Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Enjoying Life


I have to admit I do not have a musical bone in my body. my singing voice is not something I am apt to subject anyone else too. But, now there are occasions when I do think my voice is great. That would be when I am alone in the car driving on a highway far from listening ears. Then if a favourite song comes on the radio I just let loose and sing at the top of my lungs and sound wonderful. lol

I wa at the cardiologists office yesterday and found that while I may not have any music in my bones, my heart is full of it, huh who knew. My heart is not content with the plain old thumb, thump, thump thing. My heart is beating to its own tune. It is sort of like: beat, beat (skip one) beat, beat, beat (skip one), speed up for 10 fast beats, miss 2 slow down for next 3, with the strength of the beat varying between very strong to extremely weak. Hey, if I paid attention to it I might have a hit song being dictated to me. lol. A couple of new medications and tests planned to see if any sort of surgical interventions is warranted. That decision based both on the condition of the heart with my over all condition being taken into consideration.

People often as over all how am I feeling. Well that definitely can depend on the day but over all I am feeling well. Such a blessing to be free of that head ache.I just run out of breath and tire easily. I do look forward to my naps. My balance is way off but being aware of it you can sort of take precautions. Chest pains are more frequent, thankfully the good old nitro spray can deal with that. The doctors sometimes ask some questions that helps reality set in a bit I suppose. “At a slow moderate pace can you walk a block? Made me think, yes I could walk a block but that would be pushing myself and I would be huffing and buffing and need to sit down. “Can you walk up a flight of stairs?” Yes. Two flights? No.

It used to be chest pains only came with physical activity. I learned to some what deal with that by just taking every thing slow and easy and that would at least delay it. Now the pains can come even when I am laying down at rest. They have actually woken me up a couple of times through the night. Doctor said this is all just the natural progression.

I do realize I am such a very lucky man. Yes, I do have a number of serious medical conditions that have greatly reduced my physical limitations, I am still at a level of being able to enjoy life. For, what more could we ask

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Enjoying Life

  1. rangewriter says:

    That is funny! Your ol ticker just rocks on, despite how you feel. You know, I’ll bet some tech geek could hook something up to your heart and come up with some fantabulous hit song.

    Hey, there is an idea. It does beat to its own tune. Now that wuld really be a song straight from the heart.

  2. Cat says:

    Amen, Bill! Enjoying life is the main thing, isn’t it? Your post made me think that there are probably who knows how many people out there who don’t have anywhere near your physical challenges but who for whatever reason are unable or unwilling to enjoy their lives. In fact, I used to be one of them. It’s funny, but I feel like the adversity I’ve faced in my own life has actually made me appreciate and enjoy life more.

    I hope you are able to continue enjoying life for a long time to come.

    Hi Cat, nice to hear from you. I do my best to focus on the good in life. There are times, when yes, I do loose that focus. Thankfully, I have become pretty good at getting my head above water and being able to see life for what it is, good.
    In my own humble, bumbling, rambling way that is part of what I am trying to help people understand. They have wonderful lives but are some how stuck in a sort of rut I suppose where all they can see is the little even petty little issues. All they see are those issues and somehow they seem to just see their lives as a one big pile of problems.

  3. Mel says:

    Well, Bill. If it’s any consolation, I’m not much of a singer either….’cept when I get behind the wheel of a car. *laughing* OHmygosh how amusing I must be for folks at stop lights! 😉

    You’re doing good, sir! Sometimes living within our circumstances is a royal pain–but if we don’t make the best of what’s plopped down in front of us, we’re missing the boat on living life on life’s terms!
    I’m glad the visit didn’t tax you too much. And equally glad that they’re giving you and added something for the chest pains–waking up to those must be a bit frightening! Eesshhhhhh!

    Hey Mel, so as to not terrify the folks at the stop lights I limit my singing to when I am on the highway. If they really knew I am sure many would be thanking me for that. lol. It just stricks me as so strange no on wants to loose their life but at the same time aren’t bothering to live it. Mel,would you consider sharing your story with us.

  4. bc says:

    I’ve always believed that happiness is a state of mind and that contentment takes common sense and application. You make it look deceptively easy. 😉

    cheers

    BC

    Hey there BC. “You make it look deceptively easy” This is something i have been working on for years. There are times when it is easy, but I have my struggles. If anything I just think I am maybe getting better at my “bounce back time”. Does that make sense.

Leave a Reply

