Dying Man’s Daily Journal – HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY


Today is a special day set aside to honor the beloved mother’s of the world.

I am just thinking that it is good that we do have a special day set aside for this specific purpose. In theory it could be said that every day should be a day in which we honor our mothers and fathers. Reality is though that and it is as it should be and is meant to be, our own lives take over as we raise our own families. Parents to varying degrees are pushed to the side line. As I said that is the natural order of things and how it should be.

So, with our lives being as busy as they are, we take one day of the year to honor mothers and another for fathers. In that way we can make sure we at least fit it in somewhere.

I look back and realize I am very guilty of the same thing I am sure many of you are. Most of my adult life I spent living in different towns or cities that was my mother. I realize I lost sight of the true meaning of the day. I feel kind of guilty just saying this but it seemed mothers day some how became just another day. But a day in which I felt obligated to make a phone call, wishing her a happy day. It was sort of like make the call and then, there that is done for another year, so now let’s get on with my day.

Oh, there were times when I was able to actually spend the day with her. Even those times I would give her some small gift, a hug and wish her the appropriate wishes. I realize now that was all done more out of a sense of obligation. That is what is expected but without the appropriate feelings and meaning behind it.

Now, don’t take me wrong, I loved my mother very very much. I had huge respect for her and was so very appreciative of her and having her in my life. I realize that some how I had become just taking her being there for granted. I don’t have any idea of how many times there were when I could have called or even visited and didn’t. Why because it was not a convenient moment for me and there was always tomorrow or next week…… I am sure there were times when I was just too tired or even just didn’t feel like it, there is always tomorrow.

Suddenly reality hit me smack in the face. (wow it is 21 years ago). I got that much dreaded phone call, she had passed over and there were no more tomorrows. You are hit by the lose and then the regrets. So many missed visits, so many missed phone calls, so many wasted opportunities to spend time with her. If I had but known what lay in the future do you think I would still have been too tired to make that call/visit. No I wouldn’t have, oh would my priorities have been different. This same thought can apply to all family and everyone in our lives. Can you relate to what I am saying in anyway.

Vi’s mother Nellie is still in the hospital. Today I am going to make a special trip to visit her. I am going alone so for that short while it will be just her and I. I am going to take a simple card with me. No it will not be a mother’s day card, no it will not be a get well card, those wishes I will express in person. The card I am going to take is a simple thank you card. It is to thank Nellie to giving birth to Vi those years back. I think that is an appropriate message for Mother’s day.

2 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

  1. Mel says:

    (((((((( Bill ))))))))))
    I’m hoping that visit with Nellie was a good one.
    Frankly, a simple thank you card with that message would make me bawl like a baby.
    But it would be a good cry.

    You’re a good man, Bill.
    And a loving man.

    It don’t get no better than that.

  2. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Ditto what Mel said. ” A mother is not a person to only lean on. She is the person that makes leaning unnecessary.” Says it all I think.
    Praying for you, Wiseman.
    Irene

Leave a Reply

