Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Attitude


Vision in my right eye is continuing to improve. I can still see the big black dot being the gas bubble in my eye but it now covers less than a quarter of my vision in that eye and is decreasing in size daily.

Wow, that lying on my stomach for 2 weeks was a trial. It took me a few days to come to the realization that huh, yes this sucks, but there really is nothing I can do about it so I might as well make the best of it. With that simple change in thinking the days became easier and much more enjoyable. OK, maybe I cheated a little and didn’t spend the entire 45 minutes of every hour in that face down position but I was pretty good about it. It is paying off as my vision is quite good, though things still have that warped look to them.

It really is surprising what a little shift in attitude can do your whole frame of mind and quality of your day.

The first few days of lying down I was not in the best of spirits, feeling kind of down. I had thoughts running through my head like: ” I really don’t know how many days I have left on this planet and I really don’t want to waste them like this” (being stuck laying face down on the bed) Somewhere along the line the thought change to: “I really don’t know how many days i have left and I really don’t want to waste them like this”. (feeling out of sorts and grumpy). My days were then a lot better. Now I am not going to say I was having a lot of fun but I certainly was not miserable or unhappy about the situation. I tried my meditations but the unusual position seemed to just put me to sleep. It gave me time for a lot of really deep thinking about my life and life in general. The more i really thought the more it became clear to me I am very content with my life. Are there some areas of my life I would like to be different well yeah. Hey just look at the title of the blog.

This may be hard to understand but whole business has helped me become the person I am today and I am cntent with that.

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Attitude

  1. Patti says:

    I admire you more with every blog that you write. Thank you so much. I get a little booklet each month called “Bits and Pieces” – they send 2 – 1 to keep and 1 to pass on to a friend…it’s full of great inspiring little passages. The first one this month is right up your alley! “Blessed is the man who can enjoy the small things, the common beauties, the little day-by-day events: sunshine on the fields, birds on the bough, breakfast, dinner, supper, a friend passing by. So many people who go afield to search for happiness have left it behind them back home sitting on the front porch.” David Grayson. Take care!

    Hi Patti, that saying is beautiful, thank you so much for sharing
    Bill

  2. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill .. you certainly seem to have the right take on – at any stage it’s never going to be easy in the flow of things .. and at least by lying down for a great deal of that fortnight .. has given you your sight back to an improving degree – so a huge positive in the scheme of things .. the autumn colours can be appreciated, the scents and smells you can see where they’re coming from ..

    Taking the positive side of your hand is better than the one that is face down and pushing you with it .. let the light in and you’re doing that – makes everything easier for all your family and friends .. have a blessed weekend .. Hilary

  3. Mel says:

    ((((((( Patti )))))))))) Excellent!
    I hope you and Richard are getting that porch time.

    ((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))) YEAH!!
    I’m glad for the improving vision and the shifting attitude.

    And now–patio/porch time. Leaves are turning, hummingbirds are warring over nectar, and himself is preparing breakfast. What a gorgeous start to a new day.

  4. rangewriter says:

    I get that. Really I do, though I’d prefer not to have to endure what you went through. I understand that when we fight against the things we have no control over…we set ourselves up for heartache and disappointment, all of which detract from the general contentedness of daily life. Why shouldn’t we simply enjoy this moment, after all, this moment could easily be come the last moment….?

  5. Sherry says:

    Hi Cousin Bill,

    I am so glad to hear that the eyesight is returning. I wanted to share this little quote I heard that may explain your ‘temporary’ blindness (not sure where it is from, but I like it):

    “Few people get weak eyes from looking on the bright side”.

    It sounds like you were down in the dumps a bit, but then you started to look on the bright side of life, making conscious choices of how you will deal with the situation and now things are “looking” up!!! Excellent!

    Do you ‘see’ how brilliant my insight is? (Please be sure to note the excellent word play and puns I am using in this sentence and message about sight, seeing, looking, etc….).

    Okay, my brilliance continues! It seems to me that you are finishing one phase of your recovery and are almost ready for the next phase in your recovery. The ‘pirate patch” phase is on the way out the door, and you are moving into the “evil-eye” phase.

    Now – prepare yourself! This phase, the ‘evil-eye’ phase, may have some rough patches to get through too. So, here are my thoughts on how to deal with this next phase.

    The pirate patch will be off. The eye still does not look so good (as per your description), and may even still scare small children. But, the question is – Do you think it will scare your Aunt Isabel? I know what your thinking – she had 11 kids – so there is not much that scares Aunt Isabel anymore. But this may be your best shot or opportunity to get the upperhand on her. I think you should invite Aunt Isabel down for a visit during the ‘evil eye’ phase and challenge her for the “Championship of the World”. The ‘evil eye’ may give you the advantage and you will be able to reclaim the title!

    So, there you have it. Something to think about as you lie face-down for your next 45 minute session!! Plotting to recapture the title for Championship of the World.

    Take care,

    Cousin Sherry

  6. Cat says:

    It sounds like two weeks of lying face-down improved your vision in more ways than one! So glad to hear the eye is getting better.

Leave a Reply

