Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Birthday is here


Well another year has gone by, I should say flown by. Yup, 58 years ago today Mama Howdle delivered a baby boy into this world.

Not feeling so spry celebration plans being put off until tomorrow. Will write more then

18 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – My Birthday is here

  1. jel says:

    happy bday,
    hope ya are feelling tomorrow,
    would bake ya cake, but din’t think it would make it there !

    Thank you

  2. Gloria Allen says:

    Happy Birthday Bill,
    Sorry you are not feeling up to celebrating today, hopefully tomorrow you will feel like “Rocking the World”!!
    Make sure you do celebrate, never miss a chance to celebrate! I will raise a glass in your honor!!
    Take Care,

    Gloria

    hi Gloria, thank you for the good wishes. Will be getting to that celebrating part yet.

  3. Kath says:

    Very happy birthday Bill. Sending positive energy your way so you can feel better tomorrow and celebrate.

    Thank you very much

  4. Mel says:

    Haaaaaaaaapppppy Birthday to you
    Happy Birthday to YOU
    Happy Birthday, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    Happy Birthday to youuuUUUuuuuuuuUUUuuuu!!!!!!

    ((((((((((((( Bill )))))))))))))

    The big 58!!!!! You gotta love the even numbers! 🙂

    Weary or not–know that there was celebrating in this little corner of the world.
    I shoved stuck cars, shoveled a sidewalk or two, bought more than once cuppa coffee and jumpstarted three times. And that wasn’t what I intended to do to celebrate. *laughing*

    I’m guessing G-d had other plans for me.
    Though, I did deliver the food stuff to the local food pantry (which is down a couple flights from where I was jumpstarting cars! How convenient was that?!). I was hoping the stuff didn’t freeze in my car. *laughing* Thank goodness it didn’t!

    No worries. Looks to be another subzero day tomorrow–I’ll have more opportunities to use those jumper cables!
    STILL haffta carry out a few of my own ‘make their day’ plans in your honour, but I’m thinkin’ if the Big Guy keeps this up, I’ll be wayyyyyyy busy saving folks money shelled out to tow trucks and making their lives a bit more easier. (I can hope anyway!)

    Feel better, eh?
    Rest when weary–I’ll work on the staying warm jazz! 😉

    Ah Mel,I thank you so very much. I am serious and do mean it when I say you are one of my heros. Thank you and good for you in helping out all those people.. Hey, you hinted about maybe a picture

  5. shirley brault says:

    Hi Bill and a very happy birthday to you!! Since you are not partying it up today, you are probably already in bed so this will get to you late. Sorry about that! I will give a call before Christmas and get caught up on all your news and see how your housemates and yourself are doing. Take care of yourself.
    love and hugs, Shirley

    Hi Shirley, I thank you for the birthday wishes and I will look forward to your call
    Bill

  6. souldipper says:

    Happy Birthday, Bill. Many blessings for you, but especially that you continue with your incredible energy and spirit to feel loved and be so loving.

    I thank you for the good wishes and so kind words.
    Bill

  7. Jill says:

    Happy Birthday and hope you feel up to celebrating real soon!

    Hi Jill and thank you

  8. Betty says:

    Happy Birthday Bill. Hope you are feeling up to celebrating today.

    hi Betty, still not ready to celebrate but will be getting there soon.
    Bill

  9. Irene says:

    Dear Bill,
    Hope you’re feeling better, Bill. Golda Meir said it perfectly: Old age is like a plane flying through a storm. Once your’re aboard, there’s nothing you can do. Your can’t stop the plane, you can’t stop the storm, your can’t stop time. So one might as well accept it calmly and wisely. Happy Birthday, Wiseman!!
    Irene

    Hi Irene and I thank you for sharing that wonderful saying, isn’t it the truth. Make the best of the ride we have.

  10. Henri says:

    Hi Bill,
    Hope your day went well yesterday.

    Since you often speak of violence against women. As a follow up to your selfless giving,(a couple of years ago)in the use of your vehicle, garage and time.
    One of those grandmothers (Gladys Radek) that you assisted in their walk from Vancouver to Ottawa 2008 is being nominated as a ‘Champion of Change’
    Rather than type (hunt-n-peck)I will direct you to the page:)
    I am humbled to add a short testimonial from Mary Walsh a journalist with CBC and the web page from the CBC’s Champions of Change.

    “Posted by: Mary Walsh

    Who couldn’t be moved by Gladys Radek, a woman who campaigns for righteousness in the shadow of the missing and the murdered?

    She cries out for justice in a world that has never given Gladys much reason to believe that justice is an option. She became an activist who is marching for not only aboriginal women, but for all Canadian women whose voices have been silenced by violence.

    It is Gladys’ vision to seek justice, closure, equality and accountability for the families of the missing and murdered women and for the women themselves. She believes with all her heart that if we all work together we can stop violence against women. Gladys fights for all of us…rich and poor…the haves and the have-nots…that we may one day live with dignity and respect throughout our lives.

    Though she walks with a prosthetic leg, she marches for justice.

    Though she has been victimized, she cries out against violence.

    Though often dispossessed herself, she seeks to lift up the deprived.”

    http://www.cbc.ca/change/top10.html

    Hi Henri, I thank you for sharing this with us. I do remember meeting Ms. Radek as the walk passed here through Winnipeg. you my friend were a big supporter of and help to the walkers. I visited the site you posted, good luck to her and the wonderful cause.
    Bill

  11. Jo Hart says:

    Hey Bill,

    Guess what, I am back….. and yes back with a better outlook on life and am working hard on loosing that chip on my shoulder that has consumed me for the past year, and left me off your site… I knew if was your birthday coming up, and I knew I was going to be involved in your present giving. So a big big HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU (Belated I know, but I was thinking about you, as you share the same birthday with my pa, and he would of been 99 God love him to bits).

    Anyway gift giving this year :-
    Food parcels to the Neighbourhood Centre – Check
    Random act of kindness – Check (Friend in need, no sleep, bottle of wine & a strong shoulder for her to cry on)
    Still in action – Looking into helping with the food kitchens over xmas. Still going through the processes of volunteering, may end up after xmas, but is happening.

    Happy Birthday my dear friend, although I have been missing in action for the past year, you have been one of my greatest inspirations and like I have said previously, we are cyber soul buddies.

    2011 is going to be a much better year, with a much more positive outlook on life, love & family…. In other words – it’s going to rock….. Love Ya
    xx

    Jo my friend it is really so nice to see you back, you have been missed. I am both lucky and happy to have you as a cyber soul buddy. I thank you for the good deeds done. I know this past year has been a difficult one for you and know 2011 will be much much better.
    Please send me an email and bring me up to date when you have the chance.
    Bill

    • Mel says:

      (((((((((((((( Jo ))))))))))))))))))

      People have been worried! (there’s an indication about how missed and loved you are!)

      I’m so glad that things are looking up for you and yours. And I’m sooooo happy to hear from you again!
      Welcome back!
      And YEAH!!!!!!!

  12. Hello and Happy Birthday. Today is the first day I began to read your blog, i find this very helpful for me. I too have severe heart disease – triple bypass surgery 8 years ago in Jan. 2002 ,3 heart attacks, and an internal pacemaker/defibrilator installed last year. I am a U.S.veteran seeking a heart transplant. After over a year of tests I stlll have not been placed on a xplant list. My condition gets worse every year, 4 hospitaliztions in 2010. Your blog lifted my spirtits and hopes. I admire your positive attitude! Take care sir and I will pray for you to have better days ahead in the new year!

    Hello Michael and welcome to the blog. I thank you for your good wishes and send the same good wishes and positive thoughts back to you and yours.
    I can personally relate to so much of what you are going through, please know you are in my prayers. I invite you, no I ask you please to continue returning here to the blogto share what ever thoughts or feelings you may wish to. Here you will find a lot of loving support.
    Have the doctors told you why you are not on the xplant list? The waiting, the wondering, the not knowing is the hardest thing for me to deal with. Please try to keep a positive attitude as difficult as that may be but it really will help you through a lot. Easier said than done I know.
    I do hope to hear more from you
    Bill

  13. Kath says:

    It’s heartlifting to read so many positive comments. Here in Australia we are looking forward to a quiet Christmas and a warm day,I think a barbie is on the cards haha. No more medical checkups until the new year for me yay. Have a wonderful Christmas Bill, and everyone else of course.

    Hi Kath, I thank you so very much for the warm wishes. I extend the same warm thoughts and wishes back to you
    Bill

  14. michael wellington says:

    merry christmas bill,god bless.mike

    I thank you and extend the same good wishes back to you.
    Bill

  15. Cat says:

    Hi, Bill! I’m sorry I didn’t make it to the blog on your birthday, but I was thinking about you that day! I hope you were able to get in a good celebration at some point.

    My good deed in your honor has been to start putting together care packages for the homeless people I see regularly on my drive home from work each day. I’ve made bags filled with small toiletry and first aid items and food, and also some doggie treat bags for those who have dogs. The ones I’ve given out so far have been a big hit!

    Happy (belated) birthday!

  16. Cocorue says:

    hello Bill,

    happy belated and sorry we were not around as our dadster was in hospital for surgery but he’s now home and doing well.

    you take care and have a very blessed Christmas and a very happy New Year, dear Bill

    chikisses
    coco, tiffy and mumster lilian

Leave a Reply

