Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Building Ourselves


Something has really has been rambling around in this head of mine. There is one and only one person each of us individually will spend our entire lives with. I mean every minute of every day. That person that we will spend all that time with naturally is ourselves. Do I enjoy spending time by myself/with myself? Or am I not satisfied with spending such time and need some sort of external influences to make me feel happy, content? Am I proud of the really me that I know and only I know, the real me that lies hidden beneath the layers of masks I put on to show the world?

If I am not totally content with the person I know lies deep within me, doesn’t it just make  sense to work towards becoming the person I want to be. I have the rest of my life lying before me and this very minute is the first minute of the rest of my life. Doesn’t it just make sense to work towards becoming the people we want to be and isn’t now the very best time to begin that.

I was thinking about all of this and it reminded me of a post I remember having put up at some time in the past.I went looking and found it almost immediately. This following bit is from a post from way back in o2/07.

I spend so much time reflecting back on my life. I seem to see things so differently now. Via email, I received one of those inspirational type messages. It was the story of a very skilled carpenter that took great pride and care in ensuring every job was done well. After many years of quality work, it reached the point he decided to retire and informed his employer of this. On hearing this his employer practically begged him to build on last house. Out of loyalty and respect for the employer he agreed. But as the construction began it was obvious his heart wasn’t in it. He began taking short cuts, using shoddy materials, putting forth less than his best effort, anything he could to just get through each day. Ultimately, the house was finished, on the outside it looked good and only the carpenter in his heart knew of the inferior work contained within. Upon completion the employer handed the carpenter the keys to the house, gifting it to him in recognition of the years of good work. Now only when it was to late did the carpenter regret the quality of the work he had put into building that house. Only then did he regret, every thing he had done. Things he had done just to make it a little easier to get through a particular day, were coming back to haunt him.

I see this as such a good comparison to life. Our inner selves our true selves are a continual work in progress, constantly, “under construction”. Our bodies are our personal houses. Housing the true us, our spirits contained within, during our time on this earth. Do we want to end up as the carpenter did? Reach our end, with our houses (bodies) looking good or at least OK. But, in our hearts knowing of all the flaws and defective workmanship contained within.

Is it possible to attain perfection, of course not. At least not in this physical world. We are human and as such will always have some internal imperfections. We can though at least try our best. Our every day, every act is one more step in the building of our internal selves. Our every act whether and act of love, kindness, cruelty, deceit or what ever put another brick in place in the construction of our inner selves. Every time we take the easy way over what we may know to be the right way, another brick.

If only we would stop and see the big picture, today is not just today. It is an important day in the building of the true me.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Building Ourselves

  1. Cat says:

    Great thoughts, Bill! One thing I have learned about myself over the years is that I truly enjoy my own company. I enjoy spending time with friends and family, but when I can’t do that I’m still never lonely because I also enjoy spending time with myself. I can even make myself laugh with a good joke. 🙂

  2. Noel says:

    Bill, sometimes I don’ enjoy myself. Sometimes, I become too inpatient and irritated with little things, I don’t know why. But I pray that I can become the person that I really want to be, or God wants me to be. I want to be more patient, kind, forgiving, and calm.

  3. Mel says:

    Like Noel, there are times I’m not real fond of my own company. Most times I’m good with it–I know the difference between solitude and ‘being alone’. I enjoy the me I was created to be. It’s been a tough haul arriving here, but it’s a pretty cool spot to be in, most days. But I do have my days. So I’m thinking I’ve not ‘arrived’ in the truest sence. I’m okay with that, too. Life’s about the journey, eh?

    Have I sat with myself TODAY to truly look at how what I’ve done/said fits with what I AM?
    Yep. Multiple times. And I’ve gone back to redo moments that didn’t really speak to that clearly and neatly.
    I don’t wanna murky up the message I hand to people–I want it to represent what I KNOW and what I LIVE. (head knowledge without action is wasted knowledge, I’m told) I also know I don’t do that perfectly.

    I’m way more okay with TODAY me than I’ve ever been. But I’m clear I ain’t done growing yet.
    Strive for perfection, accept less as WPIML tells me. I’m still striving!
    *laughing* Darn humanness!

Leave a Reply

