Dying Man’s Daily Journal – All are welcome, please


We are having more remodeling done, replacing the outer doors of the house. The opening for the front door is an irregular size which is causing extra work for the guys putting them in. I really do appreciate all the effort and extra work being done. I really don’t imagine they will ever see this but hello and thank you to Don, Glen and John.

I am gong to keep this short as I want to get over to try and acknowledge directly the wonderful comments.

What is this blog? It is me sharing the final part of my earthly journey. I share my thought, Ideas and feelings such as they are. I am so glad Meg has joined in with our little family here, sharing details of her thoughts, experiences and feelings as she travels this same journey. In the recent comments there have been suggestions that this is a meeting place for any and all travelling this journey. none of us need to be alone we can travel it together, helping and supporting each other as we go. Yes, I have heard the you are dying words and it sucks but I am not the only one that has heard them. I would hope that this blog can become so much more than just about me. I welcome all to join in sharing, comforting and supporting each other as we go.

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – All are welcome, please

  1. Mel says:

    ((((((( Bill ))))))))

    Yup–you’re the hub, we’re the spokes! 🙂

    <– one of the unruly, sticky outty pokey ones. 😉

    It's a great little community.
    Ever in your wildest dreams did you think 332,762 hits? Wow… Busy little community! 🙂

    Hi Mel, well if you are a spoke you are a very strong support for the axle. You are so right when I first started this never in my wildest dreams did I imagine this kind of a response for which I am so grateful. Also, never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would even still be here, another fact I am very very grateful for. How ever it was you happened accross the blog those many years back I am so thankful
    Bill

  2. rangewriter says:

    Bill I love your honest, clear-eyed approach. I must say, this whole dying thing is sort of new to me. But the longer I innocently live my life, the closer I know I am coming to the same reality that you are facing. By looking over your shoulder, perhaps I can prepare myself to accept those “you-are-dying” words with as much grace as you have.

    I thank you for the kind words and your ongoing support. I do hope I am helping, by having you and other sort of looking over my shoulder at the road ahead of me/us. Knowing we are going to die is the one thing that every single person on this planet has in common. Having something in common can be a bond that could bring us all together.
    Always nice to hear from you
    Bill

  3. souldipper says:

    I wonder – is it times of greatest love that make acceptance of death most difficult? Like someone doing or saying something that is so full of an intimacy shared that it’s memory stops the breath?

    Acceptance must come and go like waves. And there’s always that rogue wave that bashes the hell out anything trying to float. Your willingness to share so much of you and your life throughout the waves is an amazing gift, Bill.

    Then, here you are bringing others to us whose acceptance has a different flavour. The common bond brings a comfort to each and every one of us. And it’s a reminder to live in gratitude.

  4. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill and Meg .. it’s interesting isn’t it – well for me .. it is .. at the Nursing Centre where my mother is with her strokes, in the next room is a lady with Parkinsons .. very nasty debilitating disease – and she was saying to me today .. it is very lonely – I agreed with her …. she loves hearing my throaty deep laugh – which I do quite often when I’m with my Mum – she can’t hear what we’re talking about .. but the fact there’s laughter and love emanating out of another room lifts her spirits.

    My mother doesn’t respond too much now but she knows what’s going on .. and as I said in my previous comment – I realise I need to spend more time with her. I’m quite gregarious .. so if she’s in a quiet mode I find it quite trying … I do stick around .. and she has visitors twice a day, which she appreciates – more than all the others …

    The thought of that solitude at the end or near the end .. certainly resonated quite loudly with me …

    Thanks Meg for raising the issue – with thanks to all .. and the very best to you … Hilary

Leave a Reply

