Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Appreciate Life


I was recently asked what I saw as being the focal point or purpose for my blog. As I think on it I realize how much my thoughts and feelings have changed over the years of writing. i have to smile when I use those words “years of writing”. It must be 6 or 7 years now that I have been cluttering up the internet with my ramblings. I think it was in Sept or Oct. that I started and at that point in time, I really questioned whether or not I would be seeing that next Christmas.Surprise I am still here, a fact for which I daily thank our Heavenly Father.

I think patience is one of the life lessons I am meant to learn here. Things happen in God’s time not my time. I am just not sure how that lesson applies here and how I am to use it. Now how to word this so it makes any sort of sense. I have always been the kind of person that doesn’t like having something hanging over my head. By that I mean if I have to face something or do something that I am not looking forward to,  I would just as soon do it now, let’s get this over with. Example, if my doctors came to me and told me I definitely need open heart surgery. I could have it today, next week, next month or even next year. Now assuming there are no advantages or disadvantages involve with the timing. I would choose today. Let’s just get this done and over with, I don’t want to have to sit here fretting about it.

Now this whole dying thing is a pretty big mill stone to have hanging over your head. Here my thought process suddenly does a complete flip. Instead of wanting to deal with it and get it over and done with as soon as possible, I am all for putting it off for as long as possible!!!! This is a weight on my shoulders I am more than willing to carry for years and years if allowed to. I say allowed to as I do know it is our Heavenly Father that will determine the timing of that event.

The vast, vast majority of time I am able to deal with it. Not just deal with it but truly enjoy my life. I have a wonderful life, I realize that and I am so very appreciative.

I have been given this extra time, have lived it and loved it. Geesh, I think about it and realize this past few years could have been pretty miserable if I had not made the effort to come to terms with my situation. To have learned to love and appreciate the beauties, the wonders in life. The wonders and beauties of life are all around each of us. I have to wonder though, how many take the time to recognize and appreciate them. This world of ours is a wonderful place and I am grateful for every moment I am allowed to remain.

6 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Appreciate Life

  1. lypenner says:

    HI Bill. Your thoughts remind me that suffering and awareness of our limitations does have a blessing if we are willing to take a second look. God is with us both in times of enrichment and in diminishment. Diminishment and limitations certainly make us realize how utterly dependent we are on God as the only source of consolation. No easy answers, but life can be meaningful and rich even when there is suffering. Your sense of gratitude is a good witness to that! May you have many more years of “cluttering the Internet” with your blogging 🙂
    Lydia Penner

    Hi Lydia, I thank you for your kind words. You are so right about having God in your life. I can not begin to imagine how much more difficult this journey would be without my faith.
    Hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

  2. souldipper says:

    Six or seven years of touching other people’s lives, planting courage and even patience. Thanks be! Bill, you remind me of Louis Armstrong’s great song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5TwT69i1lU&feature=related

    I respect you so much.

    I thank you so very much for your kind words. thank you for sharing the song it is beautiful
    Bill

  3. Mel says:

    Awwww……gotta love Louis!!

    And I’m with souldipper. Six or seven years of touching people’s lives–some totally unaware–a blessing. Thank you for touching mine.

  4. Betty says:

    Hi Bill,

    Wishing you a very happy Father’s Day. Hope you are having a wonderful day.

  5. Cat says:

    Hi, Bill! Just dropping by to say hello and I hope you are doing well.

  6. cindydyer says:

    Bill, I’m so glad to read that you are still with us and doing well. I loved this last line in the above post:

    This world of ours is a wonderful place and I am grateful for every moment I am allowed to remain.

    Beautifully written! I hope you DO continue your blog—it makes me reflect a little more each day.

Leave a Reply

