Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Reflective mood


I think I am turning into a bit of a Christmas Grinch or something. I love Christmas Carols and the Christmas type songs, I really do. For me they add to the festive season and really help me to get into that Christmas spirit. So what is grinch like about that?  Well it is about a month before Christmas when it seems we start to hear those songs and Carols everywhere. Now since I know it is almost a month to Christmas when I start hearing them, it doesn’t have the same effect putting me in that special mood. By the time we actually do get to Christmas, I have been hearing them for so long, it just seems they no longer have that “magical effect” on me. Does that make any kind of sense at all?

It seems I have been in a very reflective mood of late. I am no sure why this seems to happen to me each year as we near the end of the calendar year. I don’t really understand the timing of this as really what is January 1st.  Well, obviously it marks the beginning of a New Calendar Year. Really though January 1st. is in fact no different than December 31st as that each day as they arrive are the first day of the rest of our lives. Just as today is the first day of the rest of my life. Often it seems we come up with resolutions for changes we want to make in our lives and so often it seems the beginning of a calendar New Year is the date we often chose to bring those changes into effect. That is great, it seems we often need a target date to get us started, fair enough. I think I have found for me though, I have often used the excuse, I will start it in the new year, to procrastinate, put off things I know I should do now but really don’t want to or am just to lazy to do now.

I don’t make resolutions any more. Maybe it is don’t put off until tomorrow what I know I need to do today.

Hey I have a birthday coming up in a few days. For any that may have been following the blog for a while, well you know what is coming. I am going to be asking each reader of the blog for a birthday gift. Can you guess what it may be? lol. I will have my request up tomorrow.

3 Responses to Dying Man’s Daily Journal – Reflective mood

  1. Jill says:

    I know, I know, raising my hand LOL Yes, you have it without asking – happy birthday!

  2. Kath says:

    As the kids and grandkids are scattered around Aust I have been shopping since October, every store has been playing Carols so I think I will give it a miss this year at home lol. I am looking forward to a nice quiet Xmas at home with lots of phone calls. I don’t know if I will be here next Xmas but I know this one is going to be brilliant 🙂

  3. Mel says:

    I resolve as I discover–usually after an ‘awakening’. Dunno about you, those are usually underscored and with nultiple exclamation marks. (bit of a hard head, go figure!) I just can’t afford to wait for “New Years” to do it differently. I’m wayyyyyy too much of a ‘mess maker’, apparently. LOL

    And I dunno, Bill…..I stay OUT of stores, so I’m good with the holiday music finding me. Unfortunately, that doesn’t get the holiday shopping done, huh? :-/

    Maybe I can convince himself HE wants to do the crowds and the hype and the noise?
    Yup–LOL–I’ve decided that’s the plan!

    OH!! And WILD guess about that birthday prezzie–could it possibly BE?!?!

    <– will now put on "I Wanna Hippopotamus for Christmas" and happily sing along LOUD and OFFKEY!

    😀

Leave a Reply

