Dying Man’s Daily Journal – De-Stressing our lives


I have been thinking about stress in our lives. It seems almost everything I read about stress, I see that it can be a contributing factor to or at least aggravate most illnesses and diseases. We know how detrimental it is to our health, to our lives yet how many of us actually do make a real effort to reduce that stress level. We just accept it as something that is there, a normal part of life.

Now a certain amount of stress does come with life and is good for us. It can be a great motivator prompting us or even forcing us to act on certain issues, get them done and that stress is gone. Everyone is going to face stress in their lives. We have responsibilities we must honor in raising our families, working at our jobs in just living our lives.

I often think of life as being like a highway. My highway of life is the trip I take while in this physical world. Each of us travel down our own “highways” on this journey. The ultimate destination for us all is the same the Gates of Heaven. As with any highway the road is not always that smooth. Sometimes we hit bumps, pot holes, construction areas or even detours that take us off of our planned route. Such is with any highway, such is with life.

While driving on a regular highway and we run into a construction site, what do we do? Well stress goes up at least a little, we slow down, see that the path in front of us is more difficult than we had been expecting and we drive more carefully as continue on, knowing we will get through it.

Now if we look at the “highway of life”. A bump in the road would be comparable to a little issue of some sort but we quickly pass it and it is gone. The size of the bump would correlate to the significance we place on the issue, but irregardless it is quickly passed over. A construction site could relate over to being like a major issue in our lives and these do happen to everyone. Something comes along that hits us hard and usually unexpectedly.Now at these times if we could but remember the highway, we slow down, drive more cautiously and we get through it. If I think back over my life, I can remember times when it seemed I ran face first into a “calamity” and I forgot the just keep going and you will get through this, I know this to be a fact yet when in the midst of this “calamity”, I suppose because I am human I can tend to let emotions run wild and stress sets in. If some how I could just keep in mind the fact that God has a plan for me and he will get me through this.

This is what I am trying to work on, de-stressing my life. Now it is true I do look at things differently since this whole dying business began. It is just with the human world around you it is so easy it seems to back slide. Why is it seems, negative influences can drag you down a lot faster than positive can up lift you.

Stress will kill me,  it  will kill  you. Look at your life. I am sure you will find stressors that don’t really need to be there,  so why are you hanging on to them?

I read this somewhere, “If people treat you right,hold them close to your heart. If they don’t treat you right, just let them  go.”

Wow, is spell checker ever a good thing. lol

15 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – De-Stressing our lives

  1. Freda says:

    Thanks for the reminder – too much stress is something I allow to happen, there are ways to de-stress I’m just not very good at doing them. The best is to simply do some deep breathing exercises. Every Blessing to you

    Hi Freda and thank you. How quickly and easily we can become stressed and how long and and difficult it can at times be to let is go.
    Blessings to you and yours.
    Bill

  2. I keep this little song linked on the sidebar of my blog, and play it whenever I start to feel stressed: Three Little Birds

    Hi Thomas and thank you for sharing that link. It is great. “Don’t worry every little thing is going to be alright.” I think we all need to try and remember that almost on a minute by minute basis in our lives.
    Thanks again, hope to hear from you again.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      Oh gosh….I soooooo need to put this little diddy on my sidebar!

      Thank you, Thomas!

    • Betty says:

      I have heard this song many times, but never really focused on the words just the beat. Now that I have really listened….I thank you Thomas as it is definitely a pick-me-up song.

  3. souldipper says:

    I know a harp would sound terrible if its strings weren’t stressed. However, I’ve had to learn when my strings are too tight. When there’s no harmony and nothing is in tune, I feel I’ve lost control.

    That’s when I know I have lost acceptance. I am wanting something or someone to be “other than” – different than what it is or who they are.

    The prayer used in the 12-Step world is a de-stressor for me – God grant me the serenity…

    That takes me back to being in the presence of the Creator. Where I belong.

    Ah, you are so right, it is a wonderful prayer.
    “God grant me the serentity to accept the things I can not change.
    The courage to change the things I can and
    the wisdom to know the difference.

    I am humbled by those words.

  4. Kath says:

    Thanks Bill, a good reminder for us all. Sometimes we get too caught up with small stressors that really, will not effect our day. We need to look at the bigger picture and keep ourselves in the best health while we still can.

    I will concentrate on this thought today and get myself back on the right path.

    Love Kath

    Hi Kath, thank you for the comment. I know you are right on for me at least. I need to keep my eye on the big picture instead of getting mired in the moment.
    Bill

  5. Jo Hart says:

    Hey Bill – Yes I’m back on the blog, and asking for a prayer request. My beautiful town of QLD is flooding, not sure if your getting it there on the news or not, but we have so many people homeless it is just so surreal. Where I live, we are safe, however our City of Brisbane 20 mins away is under, and still to get worse this afternoon. So can I ask for a few prayer requests. We have losts lives, half of which are young children in what they could only call an inland tsunami. It’s just devestating. More than 75% of QLD is under water and the rain is still coming…. I live right by the sea, so our only problem is the king tides, which apparently are hitting this afternoon… However, I’m on a hill, so I rest assured my house is safe (at this stage!!). All prayers gratefully received, there are so many lives being turned upside down. Google QLD floods and you’ll see the utter devestation these floods are having… Thanks in advance for all prayers xoxo

    Hi Jo it is so nice to hear from you. I am just sorry for the events taking place. You are always in my prayers but a pray request has been made.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      ((((((((( Jo )))))))))) I’m so relieved you checked in and that you’re safe.

      Ohmygosh what a horrid event for everyone to have to get through.
      Of course I’ll send prayers.

      Stay safe! (please.)

    • Cat says:

      Sending prayers and good thoughts to you and yours and to everyone affected by the floods, Jo.

    • Betty says:

      Prayers are with you and all those facing this devestation. We are following the news here at home (Canada) and can’t believe this is happening. Stay safe Jo.

  6. Cat says:

    Great post, Bill. I sort of trained myself a few years ago to stop being stressed out by the small things that don’t really make a difference. This past year I’ve had some much bigger stressors in my life, though, and it’s taken a toll. This is a good reminder not to worry about the things I can’t control.

    Hi Cat,niceto hear from you. You are right so many of the little pot holes in the highway of life really don’tmake any difference. Just pass them by with barely a thought.

  7. Mel says:

    Talk about perspective. I guess I needed to see the devastation others are getting to live through to get some. I sooo feel for those folks in QLD.

    I lack perspective sometimes. And I borrow troubles–I do the old ‘if/then’ deal….as if I can create/MAKE stuff happen that just isn’t mine TO make/create. *sigh* Silly human-ness…. Small wonder it’s so enticing to wanna play G-d sometimes (AS IF!!!!!!).

    Yep–I’m stressed. And yep–there’s enough ‘facts’ that are stressful without me adding to the pile by borrowing troubles and putting ‘faith’ on the backburner while I run around willy-nilly trying to control this or that or anything and everything.
    It doesn’t work, of course–but I STILL TRY!

    <– knows that insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results!
    <– knows it's INSANE to run around trying to control end results.
    <– KNOWS this is the source of the stress (fear does stupid stuff with my brain–that's my story and I'm sticking to it!)

    I hear everything you're saying.
    I know you're right!
    I turn it over..I grab it back.
    I turn it over AGAIN…I grab it back.

    Sheeeeeeeeeeshhhhhh.
    I'm weary.
    Small wonder, huh?

    For me it's all about that surrender, that acceptance–faith.

    Stupid fear.
    Hmmmmmpf.

    Mel, I think we should check the family tree. From everything you say I think we must be related or something. I had reached a point where I was able to just let most things go like water off a duck’s back. Somehow I have slid back into my old ways of thinking to at least some extent. I really do need to and am working on it.

  8. Betty says:

    Bill, thank you for this post. Stress is my middle name. The strangest thing is that in a time of crisis or as you mentioned a bump in the road of life I can be so strong, supportive, etc, but yet when the worst is over is when stress and anxiety seem to capture me. I am working very hard to get this under control, as I know how difficult stress can be on one’s health and well being.

    Betty, you keep working on it and you will get there. Right now I am working on it and struggling as are you. Maybe we can all work together and get to where we want to be together.

  9. […] Jo Hart says: January 11, 2011 at 5:09 pm  (Edit) […]

  10. marife says:

    Sir, thank you for your contributions to at least help other people be thankful to what they have and honor life as precious gift from our Lord Almighty. Stress can make anyone sick without cause and create a tremendous chaos in one’s life. Being a contributory of strength and faith, I admire you and pray for everybody who are reading your daily journal…God Bless all!

    Hello marife, welcome to the blog. I thank you for your kind comments. Prayers are always appreciated.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

