Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Being human


Something has just jumped up and become so very clear to me. I am sure this applies to the vast majority of us when I say, We are our own worst enemies. Now I think that little tidbit of information is something we all have rattling arround in the back of our heads somewhere. We may even see it and recognize it in ourselves. Now I don’t have any worst enemies or there is no one in this earthly world of ours that I consider as such. But let’s consider that I did. Now I imagine my thoughts and feelings towards that person would be pretty negative. I can speak from experience here as I know I have gone through this sort of thing in the past.

Now what could have put this person into the “enemy” category to begin with. Maybe we felt things like: they are too demanding, too critical, uncaring, impatient………. that could be an almost endless  list. What do we wish, that, that person would change their behavior. I mean my life would be so much better is he/she would only……. Why is it we can so easily see our perceived “flaws” in others and just know how they “must” change. One thing I have learned is that other people are other people and we have to accept them for whom they are. Some we chose to keep  in our lives and others we must pass by.

Now if we have our “enemy” list wouldn’t it we wise to start with who ever is #1 on that list. Oh geesh, for me anyway that is myself, now what to do. I can expect other “enemies” to change their attitudes or behaviors so shouldn’t I expect my #1 enemy to at least be working on changing. Man, I keep forgetting that #1 enemy is me, myself. Geesh, does that mean I have to make changes within myself? Yes it does. Negativity from others can impact on us greatly. Negativity coming from within ourselves about ourselves can be mind boggling, energy draining and soul crushing. We need to let it go. What is the negativity we carry about ourselves. It is just a collection of thoughts and thoughts can be changed. It requires time and work.It is ne of those things that the more you put into it the more you get back. Are you at least working on it, in your life?

I believe that God, see us and recognizes us as being mere humans, with all the short comings that come with being human. Seeing us as humans, does He expect us to be perfect? I don’t believe so. What I do believe is that He does expect us to keep trying. What do you think?

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Being human

  1. souldipper says:

    Perfection is another disease in my opinion. If it’s true that we are “chunks of God” existing for the purpose of experiencing the physical life and all its ups and downs so we can be more spiritual, then we are doing it perfectly! However I have to watch my expectations and look at them once my wounded feelings stop stinging. Almost always, I have wanted them to do it differently.

    ANY time I want things other than what IS, I’m in control mode and need to cool my jets.

  2. Noel says:

    Words of wisdom! Changing ourselves is the first step. And yes I agree, I am my worst enemy also.

  3. Deric says:

    Perfection in some things we do or moments we have can be accomplished, but not becoming wholly perfect in this life; only Christ has accomplished that. “Though we are incomplete, God loves us completely. Though we are imperfect, He loves us perfectly. Though we may feel lost and without compass, God’s love encompasses us completely; we are all His children.” – Dieter Uchtdorf 2009

    http://www.lds.org/general-conference/2009/10/the-love-of-god?lang=eng

  4. rococonnor says:

    Like the comparison, of how we would wish an enemy to behave, and even say or do something to change it, and how we continue to believe our inner enemy and do nothing to change its behaviour. A light of insight just got brighter from this breath of spirit.
    I think I’m going to have to deal directly, from now on.
    Amazing blog, thank-you.

Leave a Reply

