Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Earth Angels


Had what I suppose you would call excitement a few days back. I was up about 6:30am and while making coffee I could see out the back window that the garage door was open and the interior light was on. Out came my friend Mr. baseball bat and I did the “Bill run” to the garage. I seem to keep forgetting my physical limitations and when I think of it, it must have looked kind of funny.  First off my run is more like a moderate paced walk for most. It was obvious someone had broken into the garage. The garage is about 30 feet from the house and by the time I had finished that marathon dash I was so puffed out I had to sit down to catch my breath. But I had Mr bat at the ready. I catch my breath, go into the garage. No one was in there, but they had been. They had been in the car and had stolen our GPS and a pair of Vi’s glasses.

I phoned the police, filled the report and all that. Then I discovered that several of the garages of some of our neighbors had been spray painted with seemingly meaningless letters. I just don’t get it. Ours is a very nice neighborhood and things like this just don’t happen.

Now if the story ended here, it could be almost like a poor Vi and Bill, but this is really just the beginning.

How many times have I written that the world is just full of kind, good-hearted wonderful people. I have written of how I believe that at any point in time about 90% of the earths populations is made up of good, kind hard-working people, doing the best they can to live their lives in the best way they can. Another 5% of the population are what I call Earth Angels. By my definitions Earth Angels are those that you know will always be first in line to lend a helping hand where needed. They go above and beyond, see something that needs doing and just goes ahead and does it, even if it is beyond the scope of their immediate lives. Well, that leaves the remaining 5% which I just call the jerks. Now life is tricky as the lines between those “groups” can blur. Depending on the situation we can all jumping from grouping to grouping at any given time.

Now, I have said all of this before but there are some things that just can’t be repeated often enough. Earth Angels are everywhere. those that are willing to reach out of the little box in which we contain our own lives and extend a helping hand. They do this not because they have to but they want to.

Now this all has been brought to mind by the actions of 2 ladies that live here on our street.

I want to both acknowledge and thank them.

Now first there is Eda. About 5 or 6 years ago, Eda with anther lady Heather established a community watch program for our area. Now this is a gathering of neighbors to yes discuss problems in the area but even more importantly to discuss and implement plans to improve the neighborhood. It is amazing all that they have accomplished. Neighbors banding together for the betterment of all. These ladies didn’t have to step forward and set up this organization, there were no expectations of them, they just chose to do so as they saw a need and we willing to act on it. All I can say to that is great job and thank you, the  Robertson-Mynarski Residents Association has benefited us all greatly.

Now let’s go back to the break-in/theft. unknown to me at the time, another neighbor, Magda (the next morning) happened to pull out of her own garage, she could see the graffiti and realized there had been mischief going on. She was also observant enough to notice a small pile of ” booty” lying on the ground. Included in which was guess what? A GPS!!! She then even put forth a good effort to locate the owners of the items. This effort included contacting the Robertson-Mynarski Residents Association. Eda then sent out an email to all members. I get the email and am able to retrieve the GPS. We thank you Magda.

This just proves to me again. The world is full of wonderful people and it is so easy for us to lose sight of that fact as usually all we read about or hear about are those in the jerk section. Caring acts, big or small all contribute to making this a better world. We see the benefits of a neighborhood banding together. How can we spread that cooperation/togtherness further?

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Earth Angels

  1. Noel says:

    I am glad you maintain your positive attitude in spite of the circumstances. Thank you for sharing.
    Hi Noel, I thank you so very much for your ongoing support
    Bill

  2. Betty says:

    Three cheers for Magda and your neighbourhood watch program. Sounds like you have wonderful and concerned neighbours.

    Now Bill…. please try and stay in the house with Mr. Bat when you suspect trouble. The jerk(s) could have had something more dangerous than your weapon of choice. I understand how you felt and why you reacted. My husband entered our burglarized house with a staple gun for protection. This was years back and I don’t think he will ever do that again.

    Thank you to the Earth Angels for all that they do.
    thank you Betty and three cheers for all the good neighbors. You might be right on the baseball bat thing. I just never really gave it any thought at the time. I just saw that someone was in the garage or at least had been, i just grabbed the bat and was on the “run”. Hmm, a staple gun, I never thought of that one. I will have to keep on at the back door. I understand your husbands reaction, we want to protect what is ours.
    Bill

  3. Magda says:

    Hi Bill,
    Thank you for your kind words; I only did what I would want someone else to do for me.
    Bill, thank you for openly sharing your experiences with us. Your strength of character shines through and is trully inspiring to Richard and I. We wish you continued strength and positive attitude. Let’s get together at the community meeting to ponder more crime prevention strategies.
    Cheers

    Hi Magda, the fact of the matter is that you did do something. You took the time out of your own day first to retrieve those items and then the time you put into locating the owners. We thank you.
    Your words: “I only did what I would want someone else to do for me.” are words we could all live our lives by.
    We are both glad to have neighbors such as Richard and yourself.
    thanks again
    Bill

  4. Robertson-Mynarski Residents says:

    Hi Bill,

    You are an inspiration with your positive attitude and honest writing. It is wonderful what neighbors can do as a community, isn’t it?

    Eda
    Hi Eda, thanks for stopping by and thank you to your entire group. You have done a lot for the neighborhood.
    Bill

  5. I want to move to your neighborhood!

    come on over, it is a great place to live

  6. Mel says:

    Oy……..with the bat AGAIN?! *shaking head* G-d love ya, Bill….but put the bat away and dial 911…….please?! As it was so lovingly pointed out to you–had they still be in the garage……I shudder to think…….

    I’m very, very, VERY glad that this has turned out so well–and yes, thank goodness for communities like yours. Looking out for each other oughta be the norm. I’m glad it’s that way for you and Vi. The world could use more ‘community’, period.

    My thanks to those folks who are invested in their neighbors and their neighborhoods. And to G-d for taking such good care of you.

    *hugs*
    Put the Louise-ville slugger to rest. Isn’t there a grandchild who would enjoy that sucker as it was meant to be enjoyed??!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

