Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayers Please


We had an incident happen early Saturday morning, right here on our street about a block down. It has me kind of upset, no  it has made me plain out mad.

Now I seem to be a creature of habit. I start every morning sipping my coffee while reading the newspaper but huh, my newspaper wasn’t there. Now that is really unusual, it is always there. As I think of it I realize I really don’t know much about how it got there. Well other than the obvious,someone came quietly in the middle of the night and dropped it off, so that it is there for my convenience as I read while sipping my coffee. Who this mystery person was, I had no idea. I just remember a neighbor telling me the paper is delivered between 3:00 and 3:30am. I think good for you mystery stranger, I am sure glad you have the energy to be out and about at that time of the morning.

Now my missing newspaper was not what made me mad. It was the reason why the paper was not there that has me riled up. It turns out our newspaper delivery man was savagely beaten and left unconscious on the ground. Because of the time of day it is estimated he may have laid there for up to 3 hours before being discovered  as hypothermia had begun to set in. I have learned the gentleman is 70 years old and slight in stature. I have read he was a very gentle man, dedicated to his job. Why would such a thing happen? It is just so sad, prayers please for Mr. Raymond Desrochers.

7 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Prayers Please

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

    Be a ★ !

  2. Mel says:

    *sending prayers*

    How horrible. At any age.

    ((((((((( Bill )))))))))

  3. Cat says:

    Oh, My God, that is horrible. He will be in my thoughts and prayers, and I hope that whoever did this to him is apprehended.

  4. babychaos says:

    That’s pants. I will put him on my list.

    Cheers

    BC

  5. Lydia Penner says:

    Hi Bill. Until this moment, I’ve been a “lurker” for years on your blog, ever since I read about it in the Free Press. For a while I was reading it every time you posted, but I now check in periodically to read your musings. I’m writing to thank you, because you have been an encouragement to me in your faith, but also that you have often said how much blogging has been a help to you, to keep your own faith alive.

    So this is just to say that you’ve inspired me to start my own blog, with the theme being “Where Was God in my day?”, which is a question my pastor gave me years ago. (I write about that in the first blogpost. Don’t worry I only have 2 posts so far!)

    I wish you well on your journey, and thank you again for being a witness to faith and hope in your difficult circumstances.

    Lydia Penner (The blog website is http://wwgimd.wordpress.com/)

    Hello Lydia and welcome to the blog. I am so glad you have given up being a “lurker” and do hope we will hear more from you. I do thank you for your kind comments.It does give me a bit of a nice warm feeling inside to read my words have helped or encouraged another in some way,.
    Blogging has been a wonderful experience for me. Writing about my beliefs some how seems to reaffirm them, strengthen them within my own mind. With out this solid set of beliefs this journey of mine would be so very much more difficult.
    I popped over to visit your site and think it is wonderful, Please keep it up.
    Bill

    • lypenner says:

      Thanks very much Bill for the visit and for your comment on my blog. It was very encouraging! It may give you a chuckle to know that I felt like I was visited by a celebrity! Writing has always had a strengthening effect for me too and I am grateful for the ways God provides for us to stay tethered. You are right our journeys would be so much more difficult without these means of grace. Now that I am out in the open (eg. lurker no longer), I will try to pop by again and leave comments. -Lydia

      Hi Lydia. I am glad you have chosen to move out of the ranks of the “lurkers” and I do hope to hear more from you in the future. You are right I did get a chuckle out of the idea, of me a celebrity. I did enjoy reading your blog and wish you well with it.
      Bill

  6. Mel says:

    Wow…very cool, Lydia.

    Once in a while someone gifts us with ‘this is just a piece of how you touched my life’…
    Ain’t it cool?!

    ((((((((((((( Bill ))))))))))))))) Thinkin’ about ya…..

    Hi Mel, you are so right. It is so very cool

Leave a Reply

