Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Recovering from retinal attachment surgery


Had the appointment with the eye surgeon yesterday. He was able to see the retina has reattached.  About 40% of the gas bubble is still there but over time will be absorbed into the body. I see him again in 2 weeks. Now it is just a waiting game to see how much vision returns and that could take even up to 6 months. I do now have vision out of the top part of the eye, a little foggy but not bad. What I see though is a little distorted. I look at something like say a sign post, well with my left eye obviously it is straight up and down. Looking with my right eye it is wavy, has like bulges sticking out of the sides of it. Doctor says nothing can be done about that, it is just a wait and see process.

The brain is receiving confusing messages from the eyes and is throwing I guess my depth perception off. It is actually kind of funny. When brushing my teeth for example and I want to run the tooth brush under the water from the tap. Using both eyes I can’t seem to line my tooth-brush up with the falling water. Was making coffee this morning and holding the pot under the water tap. I have the water running and the pot in place and I am looking out the window. At some point it occurs to me the pot is not getting any heavier as it should be filling with water. I look with both eyes and it is in place so what is going on. I close my right eye and using my left eye only I can see I am holding the pot about 4 or 5 inches over to the side, huh.

The great news is I don’t have to spend all my time lying face down, on my stomach. I am up and about and feeling good.

Have lots of ideas for posts  I want to get up. All that time just lying there did give me lots of time to just think

4 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Recovering from retinal attachment surgery

  1. Hilary says:

    Hi Bill – that’s pretty good news considering – just teaches you to watch what you’re doing!! Even with one eye – guess the desire for coffee overcame all other things!

    Excellent news that you can get up and around again .. long may improvement continue .. here’s to you and have a lovely weekend .. cheers Hilary

  2. souldipper says:

    Hurrah! Another victory, Bill. Imagine holding that position for two weeks. I have to take my hat off to you!

    Thanks for giving an update. I have been thinking of you lots. I cheered when I heard the retina had attached. Amazing – these bodies of ours!

    Am off to do a happy dance!

  3. Mel says:

    *doing happy dance!!*

    😀

    YEAH!!!!! I’m glad to hear of the progress.
    And I chuckled about the depth perception being a tad off. You have an excuse. I, however, simply get distracted and forget to watch what I’m doing.

    NOT that I want an excuse! I’m clear yours hasn’t been a walk in the park.
    But YEAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

    *doing another happy dance!!*

    Doctors and medical science rock!
    Geeze……how many years ago would we have heard ‘sorry–nothing we can do……’
    Amazing……

  4. rangewriter says:

    Ah, watch your step! Close your eyes when in motion or you’ll be flatening your nose!

Leave a Reply

