Dying Man’s Daily Journal


I have come to realize that I am growing as a person in the spiritual and emotional sense. OK, yeah in the physical sense also. To realize this though you need some sort of a bench mark. Something happens and you can see how much differently you react today than you would have in the past.

In the entire span of the blog there have only been 4 or 5 comments that I considered just plain nasty or mean spirited. I think I have said different times, if you want to take a shot at me or my thoughts go for it we are all entitled to our own opinions. NOTHING would stay up if I read it as taking a shot at one of my blogging friends. and I stand by that.

I was up in the middle of the night at some point, answering the call of nature. i remembered I hadn’t shut down the computer for the night and came to do it. While I was here I thought I might as well check for comments. There were a couple of touching comments as you can read. The last comment caught me by surprise. I read it and just said phooey and with the touch of a button it was gone. I went back to bed. You know how much sleep I lost over that comment NONE

This morning though I am sort of sorry I deleted it as it is the sort of thing that does make me realize how I have grown as a person.

In essence the comment said that, I may have an OK topic but my poor spelling, bad grammar and punctuation was infuriating to the point they were unable to get what ever I was trying to say. They were leaving and not coming back.  Now a few years ago I would have been hurt by something like this. i would have gotten all huffy, puffy, defensive and even angry.

Today my thought is: Gee it sucks to be you. This is my blog and if you don’t like it don’t come back. Oh, you say your are leaving well don’t let the door slam you on the bum on the way out.

I say thank you to who ever it was that sent me that comment. You helped me by giving me that yard stick with which to measure my progress.

8 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal

  1. Jennie says:

    Yay Bill! 😀

    Bye bye Mr. Garbage Truck: https://hudds53.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/dying-mans-daily-journal-garbage/

    It’s really a shame that person is depriving themselves of your wisdom because your punctuation isn’t perfect.(My English skills must be pretty bad too because I scarcely notice any errors in your writing.) I’m just glad you are writing.

    Hi Jennie and thank you for your kind words. Wow, you remember the blog better than I do. I had totally forgotten about posting the garbage truck story as it certainly applies here. I would love to get an email from you, updating me on what is happening in your life. when we first met (here online) you were going through some very difficult times. I do hope and pray all is well.
    I am just sitting here thinking, quoting my own blog to me as a comfort. I might have to go back and start reading some of this stuff I ramble on about.

  2. simplicianot says:

    Hi Bill, It is so sad to see how the world has changed so much for the worse. These days nothing seems to matter anymore and everyone is for them self. But it is good to know that there are still people that do care about someone else besides themselves! I have been reading your Blog here and there now and you give me a lot of inspiration with the way you are handling your situation indeed. Instead of feeling sorry for yourself you go right on living and make the best of it. I’m sure it wasn’t always like this and it took time to come to terms with your diagnosis. In 2001 I also was diagnosed with COPD Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. I was scared to death as I was driven to the ER with full blown Pneumonia and had suffered an acute respiratory failure,was put on life support and stayed in hospital for two weeks. Since then I and my families life have never been the same. The Lord has Blessed me and I’m still around to see my
    Grand Children to be born and be with my loved ones. So I do understand where you coming from and you are an inspiration to so many besides me I’m sure of! So no matter what silly reader leaves nasty comment behind, remember it doesn’t matter what that person thinks of your writing abilities or what so ever, the only one whom we should care about what he thinks is our Lord Jesus Christ!! Wishing you and yours the best year yet to come.
    Hugs and God Bless Bill

    Beatrice from Tx

    Hi Beatrice, it is nice to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I am sorry to hear of your COPD breathing issues are so dibilitating, believe me I can relate. While I am sure it was not pleasant just maybe your trip to the hospital was a blessing in that they were able to treat your syptoms and hopefully have you on medications that have possibly eased your symptoms and maybe even prolonged your life to the point your are even able to join in with us here today, for which I am glad.
    I have been dealing with this whole heart issue of mine for 9 or 10 years and you are right it did take me get my head wrapped around this whole thing. I can’t remember but it must have been a year or longer berfore I could start to really deal with it. I am still a work in progress as I still do have “my times.”
    I love my life (struggle with decreasing physical limitations) and realized I had a choise. I could just curl up in a ball, be miserable waiting for that next heart attack that will put me down. Or, I can live my life to the best I can.
    Hope to hear back from you, here you are very welcome and can find a lot of loving support
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      Awwwww…..what a tough thing. Oh, but what wonderful things to celebrate–grand children and getting to BE with the ones you truly love. G-d is good! Staying focused on our blessings is sometimes hard to do when you’re in the midst of the storm. And while we don’t do that perfectly, you seem to have a good handle on what well and truly matters to you in your life.

      Thank you for sharing here. It not only helps Bill, but every one who lands here and has a read.

      *hugs*
      All the best to you and yours, Beatrice.
      I’ll hope for more wondrous moments for you in this new year!

  3. Nita says:

    Hello. My name is Nita. I read your blogs everyday and always leave your website looking forward to reading tomorrow’s blog. Today’s struck me a little odd….I guess I never thought anyone could or would be mean spirited over words you share with us in your blog. I read but this is my first comment…I am not that good with words and I didnt want to post a statment that . I spell words wrong, only went thru high school for my education so I havent felt I could add much to your blog.

    Your blog gives me so much to think about. I throughly enjoy your insight and feelings. Thank you.

    Hello Nita and welcome to the blog. I thank you for your visits and for taking the time to leave this comment. My only thought is that anyone that leave a mean spirited comment is a troubled person or at least has a very troubled life. and that is sad.
    Nita, I read and APPRECIATE comments, it tells me people are out there reading my ramblings and that makes this all worth while. you say you do not want to leave a comment that: “had no merit or profound meaning”. I struggle understanding the reaction to the blog I suppose for that same reason. I have to point out I never put any planning into my posts, I don’t edit them, when I remember I do use spell checker but that is it. I have my routine, I say a little prayer asking for guidance in finding the words that may help someone out there/anyone out there and I just go to it. I do try to write from the heart but it is what ever comes out and up it goes as my post.
    Just hearing from you, knowing you care enough to leave a message, any meaage is all I ask. Please don’t worry about being “wise”, about spelling or grammar. your thoughts what ever they may be are all I care about. I do hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      (((((((( Nita )))))))))

      Bless your heart!
      Sometimes there’s this ‘wondering’ that happens when you see the numbers of hits here (399,057 hits)–and Bill has a tough time wrapping his head around the wonder of people really reading and benefiting from what he shares. You read–you know. LOL 😉
      You took that leap and let him know it matters.
      BLESS your heart.

      Thank you for that.
      And you’re always welcomed here–ALWAYS. 🙂

  4. Mel says:

    Love the people who treat you right.
    Pray for the ones who don’t.

    I’m all about that one!
    And I’m very proud of you to not lose sleep over someone else’s garbage, sir! Well done.

    I’ve always appreciated your sense of responsibility to those of us who frequent here. This is a safe place for all who visit, a place to speak your heart and to rest knowing it’s really ‘okay’ and appreciated that you do that.
    So thank you for that. Truly. Some places I’ve wandered into seem to not only attract, but promote mean spirited comments. I’m not one for meanness–people can say what they mean without saying it mean. (abject lesson for me who used to believe I was ‘entitled’ to say what I thought with no regard to another person’s feeling–so I ‘get’ that haughty sense of ‘entitlement’–)
    I HUGELY appreciate the commitment to making and keeping this a safe place for all who visit here.

    And I really AM proud for you to not let the comment live ‘rent free’ in your head–and instead using it as a measuring tool to SEE the growth in you.
    WELL done! 🙂

    Hey Mel, there was a time when I would have let a comment like that “live rent free” in my head for who knows how long. It is just not worth the time or effort to allow it to spoil my mood/day or what ever. It is very odd for me to even be up like that in the middle of the night, never mind bothering at that time to check the computer but for what ever reason I did.
    You have been here with me “forever” and know it is important to me to keep this as a “safe haven” for any and all that stop by. I want all to be able to feel safe and secure sharing even their inner most thoughts.

  5. rangewriter says:

    The beauty of your blog is your incredible, fearless honesty. If your former reader is so married to grammar & punctuation he/she has completely missed the point of communication. And if this person was a fully formed individual, s-he would have simply stopped following you, no explanation or harassment needed. Kudos to you for turning a negative into a positive! Write on.

    Thank you my friend. Strange as this may sound I am actually sort of glad I got it. It helps me to see how much I have been able to grow as a person.

Leave a Reply

