Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Help Me Celebrate life


I remember back years ago my mother saying that when I had been vaccinated they must have used a gramophone needle. Why? because i always have so much to say about everything. I look at the blog here and realize she may have been right. Geesh, do I seem to like to ramble. Here we are this is post #998.I look at that number and just sort of shake my head in awe or wonder or something.

I am looking for ideas, thoughts, feed back.I would like to make #1,000 special. Now when i say special I don’t even really know what i mean by that. That is where I am looking for suggestions. Some how I would like to make it like a celebration of life. Your life, my life, the lives of everyone that has ever touched the blog in anyway. Celebrate life in general.

That post likely won’t come for about a week or so as I will be gone from the computer for the next 2 or 3 days. Please help me out here with you thoughts and ideas.

10 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Help Me Celebrate life

  1. Deric Glissmeyer says:

    List the top 20 things you’ve enjoyed, learned, felt over the 4 1/2 years you’ve been writing this and EXCEEDING your doctors’ prognosis! 🙂

  2. lypenner says:

    How about a top 10 list of some kind – like the top 10 ways this blog has helped you the most. Or the top 10 things you’ve learned that you didn’t expect to learn at the outset. I’m sure whatever your reflections are, that gratitude will be the #1 feeling underneath it all. Happy reflections Bill. Whatever you write about, I’ll celebrate with you!

  3. Mel says:

    Woohooooooo for post 1,000!! I’m sure it’ll be just as awesome and appreciated as the 999 before.

    I rather like the suggestions given already.
    Whoda known you’d be so graced when the doc handed you the diagnosis and prognosis. We’re all graced, truth be told, as evidenced by all THIS.

    You have suggestions for lists of 20 and 10.
    I’d make you work harder and go for 100. LOLOL

    (that’s only cuz we all know I’m the greedy kind!) 😉

  4. Betty says:

    Just thinking……….How about listing the most wonderful and positive things that have happened in your life personally since the time you were given your diagnosis. I’m sure there are many.

  5. Laura says:

    Dear Bill
    I have kept your article from the Winnipeg Free press since it was published on January 12, 2007. My father also had congestive heart failure. I did not have enough courage at the time to look up your journal as I thought it would be too close to home. I wish you the best of luck in your journaling as you hit post 1000 and beyond.
    Laura

  6. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill .. love your thoughts and the ideas that they others have had .. amazing that you’re clocking up 1,000 posts … congratulations ..

    I’ve learnt a lot from being here and reading for the past 5 months or so … especially the loneliness of the last journey – appreciate that POV – Meg’s I think, though I’m sure you’d thought of it too .. I relate to being a daughter at a Nursing Centre for 5 years in Feb .. so I am thinking of others there too …

    I’ll catch posts 999 and 1,000 – incredible .. with a big hug – and lots of thoughts to you and Vi .. cheers Hilary

  7. rangewriter says:

    Wow. And I thought it was a big deal to pass the 100 mark post! Congrats to you. I agree with what others have suggested about listing the things you’ve learned or been surprised about in the process of blogging….and or, well…dying. Why is that word so hard to SAY….or WRITE?

    I tell you what, if Blogging has had anything to do with your longevity, I’m gonna keep after it forever!

  8. Betty says:

    Hi Bill……Just checking in. Hope all is well.

  9. Lenore Diane says:

    I like the idea of a top-10 list. Most meaningful moments from the time you started this blog through today. What has surprised you about this blog?

    I look forward to reading your 1000th post. Congratulations!

  10. souldipper says:

    1,000 – boy that’s been an accomplishment. Some time ago, I went to your first post. Your opening sentence was, “I read it is good (to) make a list of the 10 things I would like to do before I die.”

    I’d love to hear about how you did all of those 10 things – it seems to me you’ve done some more than once!

    I hope this pause is because you are busily writing!

Leave a Reply

