Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Hard on the families


Since I started this blog I have mostly been able to share my thoughts and feelings from the patients point of view. I am not sure how many times it has been but many many times I have said I beleive it is hardest on the families. With 5 heart attacks, open heart surgery with numerous trips to emergency. Now in all of these events I was the “star” the main character with all attention being directed towards me. Vi is pushed to a waiting room while I am assessed and they get control of pain…… during that time I at least know what is happening. Often I have been given a shot of some sort of happy juice to make me nice and relaxed.

Out in the waiting room Vi is a bundle of nerves not knowing my condition, what is happening or really anything. That is so very much harder.

With Vi’s mother in the hospital, I am now on the other side of the table. The waiting, the not knowing, the wishing to be able to do something. You want the best for the patient but really aren’t even such what that is. All that waiting and not knowing.

Now Nellie is 86 years old, blind and virtually deaf. She can’t see what is going on around her and can hear very little leaving her feeling very isolated and alone. A family member is with her as much as possible.

Man, longer post planned hospital just call have to go, prayers please

5 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Hard on the families

  1. NCRGlory says:

    Interesting…

  2. Betty says:

    With caring thoughts I wish Nellie well. I know from recent experience how difficult it is to receive those urgent phone calls, rush to a loved one’s side, with only hand holding and kisses to let her know I am there….I speak of my late Mother. I felt so helpless. A wonderful nurse helped me cope for whatever was to come, and encouraged me to believe my Mother knew I was with her as that was so important to me, and I know it was to my Mom also. My prayers are now for Nellie…with comforting thought to Vi, you Bill, and all the rest of the family.

  3. babychaos says:

    Thinking of you. It must be very difficult for you both.

  4. Mel says:

    (((((((( Bill and Vi ))))))))))

    Thinking of you–and sending thoughts and prayers for everyone.

  5. sherry says:

    Thinking of you, Vi and Nellie. I hope everything is okay.

Leave a Reply

