Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Christmas


I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and are having a joyous love filled festive holiday season.

Huh, a thought just hit me as I am sitting here. As Christians we see Christmas as a very special time. It is to mark the birth of Baby Jesus. Sadly, the reason for the occasion seems to be lost on many but that is not my thought right here. It is a traditional celebration through which we put up with and even “battle” the crowds in the various shopping centers searching for that just right gift. OK finally to my thought. What is you are a follower of one of the other Great Faiths. I don’t know this but I imagine to some Dec. 25 is just a regular day. I am trying to imagine their frustration levels as they put up with the crowds in the stores. Never thought of that before.

Had a quiet but very good Christmas. Vi worked Christmas day so I was home alone for most of it. Went over to Vi’s mum’s for the big traditional meal at about 5:00, delicious. They say you “better watch out” you know the carol, santa is always watching to see if we are being good or bad. I think I must have fooled him as he was indeed very good to me.

Our festive celebration part was actually on boxing day. Daughter Shauna, hubby Jake came with Shauna carrying my very young grandchild. Now this grandchild is so young Shauna is still actually carrying him/her in her tummy. We were joined by friends Bruce and lily with their daughter Amanda. It was a very special time. The meal Vi prepare was delicious as always with there being enough food to feed about 20 extra people.

I have started on a couple of extra posts, the deep feelings kind. Will try to get them up shortly.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Christmas

  1. rangewriter says:

    I suspect those who do not participate in Christmas or Santa Claus avoid the stores like the plague from November through early January.

    Glad you had a nice holiday Bill. Looking forward to those “brewing” posts.

  2. I am glad you had a good Christmas. From my experience living in non Christian countries there is still a shopping frenzy.. you have to go a long way to escape consumerism!

  3. Betty says:

    So happy to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas. Love, joy, family, friends, and lots of food….what a wonderful way to celebrate the birth of Jesus. We celebrated Christmas Eve at our home…..again with love, joy and family. Out of the group of 17 there were 4 children under the age of 5. Children make celebrations so special, until after the family gift exchange was over and the kiddos started a wrapping paper fight…the noise was overwhelming, so what do I do…..I began to sing Silent Night. Ahhh silence, for about a minute (lol). Christmas day we enjoyed brunch at our daughter and son-in-laws home….only 2 children under 5 and much quieter.

    Wishing you, Vi and your family a wonderful 2012. How can it not be with the upcoming birth of another grandchild.

    Also, a special Happy New Year to all of the Bill Howdle blogging gang.

  4. Mel says:

    Awwww……..thanks Betty!! And a Joyous New Year to you and all of us!!

    Bill–Those other faiths are out there trying to avoid the rushing about (well, I was anyway cuz I dislike shopping! LOL HUGELY), but enjoying the festive colours and sounds and attitudes of the season.
    And there’s a plethora of holidays that happen in the winter season for those of other faiths–folks kinda ‘go with it’. Leastwise that’s been my experience. The attitude that happens is sorta catching (as it should be!!).

    I’m glad you had an awesome holiday–how could ya not when you’re surrounded by all that?! 🙂
    Do we know if the new grandchild is a him or her yet? Working on booties in your spare time? 😉

    It’s a GOOD day!! Sun’s painted a very beautiful sky. AND I got to hear from you.

    (((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))

    In case you don’t get back at it before the New Year–abundant blessing to you and yours, sir. Happy, Joyous, Wondrous New Year!!

Leave a Reply

