Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Ease the loneliness of dying


Yesterday was a very special day for me. Other than with family members there have only been 2 or 3 times when I have been able to actually talk to another member of our little “blogging family”. Meg a relatively new member to our little group contacted me via Skype. We chatted for something like an hour. Vi even joined in for a short while. Meg,  I thank  you so very much, I enjoyed or chat, plus I learned and benefited greatly from it. I do look forward to actually chatting again.

Something really struck me in our conversation. Meg is on the final leg of her Earthly journey as am I. Our ailments are totally different and I can’t begin to relate to the horrors she is facing in her final battle with cancer. In our conversation though, that didn’t matter. We were able to relate on a very personal level sharing thoughts and feelings about knowing we are both in the final leg of this Earthly journey. We were able to share thoughts and feelings that I don’t think really anyone else could understand completely unless you are in our circumstance.

This whole dying experience gives you a very lonely feeling. You can be, as I am surrounded by kind loving supportive people and i do appreciate that so very very much. It is just try as they may they just can’t really understand what it is like. For that you need to talk to someone in a similar situation. Does that make sense?

That is the main reason I set up the chat room such as it is. I hope it to be a venue where people on this lonely journey can go meet others and chat. Chat with an understanding of this lonely journey. The chat could be about anything, sharing our deepest thoughts and feelings or talking about the weather. The topic doesn’t matter as much as it is a way for people to connect. What do you think?

Hey now that I have this Skype thing figured out. If anyone else would like to chat, let me know and we can try to work something out.

Remember what tomorrow is? It is my birthday, do you have my gift? Please sign in tomorrow and let me know. Please join me in the chat room. I will try to be sure and be on line between 9:00-10:00am and then again 9:00-10:00pm. See you there.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Ease the loneliness of dying

  1. ogwyze says:

    Hi, Best of luck on your journey and I hope it was filled with enjoyment and delight. Stay strong on the path you choose and I do sincerely hope things work out for the best. I’ve always enjoyed being able to relate with others through conversation. Take care and best wishes.
    http://ogwyze.wordpress.com/

  2. Lenore Diane says:

    I am so glad you had a nice conversation with Meg. I know she appreciates your company, as you hers. I assume I have an idea about the loneliness you describe, at least it makes sense to me – what you said.
    I admire your courage, Bill. I appreciate you sharing your story with us. Thank you. You are making a difference.

    • Maggie says:

      Hello there, cousin Bill,
      Happy birthday!!! Wishing you a wonderful day and lots of love from family & friends. Your birthday wish – for random acts of kindness – is such a good idea. In a way it reminds me of one of Elvis’s songs, “Why can’t everyday be like Christmas.” If we all lived our lives in this way, how much happier we would all be, both the giver and the recipient, and what a better world it would be. Talk to you soon, Bill, and once again, many birthday blessings from your cousin Maggie.

  3. Mel says:

    This made me cry. For a host of reasons.

    I’m so very, very grateful that G-d crossed your path with so many wondrous souls.

    Hi Mel, I am grateful for the same thing. I have truly been blessed to have met so many wonderful people here on the blog. You my friend are one of the blessings.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

