Dying Man’s Daily Journal – How important the blog is to me


I have been giving real thought to ending the blog. I have come to realize I don’t think I can. It seems I just keep getting drawn back to it. It is almost like it has become a part of my life and an important part at that. I am very touched at all the supportive comments left for me as I was considering ending it. I have been blessed to make so many wonderful friends here on the blog. You have all become like a part of my extended family. The realization of how much I would miss you, of how important you all are to me have come to me while doing this pondering. Not that I really wasn’t aware of it before, it is the how much I value our friendships that has become clearer to me.

An old friend from back in my Norway House days reminded me of something that has been on going for years. There have been days when the blog has given me reason to drag my lazy butt out of bed in the morning. with out that incentive what will I do? I hadn’t thought of that and I really don’t know? Maybe the answer to that question is in how I am being drawn back continually here to the blog. Everyone needs a purpose for being, I don’t know maybe something as simple as this is mine for now.

For the first number of years here, I was really into the statistics, somewhere along the line though The numbers became far less important than the people. That would be all of you that may happen to read this. I just looked and realized this is post #938, I am both shocked and amazed at that number. I remember thinking 40 or 50 posts and I would be doing good. the hits the blog has received. Huh, I forgot to check when I was checking the number of posts but it is somewhere over 300,000. I see that number and have to just shake my head and wonder. Don’t these people realize who I am. I am no one special just me, a guy sitting in his basement In Winnipeg. I just don’t get it.

So yes, I am going to keep the blog going for a while. First I thought it would be nice to see half a million hits but realize that is just not feasible or realistic. So maybe try for a 1,000 posts. Geesh just saying that 1,000 posts. I am going to try to use them to lay out my deepest thoughts and feelings. Now remember I have that male gene in my system and sometimes our thoughts aren’t all that deep.

I have come to realize that the actual title of the blog is something I have allowed to cause me a little stress. It is the word daily. I was pretty good at keeping it up daily back at the beginning but have really fallen off, more and more as time has progressed. New posts going up will just omit the word.

If I wasn’t here I would really miss you all

 

13 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – How important the blog is to me

  1. Carol says:

    Bill, if you weren’t here, we all would miss you and I don’t think you would miss us. Where you are going is so far beyond time and space that all of this will have little meaning to you. We are the ones in receipt of your gift here. It’s important to us in different ways than it is important to you. Before my husband died, I had given him a small book of blank pages and asked him to write down his thoughts or what he might want to share after he was gone. He wrote 1 single page and then along on the outside edge of the pages, he wrote 4 words, “I Love You Carol.” Those 4 words on the outside edge of the pages have brought me more comfort than I can tell you. I did not discover these words until after his passing. At first I thought that he could have given more than just 1 page of his thoughts but it was not until I closed the book and turned it over in my hand that I saw the 4 words written along the outside edge of the pages.

  2. Naty Matos says:

    Bill, blogging is more about sharing than receiving. It’s my first time here, so I will be looking around to know more. I had to laugh when you talked about your stats. I got all excited yesterday when my baby blog received 35 hits…LOL!

    I stopped worrying about the numbers when I realized that sharing my life experiences and lessons could help just 1 person. In comments I’ve received the “You don’t know how much I needed to hear that” from a single person, which would make the stats of the day be 1 solely hit, but if I was able to impact that 1 person’s life, it was all worth it.

    God will place the right person with the right message and it would be selfish for you and me to deprive the world from that message that it is only ours to communicate. Keep on writing!
    Blessings!

  3. Betty says:

    Thank you Bill for deciding to continue the blog for now. You have become very important to many of us. Your messages and the responses from your blogging friends are always something I look forward to reading. Take care.

  4. Mel says:

    ….wow……
    You were thinking of QUITTING here?!

    <– shocked to hear that news

    <– glad to hear that was just a passing whim

    <– has been practicing a state of denial

    <– plugged my ears and sang 'lala' songs

    <– refused to acknowledge

    <– pretended that wasn't mentioned

    <– continued to sing to self and skip lines in posts that even mighta sorta kinda resembled that concept–yaknow…..the one we shall not mention

    <– shall now do happy dance!

    🙂

    <– doing happy dance!!!!!!!!!!

    Wooooooohooooooooooo!!!

    NOT that I'm a selfish little booger or anything…..LOLOL

    <– might sortakinda be a selfish little booger….

  5. Dear Bill, I am glad that you have decided to stick with the blog. I started one for my recovery from back surgery in order to answer questions for others and to serve as a ministry in the long run. However I have found that it has been very therapeutic for me. It has allowed me remember that I am not the only one going through my situation and it has been a means by which God has encouraged me through the caring words and prayers of others. I will back track to learn your story, pray for your well being and look forward to more posts.

  6. jel says:

    WOOHOO! glad ya are staying in blogland 🙂

  7. souldipper says:

    I’m delighted with your decision, Bill. It’s true – it is wonderful how these blogs affect our lives. We start out simply wanting to give and we end up with a whole bunch of good people who enrich our lives.

  8. Patti says:

    Bill – Don’t you worry about hits or any other stuff other than remind all of us that expressing our feelings – good, bad, and sometimes just weird (!) is a wonderful thing…just sharing a little of yourself can help another human is important! I teach safety to workers who work at height, and believe it or not, I’m afraid of heights! But, that little detail won’t stop me from doing this! If we all could do what you do each day, the world would be a happier and more content planet!

  9. Noel says:

    Bill, please don’t stop blogging. You have been an inspiration to all of us. Keep it up!

  10. Jill says:

    And we would miss you!

  11. JUANITA says:

    WE WOULD ISS YOU TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. MINASHADOW says:

    WE WOULD MISS YOU TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Freda says:

    Bill, please keep on blogging, your courage is an encouragement to many of us, and we want to be able to continue to keep you getting up and getting on.

Leave a Reply

