Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Taking others for granted.


We all know we shouldn’t but we all  do take other people  for granted. We do this in many ways but one of them is just taking it for granted they will always be there for us when we need them. This past week or so has really been a stark reminder of how we should never do that. Vi’s mum Nellie gave us all a real scare. My last few posts have been about how she is 86 and last week took a fall breaking her sit bone. Complications while in the hospital delirium, pneumonia all sort of things left all thinking she may not be long for this world. Thankfully she bounced back from it all and while still in a lot of pain is on the mend.

Overall, Nellie is not in great health and I think back and for the past 4 or 5 Christmases. because of her overall health there was always talk of making it special for her as it would likely be her last. She is a tough cookie that old girl, here she is after all is said and done and still going. Her health has been talked and talked about and yet still when she goes to the hospital everyone is in panic mode. You would think by now you would be at least some what prepared. I don’t think we ever are really prepared, we can say we are, we even think we are but all that seems to be forgotten at the moment.

Seeing her laying there breathing all rattlely and then hearing congestive heart failure shook me up wondering if that is what I will be looking like and struggling to breath. I say I am prepared for what lies ahead, I do believe I am, I feel I am. Am I going to be hit with that last minute panic when my turn arrives, I hope not.

I realize as does I think everyone else, we all know of Nellie’s health and yet it is just taken for granted she will always be there. When it really does hit you that she/he/they will not makes you think and appreciate them more. Any one in your life you are just taking for granted in this or any other way.

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Taking others for granted.

  1. babychaos says:

    Very wise words. I sincerely hope I don’t take anyone for granted but you’re right, it’s very easy to do and most times I’m guilty I don’t even realise what I’m doing.

    Cheers

    BC

  2. Noel says:

    Yes, we take others for granted. We tend to simply live as if there is no end. When people are about to leave us, that is when we reflect more about life, and take care of others more.

  3. Mel says:

    Moments happen and that person, that moment gets our attention and I’d guess we make some adjustments to our ‘filter’–……and then life happens….time and life. I’m pretty sure it’s very human of us to walk through the day and not treat it (and the people in it) for the gift they are.

    Try as I might (to focus on ‘not taking things for granted’) I’m sure I don’t do the day/the people justice. I know it’s good to celebrate the glory in each of us, every day. And I know I won’t do that perfectly. I just wish I could……

  4. Jo Hart says:

    We can all be guilty of this, I am the first to put my hand up and say that definately over the past 3 years I have taken many people, experiences in life and even the day to day “I am breathing” for granted… I myself are trying to take it back to “simple” and start smelling all the roses, and appreciate everyone in my life…. So glad to hear Nellie is doing well again.

  5. lypenner says:

    Hi Bill. I thought of you and Vi yesterday as I listened to one of my favorite radio shows called “On Being”. It is a show about faith and meaning, and this episode was called “Contemplating Mortality”. I think you two would love it. It’s hopeful and insightful about the meaning found in dying. If you go to this website and click on “Listen Now”, you should be able to listen to it on the Internet.
    Anyways, thinking of you. -Lydia
    http://being.publicradio.org/programs/2012/contemplating-mortality/

Leave a Reply

