Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Appreciate what you have while you have it


I have written about having to spend 2 weeks laying face down with my eye condition. Vision is returning very well. Through my right eye things still appear wavy, very slightly distorted. Something I can easily live with.

Now just laying there face down really limits what you can do. The first few days I fretted and fumed about my eye as at that point I could see very little out of it. I did have a couple of poor me days. I was able to get my head together and realize, well here I am and there is nothing I can do about it. I might as well make the best of it. I realized it gave me time to think undistracted by life. That may sound crazy to some as “gave me time to think”, I mean thinking is something we are all constantly doing. What I mean is yes we are constantly thinking but how often do we take out thoughts passed the daily events in our lives. Really expand our thinking to the big picture of our lives and not just the events surrounding us today. With my 20/20 hind sight I realize some how I needed that time or at least benefitted from it, huh, sure never thought that at the time.

As I focused my thinking that way, with a little time the poor me disappeared and was replaced with the realization of what a lucky man I am. OK, it still sucked to be stuck laying on the bed but I was able to put it more in prospective. In the overall picture of my life this time won’t even register as the smallest little blip on the radar. When I thought of it that way I actually felt kind of silly whining about it.

I realized how many of the wonders of life I/we just take for granted. Obviously vision/eyesight was on my mind and I really thought about it. Eye sight is such a wonder, such a blessing. Yet do the majority of us even give it a second thought. We just open our eyes every morning and we can see. We go to sleep at night fully expecting, knowing when we open our eyes in the morning, the miracle of vision will be there for us to enjoy. We just take it for granted as we do with so many of the other blessings in our lives. It is sad really all the wonders the blessings in our lives and we just don’t recognize or appreciate having them. Instead our human minds just seem to gravitate to what we see as the negatives in our lives (the things we don’t have).

Isn’t it strange how we have to either loose something or at least come close to loosing it before we can suddenly realize and appreciate how good we had it. Why is that? I needed this bit or a wake up call. I had to nearly go blind at least in the one eye to wake up again and see what I do have in my life. I look at that and do realize what a lucky man I am. Things in life can unexpectedly just happen with no warning. We can have something or someone in our lives one day and the next day they/it are gone. I suppose my detached retina is but a small example of that. One day my vision is fine the next it isn’t. The retina detached, don’t know how, don’t know why, it just did as can so many other things in our lives. Things happen just because,  no other reason than just because.

Apprecaite what you have, focus on that not on what we don’t have. Appreciate what we do have while we have it as you just never know.

I again ask for prayers for our dear friend and neighbor Paul as he struggles to come to terms with the loss his dear bride of almost 70 years.

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Appreciate what you have while you have it

  1. Sherry says:

    Hi Bill,

    A great reminder to appreciate all that we have and all the beauty in the world, and people around us. Sending good thoughts to you and to Paul!

  2. souldipper says:

    So true, Bill…I could be living with a detached heart. Or a detached soul. A detached retina revealed itself immediately. With the heart or the soul, others would likely see it before I would. Hope they’d love me enough to tell me!

    Love to you, Bill, and all your squigglyness. Hope it’s flattering when you look in the mirror! 🙂

  3. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill – your thoughts that you are offering us to consider – are something most of us will never think about .. and I like Amy’s concept .. we are so lucky to be alive and we should be using every moment to our best ability ..

    With loving thoughts to Paul and the neighbourly kindliness that he must be experiencing .. even though his life has been torn apart – such a despairing time for him .. Hilary

  4. Mel says:

    Yup–still praying for you and for Paul.

    And yes–I whine and carry on about that which I don’t want in my day. To equal amounts of celebrating what I DO have in my day?
    No.

    Dangitall…….just when I think I’m ‘entitled’, someone gets stuck in my path to remind me 1) I am NOT entitled. 2) Life really IS good. 3) The bright lights and popping noise WILL happen when I yank my own head out (with a bit of help from the folks the Big Guy puts in my path, tyvm sir.).

    No, I’m not ‘entitled’–but YES, I am graced with all sorts of wondrous gifts.
    Life truly IS good.
    And surrounding yourself with people who’ll carry the message has always been a very good plan for me.

    <– will now wait for the bright lights and the popping noise as I yank my head from where I stuck it. LOL

    (((((((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))))))

    And just when I start to convince myself that it just doesn't freaking matter…….I rediscover it does.

    Starfish, I know……starfish!!

    Thank you.

    • Bill Howdle says:

      Right on Mel, life is good. Now I just went back through the blog looking for the star fish story. I had copied it and returned here to put it up as a repost, and here I read your comment about the star fish. Hey great minds, what more can I say.

  5. Noel says:

    Thanks bill, for this wonderful reminder. We do not take under consideration all the blessings we do have on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

