Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Words/Friends


Before drifting off to sleep  last night I spent some time laying there just thinking about the blog. Everything about the blog has been such a wonder, such a support for me.

I was thinking especially of the wonderful, kind and loving people I have met here. For the first time I am editing a post. I had started listing down the names of so many of my dear blogging friends, those that have come to mean so much to me and have helped and supported me through this time. I had quite a number of names listed and had gone on to the next paragraph. I was typing away when another name popped into my mind back I came and added it. After I had come back 3 or 4 times adding names each time, it came to me that I am “memory guy”. As I sit here like this there is no way I am going get anywhere near a complete list which would be unfair to the many I would miss.

Maybe I can just put it this way. I thank everyone that has helped and supported me through this journey, you know who you are and you will always  be in my heart. Please always remember every single comment no matter how short has helped me and I thank all. This is a message that is important for me to get out while and when I still can. As with everything in life, with each passing day we are a day closer to the end of the blog, which we all know will be sooner rather than later.

As I sit here thinking of all my blogging friends, Mel just sort of comes instantly to mind. She has become a dear friend another friend with whom I at times exchange emails. Now I see over in the site statistics section we now have a section that shows how many times individuals have graced us with their wisdom through a comment. Mel has bless me/us 214 times. Mel, you have been with me since almost the very beginning, I thank you so much, you have helped carry me through some pretty rough times. If you have never visited Mel’s site pop over and visit her, you will be so glad you did, it is wonderful.

It blows me away when I sit here and think about it. Here we all are, mostly a bunch of strangers. We have never met in person and realistically never will and we share words. Really that is it, nothing more we exchange words via the computer/internet. In one way when you think about it how much more impersonal could it get. Yet here we seem to have been able to make it all very personal, very loving and supportive. It is all in the power of the words we use and the way we use them.  Here we use our words to up lift, support and show compassion to these “strangers” we have met here on-line and it is wonderful. I am amazed and find it almost beyond belief. With this we see the power of our words. Now let’s just think about this for a moment. With in our own personal lives do we use our words in such a positive, loving and supportive way. If not, why not?  We see the power of words used in a loving supportive way. Can we use that ability in our regular lives?

13 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Words/Friends

  1. Carol says:

    Thank you for blessing us with your blog, Bill. What a gift! I have been studying the road map on this journey since my husband crossed over. I am anxious to see him again but I know I have work to do. With the following link you can see why I will not say “rest in peace” since I have learned more about the journey. Apparently, the afterlife is a very busy place! More LOVE to you and blessings to your family!
    http://grailforum.com/deathandbeyond/db_text_two.html

  2. rangewriter says:

    Again, Bill, you’ve offered us all a good life lesson. The power of words…we all know how to use them with kindness and compassion, but so many of our day-to-day exchanges lack that compassion. A very good point.

    Thank YOU for bringing us with you on your journey. For many of us, it is brand new and frightening territory, but your clear-eyed and honest observations help to demystify that which we will all face.

  3. Lenore Diane says:

    Bill, you started this blog in 2006, according to the archives. I’m a newbie…. having found your blog just a few months ago. After your post related to time and taking the time to comment, etc. I deliberately note each and every comment I receive and give. I appreciate you making me aware of that very fact.

    I’m sorry I found you so late – but I am grateful I found you. And, I am grateful for the opportunity to explore the archives. (smile)
    Thank you for this post, and spending time with us again.

  4. Noel says:

    Bill, I am deeply touched by this post. You are a very profound, kind person. Blogging has also been a special blessing to me. It is interesting that we, total strangers, can communicate to each other so easily, and will probably never meet each other in person. I also wish we could do this in person, but I believe that some day we will, maybe not in this life, but the next. Bill, thank you so much for being an inspiration for all of us. I hope we can continue to share thoughts, ideas, and experiences, until God decides to transport us to the next level. God bless you.

  5. Patti says:

    Thank you for your wonderful blog. You are a great person and blog friend. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

  6. Mel says:

    Oh geeze–you made me weepy.
    So much for this deal being just ‘words on a screen’, huh?

    This seems to be a familiar theme the past weeks–it continues to pop up all over the place. And I keep saying the same thing. HERE will never just be ‘words on a screen’ for me.
    I guess I’m just not made that way.
    I feel pretty graced to be surrounded by people HERE that feel and think the same way. It’s ALL been a good experience for me. And you, sir–have been a part of that.
    So, while I’m flattered you’d site me as an example I think sometimes you forget that this little community of awesome people have a hub. And that’s you. I cannot even begin to tell you the number of times I’ve dropped in (Gosh, you’ve been stuck with me since January of 2007 and it’s only been 214 times? LOL What are the odds of THAT being true?! EVERYone knows I’m always lurking around this joint!). How many times has the whole day’s outlook been shifted because of something you said, something someone said in kind……someone needing a prayer, someone sharing their heavy hearted grief or their overwhelming joy…these things CHANGED things in me. And as you well know there’s this chain reaction that happens.
    Do you have any idea of how many lives have been touched simply because I clicked, came, adjusted my perception, found gratitude, laughed a bit, wept a bit, extended myself to remind myself of what’s TRULY important……and then went into the day and gave some of that away?

    I’m just one person (a frequent flier and pesky lurker….LOL). Multiply your best guess by the number of ‘hits’ that have happened here……because THEY touch lives because of something that shifted in them from a visit here…….
    Can you start to grasp how many lives have been touched as a result of once click of the mouse?

    I love ya dearly, sir. And it’s well and truly *I* that humbly thanks YOU.
    Your presence, your words….the passion in which you share yourself and the decisions to continue to do that graces my life with a richness beyond measure.

    (((((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))))))

    You are so very, very loved. And we’re so very, very blessed to have you as our ‘hub’.

    *laughing* I’ll just continue to be one of the many ‘spokes’…….ya know–the sticky outty pieces that needles and pokes once in a while.
    😉

  7. Mel says:

    P.S. (like I wasn’t wordy enough?!) Rest. Please rest. PLEASE rest. That pneumonia/bronchitis stuff will kick your hindus endus if you don’t REST.

    Vi might too. 😀

    *done!*

  8. This is my first time to your site, Bill, and your writing is so clear that I feel I can join you at this point in your journey. Your archives are invaluable to me. My son’s mother-in-law is facing a small window of time according to the doctors due to stomach cancer. I keep feeling I should call her more often, but I am worried about tiring her out; your post helped me decide to keep calling and have her kids tell me if she is feeling up to talking. At least the love and energy will come her way. I will now keep track of you, Bill, and I thank you for being so willing to share your thoughts and feelings to help us as we help others or go through illness ourselves. I like this quote by Phyllis Bottome, “There are two ways of meeting difficulties. You alter the difficulties or you alter yourself to meet them.” It sounds like you have done some of both.

    hi Mary Lou and welcome to the blog. My thoughts and prayers go our to your son’s mother-in-law and family. I am very happy to have you join our little blogging family. Here the goal is for all to find loving support and comfort in any situation.
    I think you are right on both counts to keep calling but to let the kids decide if she is up to a conversation. Although that last one is tricky as the kids may well be in protective mode (understandably) and want her to just rest. All you can do is your best, maybe ask the kids to just mention to her that you called. She will then know she is in your heart and thoughts.
    Look forward to hearing more from you.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      Oh, I like that quote muchly, Mary Lou. Thank you for sharing it. And welcome to Bill’s place.

      Hard times…it’s tough to sit in the position of ‘do I/don’t I’. But I agree with Bill…..you make the effort in love and find an okayness with the answer. Hopefully the message of your desire to connect gets to her–those sometimes mean as much as a visit itself.

      Take care of you–I’ll send peacefilled thoughts to the mom and the family.
      *hugs*

      • Hi, Mel!
        I picture you side-by-side with Bill since you have been such a prolific e-partner with him. Thanks for sharing some of that energy with me.

        I called Helen and Bud after reading your comments and Bill’s, and it went great. Thank you, thank you!

        I hope this Monday brings you a fresh start for something you are working on!

        Hugs back to you!

    • Hi, Bill!
      I hope you’re feeling well enough today that you can take some deep breaths that pour into you so you can feel the universe of love we are sending to you. By “we” I mean all of us who have found you and are joining you on your journey.

      I called and talked to Helen and Bud this weekend, and it went very well. Thank you for helping me work this out by writing to you first. I will always be glad I started connecting rather than waiting for “the right time.”

      Take care,
      Mary Lou

  9. A1225 says:

    Howdy Bill,

    Been busy on my end just came by to say Hello… Hope all is well with you and the family.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and the rest of the family.

    Take care and God bless!!!

  10. souldipper says:

    Somehow, I missed this post, Bill. It’s been sitting in my Inbox… Yes, this bit of blogging has certainly brought untold riches to my life as well.

    Especially when a mine like yours is uncovered!

    Listen to Mel…rest. Pneumonia steals too much health from people. Hopefully by now you are well on your way to recovery from it.

Leave a Reply

