Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Message from beyond??


Our minds are simply amazing, capable of so very much. Capable of things far beyond even our own imaginations. Great limitations are put on our minds by the simple fact we are human. Being human we seem to have the great need to be able to rationalize and understand EVERYTHING. I mean doesn’t there have to be a rational explanation for everything.

Well, please explain or help me to understand this.

Vi’s mum Nellie passed over several months back. Nellie was taken back to Thompson for the funeral. The family was gone for 5 or 6 days. I can’t remember the exact date but it was within a week or so of their return and Vi’s sister Deb was spending the night with us. There were tears and there were laughs as the two sisters comforted each other. Through that time I am not sure how many times Vi’s said she just wished she could have a sign that her mum was OK.

Now to set the scene you have to know in our bedroom there is lamp  on each side of the bed, each has one of those tri light bulbs, 3 levels of brightness.

The evening came to an end and we are all heading off to bed. As Vi and I entered the bedroom, the lamp on my side was on but at the lowest brightness level. We have just entered the room and are 10 or 12 feet away from the light. Suddenly on its own the light flicked up through the brightness levels. Low medium, high and it did it 3 or 4 times, low, medium, hight – low, medium, high and then it just stop back on the low level where it had been. Now Deb was in the hallway and saw the flashing lights. Have never had anything like that happen before nor since. My human mind wants to explain it away but I am left feeling it was more. What do you think?

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Message from beyond??

  1. Emily says:

    Dear Bill
    I stumbled across your blog whilst researching for my novel and I’ve got to say its the most honest and thought provoking thing I’ve found on the whole net on the subject so I wanted to thank you and say that you are a true inspiration. Best wishes and happy new year. Emily

    Hi Emily, welcome to the blog. I am glad you stumbled in. I thank you for your kind comment. I wish you well with your novel. If I can offer any assistance please don’t be shy about asking.
    Bill

  2. Mel says:

    Well, you know me Bill.

    Vi asked. Nellie answered.
    What a gift to give her daughter who misses her sorely.

    🙂

    Oh, I’m sure there would be some who’d explain it away by an electrical surge or some faulty piece of wiring–all that could be, I guess.
    Personally–I hope the gals are finding peace with the flashing and blinking of brightness that was offered up to them.

    Hey Mel. as is so often the case it seems our thinking is in line. Of course it could be explained away as a power surge, or some sort of electrical short. Possibly that could very well be the cause we will never know. It is just that anything like that had never happen before and hasn’t since. I also think of the timing of the event. The evening had been spent I suppose memorializing Nellie. Very emotional, many tears, many laughs, shared stories, It was as good as an evening like that could be. Many times it was expressed that “I just wish I could know she is OK”. It was immediately following that, that we got the “light show”.
    I believe it was a message.
    Mel, thank you for responding to this post. I knew that the topic is sort of “off the wall” and wasn’t sure I would here from anyone

  3. Laura says:

    Hi Bill, this is a bit off topic, but have been wanting to leave a reply for a while now. I’m 22 years old and have spend the majority of the past 2 years stuck at home mostly in bed (am attempting to study full time anyway) due to some debilitating mystery illness which they now think is Fibroyalgia. With constant pain, and nausea to name a few, I’m afraid I’ve found it difficult not to feel sorry for myself watching all the other people my age enjoy life. I found your blog randomly a few months ago and have found you to be such an inspiration, and have made me feel very guilty for feeling sorry for myself at all. You are such a strong, good-hearted person, and am sorry to hear of the passing of Nelli. I wish you and your wife long life and happiness. Much love from South Africa

    Hello Laura, welcome to the blog and thank you for your comment. As others have been pointing out to me recently a self pity party is something we are allowed every now and again. I had a head ache for 6 months, it was driving me wonky. I can’t imagine 2 years of pain. I say way to go to you for carrying on with your studies. What are your doctor’s saying? What are they doing for pain management?
    For me, I have found blogging, journallying to be a great help. Please know you are welcome here as often as you like share what you like, cry if you need to, get angry and vent. What ever you need to do, many are here to support you in anyway we can.
    Bill

  4. Deb says:

    Hi Bill, A bit after the fact, but I just discovered your blog and have been reading through posts. My next door neighbours were an elderly couple. He was in hospice, but promised her that if he could he would signal in some way that he was safe on the other side.

    She came to me the next morning with a little flashlight in her hands. He had passed just after midnight, and a friend had brought her home. They had been packing up some items when his condition had worsened, and the box was still sitting on the hall table in the foyer. In it was a small flashlight, burning brightly. She was puzzled, and her first instinct was to pick it up and turn it off, but it wouldn’t turn off. Off or on the light stayed on.

    Then she opened the side because she remembered her husband said something about removing the batteries before storing it, so there was no danger of them leaking. There were no batteries in the flashlight, and it was not solar powered. She said she then realized the light was his signal, and she sat with it in her hands the rest of the night, that little flashlight burning all night long. And, as the sun came through the windows at dawn the light faded and went out.

    It was a great comfort to her.

    Peace,

Leave a Reply

