,
    I will be around for a while yet. Focusing on other helps me get my mind off of myself which is often a good thing. Give me a call.
    Bill

  6. Lynelle says:

    Today is the day we find out more. My brother is one of a kind. He is an amazing father, husband and brother. This is not anything we would have anticipated for our family and it is something we….. I am struggling with as the only sister of three older (arguably far more annoying) brothers. David and his family need these prayers…… Especially my mom. This has been a rough year. Thank you.

    Hey Lynelle, I agree with everything you have said about Dave. He is a great guy. I continue to ask for and am sure the prayers will keep coming. Waiting for word beyond more tests planned.
    I know this was difficult for you and I thank you for sharing as you have here on the blog. You are so right about it being a tough year there is no question your mother is struggling but she is a trooper. She will be heading out to be there when ever the surgery is scheduled.

    • Betty says:

      Lynelle, My prayers for David his family as well as his doctors are on their way. My understanding David needs surgery on his heart valve. I want to tell you I went through the same thing 14 years ago at age 48 plus an aortic anurysm So I had double trouble. If I knew then what I know now I would not have been half as stressed. I now have a mechanical heart valve and a repaired anurysm and life is good. We have great heart surgeons, and a wonderful recovery program. I am sure David will get through this just fine. In the time since my surgery I have been blessed in so many ways. I was able to go back to my job that I loved (retired 7 years later), watched my only daughter get married, have been graced with two granddaughters, and enjoy winter travel with my husband. You all need to look beyond the surgery and look forward to all the good times ahead. Blessings to all.

      Hi Betty, I am so very happy to hear of how successful you surgery and of how you have carried on with such a wonderful life filled with so much love and joy. You are an example, an inspiration for all of us. Thank you for sharing.
      Bill

    • Mel says:

      *huge hugs to you and your mom*
      Been sending prayers and holding you all in thought today.
      I remain hopeful….for all of you (especially the annoying ones. LOL)

  7. Betty says:

    Prayers and positive thoughts are being sent for both Robin and David as well as the entire family circle. Bill & Vi take care, I know this has been a difficult year.

    Thank you

  8. Mel says:

    Just checking in and checking up on you and yours, sir.
    I will remain hopeful that all has gone well…and that results of the meeting have been good for easing some fears.
    And bless he-who’s-known-you-forever for pointing out truth here, sir. NO surprise to those who’ve come to know you….just a validation of the selflessness I’ve been humbled by over and over again.
    You be taking care of you, sir….and hug Vi tight for all of us, eh?

    Hey Mel as always thank you for the so kind thoughts. Me, selfless, what can I say I am just that kind of amazingly wonderful guy. (REALY BIG LOL) Have I ever mentioned at times I have a actually been seen walking on water? Well, it is true. Well OK I do live in Canada and my water walking is limited to the winter months, when lakes and rivers are frozen over with 2 or 3 feet of ice. It feels good to have my sense of humour back, shows how much better I am feeling.
    What you see as being selfless, I see more as a coping mechanism. Focusing on others can take my thoughts away from brooding about myself.
    I am doing my best to support Vi in every way I can. It has been a tough time for her. In the past 4 or 5 months she has lost her mother and 2 aunts. Has been dealing with me situation and now her son is heading for open heart surgery. That is a lot to carry, a lot to process.
    I am getting better on this I Pod, don’t have to deal with the stairs.

    • Mel says:

      (((((( Bill ))))))) I have that same coping mechanism–comes in handy time and time again. You just keep doing what works for you, sir. And take care of you and yours.

      I’m impressed on the iPod progress! LOL And what a fantastic thing! Welcome to the wonderful world of technology..again! I’m sure it seems like a steep learning curve, but it’s a good one, methinks. Stairs not required! What a brilliant solution for you. Stairs are probably NOT the best exercise for you. :-/ Bless whoever thought of that one! From the comfy of your recliner, no less… Makes me smile, thinking of that happening for you.

      A day at a time. I know you know —
      (((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))

      Love ya, man!!
      Hey Mel, can you believe it I am turning into a techie guy. Lol. We all cope with with life in our own ways, this happens to be mine. I have to think that however we deal life, if we can funnel our energies into something positive it has to be a good thing

  9. lypenner says:

    Overhearing your and Mel’s thoughts about coping tricks, it reminds me of me going into many teaching days feeling crappy due to whatever, but stepping outside my skin and helping others always does wonders to helping me forget my own troubles. I’ll join your group!
    Right on Lydia, welcome to the “group”
    Bill

  10. Dave says:

    Bill , I have been following your life isssues since 2006 as I have been on a similar heart failure journey. Against all odds we are both still here. My prayers are with you all.
    Dave
    Hi Dave. I am very glad to hear you are beating the odds and are here with us I am also glad you are now here with us on the blog, welcome. I imagine many of your own stories may be similar to mine and I do welcome you to share as you wish.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

